We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now this was a great dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frisky Oyster

Frisky Oyster
27 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1615
631-477-4265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 54 Restaurants in Greenport
Price range: $19 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Frisky Oyster offers imaginative cuisine in a sophisticated, metropolitan atmosphere craved by locals and visitors for years. Our menu changes daily to showcase the most exceptional, local ingredients. The local and international wine list is personally selected to compliment the current menu. Starting at 5pm, we offer dinner in our stylish dining room or at the buzzing bar. DJ Frisky turns up the beat as the energy level rises after 9pm.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Now this was a great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had heard that they had a 25 on Zagat, and had to check them out. We had a tremendous dinner! The calamari was perfectly fried and delicious. The oysters Friskerfeller was delicious. My boyfriend had the rib eye, which was a little on the rare side for medium rare, but was delectable. I had the duck, which was the best preparation I've had of duck ever. The polenta was creamy and tasty- the cherries added a wonderful note to the dish. The best key lime pie was aptly named. We had terrific service as well. This restaurant is a must in Greenport!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    59
    29
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queens
2 reviews
“Simply Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

While my boyfriend and I stayed at Ruby's Cove for my 28th birthday, we ate at Frisky Oyster. WoW! He had the filet mignon and I had the duck! Several days later and we are still talking about the food! Oh and the decor is simply amazing. When you walk in, you feel like you in an upscale restaurant in Manhattan - where you most likely would have spent double the money! Frisky Oyster has delicious food and reasonable prices. From the owner to the customers, everyone was pleasant! And I am still thinking about the duck (mmm mmm mmmm).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would go back in a heartbeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Me and my husband have dined at the Frisky Oyster on numerous occasions. We have never had a bad meal. The chef/owner is fabulous. He is a pleasure to speak with when he is front of house, and he makes phenomenal and creative dishes in the kitchen. His desserts are divine.

The waitresses are all well versed in the menu offerings, which change frequently, and quite accomodating to any special needs or requests. We occasionally eat at the bar, however, where the bartenders ar quick, witty, and pour great drinks.

We were last there on NYE, which was an amazing party, the DJ was great. I recommend making reservations for their NYE next party to anyone looking for a classy, fun time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag harbor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Needs new front house management!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have dined at The Frisky oyster 3 times. The first was perfection...great food service and ambience. We returned New Years Eve . But we were driven crazy by techno beat music the whole evening. Service was off but food was still terrific . Dined there again in January and the whole experience except the food was horrendous. Do Not Go Here! Management was Rude and service abominable, blaring techno late night club music played to entertain the bar crowd and this was at 6:30. Our meals arrived at different times as one of our dinners was delivered and eaten by the wrong customer. What a shame it could be a north Fork gem. I was a fan but now our group and all the potentional diners we would have brought will go elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The food was well prepared and tasteful, which explained why every seat was occupied. The only negative was the loudness of the music, which made it difficult to hold a discussion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frisky Oyster also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Frisky Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frisky Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.