We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Benn Conger Inn

The Restaurant at Benn Conger Inn
206 W Cortland St, Groton, NY 13073-1008
607-898-5817
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Groton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Arizona
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We cannot say enough about the Benn Conger Inn. My husband's class from Groton, NY celebrated their 60th class reunion there on August 1, 2014. Peter and Doug are outstanding Innkeepers. The atmosphere is charming and the food was delicious. There were several waitresses and they are some of the best we have seen anywhere. We stayed at the Inn for two nights in one of their beautiful rooms. Everything was perfect! Breakfast in the morning was delicious. We would definitely recommend the Inn for any occasion.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    4
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Victorian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We first went to tour the 1890 House in Cortland which was a very nice hour tour. My husband had made reservations at the Benn Conger Inn and restaurant for 5:00 p.m., and we were seated right away. We were greeted by the owners who were very pleasant to us. This is a very beautiful place, and the food was excellent, and so was our waitress. If you are in this area we highly recommend that you go there for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
“a walk down memory lane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

As a small child, I grew up in Locke, NY. In 1986 our wedding reception was held at the Benn Conger. This August I was invited to the Moravia Central School class of 1974 40th class reunion in the area. I have many memories of Groton, Locke, and Moravia and of the Benn Conger. It was a pleasant surprise to see the beautiful pictures of the Benn Conger on line and am glad there was availability for the reunion weekend. It was perfect! Peter and Doug are exceptional hosts and offered small touches that made the stay comfortable and relaxing. The room was tastefully decorated and immaculate. A full, beautifully presented breakfast was served. We would definitely recommend this Inn and are looking forward to a return visit. Martha D.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

On Aug. 1, 2014, I dined at the restaurant for a 60th High School Reunion.

Great atmosphere, food and service.

Would highly recommend it. It is a Bed and Breakfast. I didn't stay there, but the classmates who did said really nice things about their stay.

Dick Metzgar
Clayton, GA

The selections on first time visit do not go back far enough. It was maybe 40 years ago.

For the report to be acceptable, I lied and chose the oldest one available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“overall stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

From the moment you arrive till you leave Peter and Doug and their staff make you feel welcome.
Rooms are lovely and food wonderful. A very comfortable and relaxing place to stay in the finger lakes area of ny

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Benn Conger Inn also viewed

 
Trumansburg, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Restaurant at Benn Conger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Benn Conger Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.