We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frisky Oyster

Frisky Oyster
27 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1615
631-477-4265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 54 Restaurants in Greenport
Price range: $19 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Frisky Oyster offers imaginative cuisine in a sophisticated, metropolitan atmosphere craved by locals and visitors for years. Our menu changes daily to showcase the most exceptional, local ingredients. The local and international wine list is personally selected to compliment the current menu. Starting at 5pm, we offer dinner in our stylish dining room or at the buzzing bar. DJ Frisky turns up the beat as the energy level rises after 9pm.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

By dumb luck my husband and I found the Frisky Oyster and ended up with one of the best dinners we have had in a long time. For a small restaurant, I was surprised at the variety on the menu. I started with the lobster quesadilla. It was full of fresh flavors and lobster. The homemade guac that accompanied it was wonderful! The veal chop was cooked to perfection! For dessert, I went with the salted caramel pecan pie-wow! I couldn't have asked for a better meal.Will definitely go back on our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    59
    29
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a Wonderful New Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Always the food is very fresh..Love to have the duck there...The Best in the World is the Ceaser Salad.
Service is Right on to perfection..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Creative and Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The North Fork of Long Island is a treasure trove of restaurants, vineyards, fresh produce, and organic products. The Frisky Oyster is one of the very best restaurants to present all of these in a great setting that showcases the riches of this region. The grilled lobster quesadilla is succulent and substantial. Calamari were crispy and very tasty, served with aioli. The sea scallops were absolutely delicious, and came with curried cous cous and a yogurt raita. Do not pass up the shaved brussel sprouts! They are unbelievable! They are prepared with lemon and walnuts. So delicious! The wine list highlights the wines of the area with a wonderful selection to satisfy a variety of tastes. Oh, and of course, you have to have the oysters. This place is a definite must!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Traveling for work and went to Frisky Oyster, everything was amazing!! I live in RI and very spoiled with amazing restaurants - this is front-runner! Filet amazing & garlic polenta definitely best ever had!! Will be back for sure!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Girls' Night Out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A group of 7 of us dined here after a day of tastings. We had a reservation, and we were lucky we did because it was packed. Positives: food variety and cocktails. I had the short ribs and while full of flavor, they were extremely dry and needed more sauce. Negatives: overpriced, small, crowded, expected more of a local wine list. The tables are jammed together so it is very loud. Definitely going for the hipster, trendy, swanky vibe, which isn't my thing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frisky Oyster also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Frisky Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frisky Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.