We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in the North Fork” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Noah's

Noah's
136 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1616
631-477-6720
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Noah's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 54 Restaurants in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd Street
Transit: LIRR to Greenport, Hampton Jitney to Greenport, Shelter Island Ferry to Greenport, Crossound Ferry to Greenport.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great find in the North Fork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We drove on a Saturday night an hour and a half to dine at Noah's. I was lenient due to how long the drive was and had high hopes. We tried a Brussel Sprout Special which was made w apples, sausage, Gorgonzola, onion & a great sauce. It was an amazing small plate! Others we tried were the cheese puffs, lump crab cake, crab taco and tempura veges. All were delicious but the veges were superb. When we arrived at 6:30 it was slow & quiet and by the time we left it was crowded and loud. I'm glad we had a bit of romantic quiet time. We had no one sitting to the either side of us so it wasn't uncomfortable but I could see how it would have been since the tables are very close to one another.
The atmosphere was perfect and modern. I loved it. The server was kind and courteous. The service was fast and efficient.
Overall I'd return here in a heartbeat even though it took us over an hour to travel there. It was a great place and the chef is super talented. I will probably be going back this upcoming week for restaurant week.
Highly recommended place!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    92
    47
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice food, but alot of decibels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Interesting meny; you can order a typical main dish or several smaller ones priced @ 50-75% so you can taste more than one dish. I would suggest this is the best - look at the tables next to you and ask what is what - helpful for many unusual dishes. Tasty and well prepared and the kitchen was not slow - actually good timing of dishes. One detraction for me was the noise level as rather high since the restaurant was full, but guess that is mostly age-related.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A good dinner choice on the North Fork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

On a recent business trip I had a early day and did the North wine route on the North Fork and arrived in time for dinner in Greenport, LI. What's interesting about Noah's is that you can do large or small appetizer plates to share among friends. I ordered the Fish and Chips that came with a curried slaw, homemade tarter sauce a wedge of lemon and side of thin cut fries. The Fish were 3 cylindrical strips that were cooked well with a crispy batter coating. I had a nice pairing of a Chardonnay from a small Long Island producer (whose name I don't recall) that was a good selection from the bartender.

Aside from the immature group of young kids across from my end, the meal was a good experience. Didn't have any dessert but the choices were varied. As an aside it as nice to come at this time of the year where there were no snotty New York Hampton types. I was told the summer experience at this restaurant can be dramatically different. Would definitely come back on my next round.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great addition to the North Fork experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

For the longest time, The Seafood Barge in Southold was my favorite restaurant on Long Island . When it closed in 2009, it was a sad occasion. Chef Noah Schwartz has a new restaurant in Greenport. Totally different, but just as great. Love the fact that you can order a bunch of small plates and "tastes" to share. Also love that many of the menu selections feature local ingredients. Have had lunch there twice, both times ordering a bunch of small plates and was delighted with all of our orders. Particularly liked the Moroccan Humus & the pulled duck on a bed of polenta. Highly recommended as a pleasant break during a day of wine tasting on the east end.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The food was great. The little necks were extremely fresh. The butternut squash risotto was good (I was expecting a little more flavor). The seafood was excellent. The pumpkin pie was amazing! The atmosphere was excellent and the service was perfect. I would definitely return to Noah's for great meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noah's also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Noah's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noah's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.