We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! A very pleasing dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Brasserie Incorporated

Mountain View Brasserie Incorporated
10697 State Route 32, Greenville, NY 12083-5115
518-966-5522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Ravena, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“WOW! A very pleasing dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

From the welcome by the hostess to the dessert, everything was just as you would want it. First was crab cakes with lobster sauce, made from pure lump crab, then perfectly cooked filet mignon and prime rib entrees. Baked potato and scalloped potatoes were heavenly. Extensive list of desserts, for which we had no room. Service was flawless. Elegant and tastefully decorated dining room with white linen tablecloths. Intimate bar with tables and stools. Will be back very soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    4
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Pleasent Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stopped into this pleasant little restaurant on my own, returning from the catskills. It turned out to be a great surprise. I sat at the bar and ordered the wiener schnitzel with spaetzle $26. The restaurant has linen table cloths in a couple of different rooms and looked very nice. The bar tender took my order. The dinners comes with warm home made bread, which I had trouble not eating all of. Salad came next, with a nice selection of house made dressing. A nice salad with mix greens, not something they just put on a plate. The bar tender told me the chef is from Switzerland and made the best schnitzel. She was correct. Veal pounded thin and sauteed just right. Not over done and dried out. The spaetzle (german noodles) sautéed with onion and a little cheese was tasty and filling. I was to full to try desert, but a nice selection is available. The rest of the menu offers a well rounded choice, & I can't wait to get back to try something else.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks county
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We never have had anything but excellent food at Mountain View. Our latest visit confirmed our earlier high opinion. It was very good. Their panna cotta was the best I have ever had, including in Italy. Sometimes I fear they come across as a bit cold and pretentious, but fortunately the food makes up for that.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had dinner here the other night with several friends that we hadn't seen in a long time. Our food was delicious. Each of us has something different - salmon, sole, broiled seafood food and chicken parm. Each meal was excellent. We also enjoyed being able to sit and converse without feeling rushed. Terrific restaurant. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Have been visiting here for the past few years while on vacation. Atmosphere,food and owner are great!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Brasserie Incorporated also viewed

 
Greenville, Catskill Region
Greenville, Catskill Region
 

Been to Mountain View Brasserie Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Brasserie Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.