We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience at The Fordham House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fordham House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fordham House
Save
You added Fordham House to your Saves list
817 Main Street, Greenport, NY   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Greenport B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience at The Fordham House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Fordham House Bed & Breakfast this past weekend—we could not have asked for a better experience. The inn is so stately, beautifully decorated, impeccably clean and inviting. The owner, Halina, was incredibly welcoming and helpful (and quite the chef)! It's a short walk into town, maybe 10 minutes. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
65
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Fordham House and Helena are wonderful.
Her home is so serene and very tastefully decorated.
The location is great, not far from town center.
This is a fabulous place to stay.
She does have a friendly dog, Humphrey
She does have a cat.
To be honest, in the humidity of a NY summer, there is a lingering smell of animal in the house.
In fairness to others considering this location, this should be mentioned.
The guest rooms are immaculate and because the pets do not have access to the rooms, they smell fresh and clean. The main house, however, can smell a bit like animal.
I noticed it more in the kitchen and Helena's private area just off of the kitchen.
An area where the pets really live.
So, if you are sensitive to this, and/or your are allergic to animals, you may want to bring
allergy medication along.
Honestly and truly, this would not deter me from staying here again.
It is lovely and the positive's outweigh this small negative.
I believe in full disclosure and have to be honest in that I did notice the smell of animals in her home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halina S, Owner at Fordham House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are always concerned with our guests comfort. The Fordham House has a Himalayan cat which does not enter the public areas of the Inn. However, Humphrey, a Bouvier des Flandres dog, is the Inn’s mascot. This breed has a “hair” coat, it is not “fur”, so these dogs are hypoallergenic. Also, they tend not to shed.

When you entered our private living quarters, Humphrey went swimming in the Bay, and did not have his bath for the rinse off. Apologies for uncomfortable moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent a lovely night at Fordham house last weekend. My husband and I are a very active cycling couple in our 50's, bent on doing a vineyard tour (Vineyard "48" included!). Enjoyed the other couples and the hostess without once feeling impinged upon by strangers or that we couldn't relax. As a matter of fact, we were actually surprised to find that there were other patrons in the inn until morning when others drifted into breakfast and we learned that the inn had been full! It was SO quiet and peaceful.

Great location. Very comfortable, spotless, impeccably maintained and tastefully decorated (no frou frou) with upscale, very fresh, luxurious but understated (Ralph Lauren?) bedding and roomy rooms. Our hostess was sociable, but not obtrusive. Breakfast, with its fresh made waffles embellished with fruit and nuts as its second course (the most amazing yoghurt I have ever had being included in the first course), was graciously served with lovely music in the background.

And I must give huge kudos for the air conditioning. I personally tend to deal with what nature gives us, but I have to say that having that gloriously refreshing cool, clean air as a refuge from the SWELTERING, 92 deg day outside was a delight to the senses. I slept until 9AM, which is unheard of for me and my husband didn't toss and turn once!

