We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages
Save
You added Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Silvermere Road, PO Box 285, Greenport, NY 11944   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Greenport
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beach vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Location, location, location. This place is right on the beach. The owner, Terrie, couldn't be more accommodating. The place is run down but it is also dirt cheap!! It was quiet. The room smelled moldy but we left the windows open and went out to dinner and it was fine by the time we got back. Its a great place for families with young kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    32
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
43
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A couple friends and I stayed here for the midweek special in June and The Silver Sands retro motel feel completely charmed us. I loved the neon sign out front! The rooms look like they were transported from the 50's (in a good way). The pink tiles in the bathroom needed repair, but otherwise everything was clean and comfortable. And the private beach area is the perfect place to relax.

The owner, Terry, was great and very accomodating. He immediately made us feel right at home and gave us some great suggestions of what to do in the area. We were close to downtown Greenport, wineries, restaurants, shops. etc. I would definitely recommend this classic gem to friends and hope to return on my next trip to the North Fork.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I and her family have been holidaying here for the last couple of years, we love the design and family friendly atmosphere. It's a great base to enjoy greenport and to get over to shelter island. In season and out it fells like you are living the classic American movie. I cannot recommend silver sand enough it manages the unusual combination of stepping back in time while being clean and friendly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Proclaiming the Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages as my preferred lodging in Greenport might be a lofty statement after only one visit. However, that’s all it took for me to fall in love with this rustic gem located in the North Fork of Long Island.

Situated less than five minutes outside Greenport, the Motel offers a swimming pool and a private beach as amenities. I initially booked double beds in the Motel but the front desk attendant, Terry, offered us a cottage instead. Don’t expect lavish lodging but what you can expect is a comfortable and clean little bungalow with a living room, a bedroom and a small kitchen. Outside the cottage where I bunked for three nights, was a grill for barbecuing, lounge chairs for, well, you know, lounging, and a park bench for gathering with friends.

What I most enjoyed about the Motel is the warmth of the staff. Everyone is extremely affable and helpful. Each morning I was met outside by a smiling woman who would drop off continental breakfast items. The views of Shelter Island from the Motel are unobstructed and jaw-dropping. If you’re looking for a romantic getaway, or a crash spot to explore the North Fork, I highly recommend the Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages for its bucolic setting and genial staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed there one night during our trip over Long Island. The main building is built in a U shape with the opening to the private beach. We could unfortunately not go there as the weather did not permit it. The rooms are spacious and have a retro charm, dating back to the 50s. It is nice to have a sleeping area and a separate living room space. Everything is old, very old but seems clean. There is even a breakfast (fruits, cereals, muffins, milk, coffee) provided. The hotel is 5 minutes drive from Greenport, with its bars and restaurants. The only negative point is the bathroom that could use some refurbishing, indeed the shower cabin was broken and it looked like they fixed it with concrete... But that's only a detail, for the rest all very good for the price we paid. A good cheap way to discover the Greenport area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Girls weekend, comfy, cozy and convenient! Beautiful beach location, comfortable beds, large room, great view of the Peconic Bay, easy and short drive to Greenport, quiet and perfect for friends, couples or families. Will return this season. Very affordable and lovely staff.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west babylon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is our second stay at Silver Sands.
The service is great. They owners are friendly, accommodating and pleasant. They provide breakfast each day (muffins, cereal, milk, coffee and tea), which is a great plus. The location is convenient to most activities out there and the view is outstanding.
But, do not book here if you are expecting top rate rooms. The place is old, run down and in need of a serious upgrade. We had orange shag carpet and a sagging sofa that has seen much better days. However, even though it needs the update, the place is CLEAN. And to us, that's the most important.
It's a great value - just don't expect anything new.

Room Tip: We love the house - the hotel rooms are too small for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages

Address: Silvermere Road, PO Box 285, Greenport, NY 11944
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"DIRTY DANCING meets THE FLAMINGO KID" - NEW YORK MAGAZINE, April 2007The Silver Sands Motel and Beach Cottages was established in 1961 on 40 unspoiled acres on Peconic Bay in Greenport, facing Shelter Island. We are a quiet getaway for beach and nature lovers, and their families, and have been for generations. Our rooms and cottages all have microwaves, mini-fridges, television, AC, and some have efficiency units as well as full kitchens. We are set off the beaten-path in Greenport, down a wooded road on the beach and are adjacent to 18 acres of pristine wetlands. Over the last half-century, we have been host to families, couples, studio film shoots, major fashion shoots, and have been featured in the NEW YORK TIMES, NEW YORK MAGAZINE, THE NEW YORKER, TIME-OUT, TRAVEL & LEISURE, and NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVEL MAGAZINE. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages Hotel Greenport
Silver Sands Motel And Beach Cottages
Silver Sands Hotel Beach
Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages Greenport, NY - Long Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Motel & Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.