We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 generations attended - still going strong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course Catskills

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course Catskills
Save
You added Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course Catskills to your Saves list
352 Sunny Hill Rd, Greenville, NY 12083-9710   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“4 generations attended - still going strong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We had 4 generations represented at this past week (7/21-7/28) and always have a good time, look forward to seeing the same families we have grown up with over many years. The activities, rides, continue to grow, the rooms are good, and the food is plentiful and options are growing (great salads from local produce, vegetarian lasagna, etc.).

There's always too much to do and not enough time. Our favorites, Bingo, Monte Carlo, Thursday night pavilion party and the Friday night fireworks.

Gary, Gail, Wayne are great hosts.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
108
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Visiting Sunny Hill this year following a family loss, was probably the best decision we could have made. Our Sunny Hill family welcomed us with open arms and supported us the entire week we were there. The many activities for both the children and adults were a wonderful distraction from the reality back at home. Being our 11th year going to Sunny Hill it was important for us to show our kids that it was ok for them and us too, to laugh and have fun. Sunny Hill is more than just a vacation resort....it is truly a home away from home.

Room Tip: Sunny Hill has rooms to accommodate all family sizes. We are a family of 6 and are always comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is truly an excellent place to get away with your family or alone for a couple of days of peace and quiet. The golf and accomodations at Thunderhart was fanatastic. The staff treat you like family not like a guest. The entire ownership family treats you like family. I just wanted to get away from work for a few days after July 4th and found Thunderhart @ Sunny Hill through Trip Advisor. best decision I ever made. It is a great secret that the word needs to get out on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Sunny Hill offers FUN, FUN, FUN, a relaxing environment, family atmosphere, great and abundant food and drink and friendly, helpful, delightful staff.
We had a group of 30 family members there this year.
activities include but are not limited to: walking, swimming, golfing, boating, fishing, tennis, shuffle board, horse shoes, basketball, many jungle gyms throughout the property for the kids, day trips to Woodstock, Saratoga, Coopers town, Howe Caverns and many more.

Accommodations are very clean and comfortable.
Property is well maintained.
You get more then you pay for!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanfordville, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our family had a terrific time at Sunny Hill celebrating Grandpa and all the Dads of the clan. Golfing for the whole family - ages 6 to 87! Beautiful views and relaxing atmosphere. Gary and Gail run activities that can be enjoyed by every generation within a large extended family - karaoke fun - lip syncing ok too - and dancing Friday night after a family style dinner; and rides for the kids, big and little. Breakfast, lunch, dinner , activities all day long Saturday followed by rides, bonfire, beer and hotdogs ( soft ice cream too) down by the lake. The fireworks and band were terrific! But....squeeze in bingo on the way back before celebrating more on the deck with family. The prime rib offered at Sunday's lunch (and peach melba) were delicious.
Our family has been visiting Sunny Hill for over 20 years (many families even longer - I heard of one group this weekend celebrating their 40th year!) and we've always had a positive experience (even the year we started the weekend with hail and wore slickers right through til
Sunday!) Each year new play areas or rides or activities are added. Fun time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

My family and I just came back from a spectacular weekend at Sunny Hill Golf and Resort! There were activities for kids and adults of all ages. We enjoyed bbqs, live music, fireworks, swimming, paddle boats, train rides, an indoor game room and numerous playgrounds sprinkled around the grounds. We are so lucky to have such a beautiful facility right in our backyard! The quality of service is also superb. Kudos to the Nicholson family for hosting such a great family weekend! Can't wait to go back again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My grandparents started going, bringing my parents, then us, and I will bring my future children. The get-away is a place you can only dream about, only gets better with age, I highly reccomend it to anyone considering the Resort, looking at this review, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any of the accomodating rooms are always welcoming, clean, and have great views of the Catskill Moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course Catskills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course Catskills

Address: 352 Sunny Hill Rd, Greenville, NY 12083-9710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Greenville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Catskills Hotel Greenville
Sunny Hill Hotel Course Catskills
Sunny Hill Resort And Golf Course Catskills Catskill Region, NY - Greenville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course Catskills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.