We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to try the oysters Friskyfeller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frisky Oyster

Frisky Oyster
27 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944
+1 631-477-4265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 54 Restaurants in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $48
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Frisky Oyster offers imaginative cuisine in a sophisticated, metropolitan atmosphere craved by locals and visitors for years. Our menu changes daily to showcase the most exceptional, local ingredients. The local and international wine list is personally selected to compliment the current menu. Starting at 5pm, we offer dinner in our stylish dining room or at the buzzing bar. DJ Frisky turns up the beat as the energy level rises after 9pm.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You have to try the oysters Friskyfeller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Combine a great bar, nice ambience great service and gourmet dishes with a wonderful seaport location and let the fun begin.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    62
    30
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Staff needs to put on a happy face...at least once!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The food was excellent but a little skimpy on the number of scallops...only three. The waitstaff was a bit indifferent and somewhat inattentive. Very loud for 9:30 on a Wednesday evening. Would definitely go back but when it was less crowded.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Eats in Greenport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Reservations a must at this upscale eatery in Greenport! Active bar area with fun drinks (try "The Girly"). Soft shell crab and short ribs were excellent. Don't forget dessert: have the strawberry shortcake!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Maybe this restaurant should be 'take out'!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The food is very good at the Frisky Oyster, but it you like a nice dining experience you should bring it home! My family dined here after hearing good reviews and we were so dissappointed in the hostess and waitstaff that we will never be back, nor recommend it to others. It was a rainy August evening and the AC was on so high that we needed to return to our car for extra sweaters. Everyone dining in had sweaters on! The hostess could have cared less. The filtered water and bread were wonderful so I thought we were off to a better start, and ordered our meals. Appetizers were excellent although we never got to tell anyone that because no one asked how they were. (I now see many other reviewers here on tripadvisor complaining about the service. Why would the owners not fix something so obviously wrong?) Dinner entrees were also delicious, except that the pork dish my daughter ordered had none of the promised truffle on it! Very expensive for a pork chop which we understood was perhaps due to the truffle, however there was no truffle! Again no one at all came by our table to inquire as to how our meal was. We flagged someone down to ask for a side of truffle oil for my daughter...not exactly the way that meal was supposed to be! We couldn't wait to get out of there and left without dessert and leaving as small a tip as my usually very generous husband could leave. Shame, as the food is wonderful, but the service leaves a bad taste in your mouth!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We read some reviews before choose this restaurant and we cannot understand why some people went so hard on them. The food was good and even if the service was not perfect , the experience have been absolutely positive. We felt very welcome since the first second that we spoke with the hostess and the everything have been better than we were expecting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frisky Oyster also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Frisky Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frisky Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.