Would have loved to spend some more time in the comfortable, open living room (wish I had those high ceilings in my house!) browsing through the numerous, captivating picture books on North Fork, etc., (or spent some more time shopping in Greenport) but the road beckoned on and on we went .... maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 2-night stay at the Fordham House and we have nothing but good things to say! Helena, the innkeeper, was a pleasure from the moment I booked with her over the phone. Having only been open for a little over a year, she is surprisingly very knowledgeable about all the North Fork has to offer and goes out of her way to make your stay enjoyable. She accommodated our early arrival with ease, provided beach passes for us, gave us the number of someone we could rent bikes from, and recommended places to go and eat (the Frisky Oyster, Blue Canoe, and Noah's - all great). She also cooks the most delicious breakfasts (the first morning she made Belgian waffles with fresh berries, banana, and walnuts and the second day she made a yummy vegetable and potato frittata. I also can't say enough about the first course of fresh fruit, granola, and homemade yogurt!). The Fordham House always has snacks available and the rooms are beyond luxurious and comfortable! Helena even offered my boyfriend and I an upgrade upon checking in, as we were the only guests staying at the inn. We had booked the medium sized room but she allowed us to stay in the large room with the gigantic bathroom, which was a real treat to stay in! However, we were able to see all the rooms and they all look extremely comfortable and relaxing. We will definitely be back to stay at the Fordham House in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I loved spending a weekend at Fordham House. We were welcomed by owner Helena with snacks and a cold bottle of water, and then shown to our room-- which was furnished with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and a beautiful bathroom complete with a stained glass window and various antique items. Everything was perfectly clean and very charming.
Besides our room, Fordham House has a wraparound porch with ample seating (and a great porch swing) as well as a large backyard furnished with croquet mallets and a few Adirondack chairs. The garden is really beautiful, and when we spent an afternoon reading out there Helena came out to offer us a refreshing bottle of water.
On the inn's first floor, there is a quirkily decorated, very comfortable living room, as well as a tiny sunroom nook that looks out into the backyard, and the breakfast area.
The breakfasts are PLENTIFUL, and can definitely hold you over till dinnertime. There is a buffet table which, on our two days there, had fresh berries, homemade yogurt (which was especially delicious), granola, coffee cake, and orange/apple juice and water. Breakfast also comes with tea or coffee-- if you order coffee, you get an entire French press! After enjoying the buffet, Helena brings out a main course, which on our first day was baked French toast and on our second day was strada (baked layers of egg, bread, sausage, and cheese). Helena is very generous, and even packed us leftovers for our way home on the day we left!
You can tell that Helena has considered every detail in making Fordham House a great place to stay. Glasses and bottle openers are left out, and we used them to drink wine on the porch swing in the evening. Canisters of snacks are left out (pretzels, animal crackers, and incredible "beach mix"-- a mixture of dried fruits, nuts, and coconut), and provide just the right amount of sustenance for a day on the beach, or walking through town, after breakfast and before dining at one of Greenport's great restaurants. She has a friendly dog, Humphrey, who loves people and is very sweet.
I just can't recommend Fordham House enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaan, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had spending a weekend at the Fordham Inn. There is much to recommend and nothing that detracted from the enjoyment of our stay.

Starting with a well maintained 19th century house, appointed with an eye towards simple elegance and comfort, along with extremely pleasant porches and grounds, the Inn invites its fortunate guests to linger and enjoy a good book and good conversation.

Although the physical amenities---which include a bountiful breakfast, immaculate rooms, comfortable beds, etc. and etc.---are clearly evident, the pleasure of staying here must be attributed to the warm and gracious welcome afforded by Helina, the B& B's innkeeper, towards her guests. She showed us a genuine concern for our personal comfort and contentment, which was reflected by her attention to details that would help ensure an enjoyable weekend stay. Beyond knowing the area well, what restaurants and beaches we might enjoy, she demonstrated a genuine warmth and eagerness to accommodate us that was always helpful, low key and never intrusive. Helena's thoughtful and genuine charm allowed us to feel like personal guests visiting her private home.

And finally, we should also mention her extremely cute and very affectionate and large Bouvier des Flandres puppy, Humphrey, who if you wish (or not, if you don't wish; entirely your call) will be permitted to make an appearance to win your heart. We suggest you consider making his joyful acquaintance. And we also strongly suggest that you make the acquaintance of this terrific B & B and the wonderful innkeeper Helina, who will offer you the plentiful comforts of her Inn, an offer that will quietly enhance the natural pleasures of a getaway visit to LI's North Fork.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a getaway for our 10 year anniversary. The trip to the North Fork for the weekend along with staying at the Fordham House was a first for us both. From the moment we walked into Fordham House we were impressed by the place. The owner Helena was the icing on the cake. She made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable from the beginning (as if we were staying with an old friend).

The house is airy and the decor is a mix of minimal old world charm (like the original leaded stain glass windows) with a Ralph Lauren masculine modern flair throughout.
The rooms are immaculate with the the right touch of everything you need for a quiet getaway weekend. The bed linens are exquisite. Once you get into bed and sink your head into the pillows you will not want to get up. Everything has been carefully thought through to give guest the absolute best.

If you do venture up and out Helena starts you off with an amazing breakfast. Her homemade yogurt and breakfast coffee cake and banana breads are a must try. Fresh fruit along with a mouth watering, generously-portioned main plate accompanied every breakfast. The French press coffee she places at your table is just one of the many thoughtful touches that makes Fordham house a success.

While Helena will give you many suggestions as to where to visit if you ask, swinging gently on her porch swing while reading is a lovely way to spend the day as well.

You cannot find this combination of charm and elegance in a hotel. Truly a home away from home (that is if your home included someone waiting on you hand and foot and cooking amazing breakfasts every day all with a happy carefree air about her).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fordham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordham House

Address: 817 Main Street, Greenport, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fordham House offers an unparalleled luxury with spacious bedchambers in this historic property. Both public and private rooms have the atmosphere of an effortless style and real elegance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fordham House Greenport, NY - Long Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fordham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.