We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, comfortable inn and great hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bartlett House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bartlett House Inn
Save
You added Bartlett House Inn to your Saves list
503 Front Street, Greenport, NY 11944   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Greenport B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable inn and great hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The Bartlett House Inn, as advertised, is nicely situated in Greenport, convenient to downtown and restaurants, on the road toward the wineries and quite close to the Shelter Island ferry. We had a very pleasant stay in a nicely appointed, modestly sized room, albeit with a quite small bath. The inn owners are cheerful and great hosts. The inn grounds are beautifully maintained, even in late summer, after a storm, and the spacious porch is wonderful for sitting and enjoying a morning cup of coffee. Extensive, European style breakfast buffet. I'm not sure the offerings were "home-made" but they were tasty.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    14
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
92
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a beautiful, historic property owned and operated by a lovely couple. The breakfast is fabulous - variety of choices, a fresh quiche and plethora of dishes every day. Make sure you look at the rooms on line because they are all different and vary substantially in size. It is pricey but is similar to other places in town. Nice, quiet place to stay if you're doing the wineries on the north fork. It's walking distance to town which is nice.

Room Tip: Look at pics of rooms on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Bartlett House is a beautiful grand home that is comfortable and inviting. It is located a few blocks from the center of town on the main street. Our room (#7) is a large, beautifully decorated room in the front of the house with a separate sitting area and walk in closet. I got a peak of several other rooms all of which are different and also beautifully decorated. Guests are free to sit in the large living room and wrap around porch. There are always little snacks and a fridge packed with bottle water. There are menus from the areas wonderful restaurants and Jack and Diane have great suggestions on things to do and places to visit. They are truly wonderful hosts. The breakfast buffet has many selections to chose from such as cereal, fruit, yogurt, baked goods and the most delicious quiches that Diane makes each morning. The house is spotless and the rooms are cleaned while you are at breakfast which is a nice treat. The Bartlett House is the perfect place to stay in a most charming area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexanddria, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Perfect, exquisitely furnished; fantastic food -- owners are supremely hospitable. Made our daughter's wedding weekend even better. Regards to Jack & Dianne

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Cheerful and helpful owners, lavishly decorated and immaculately clean. Ideal location with a short walk to the town's amenities yet (just) far enough from them to offer some quietude. Very nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Our small room was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is our 3rd time staying at the Bartlett House in the past 6 years. Each time we've been treated great, the breakfast buffet was perfect and the hosts, Diane and Jack, couldn't have been more accommodating. Each time we stayed in a different room, we loved all of them. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were comfortable, and they have the best pillows you can find in any B & B!

If you're staying in Greenport, you may find B & B's that charge less, but no better value for your dollar.

-Russ

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We were looking for a restful, beautiful place to spend our first non-staycation vacation in over twenty years and we were lucky enough to find the Bartlett House Inn. Actually, lucky isn't a strong enough word-- blessed is more like it.

Bartlett House is a sumptuously decorated restored 19th century home that felt like OUR home almost as soon as our hosts, Diane & Jack Gilmore, checked us in.

We stayed in the French Room on the third floor. It is beautifully decorated with period furniture and one of the most comfortable beds it's ever been my pleasure to sleep in.

The climate control in the rooms is excellent-- although the weather outside during our 5 day stay varied wildly from gale-force winds and rain to chilly drizzle and then spring-like conditions, the weather inside our room was always comfy-cozy.

The bathroom has a wonderful deep soaking tub and a sunflower shower head (and GREAT water pressure! I was really surprised at that!!). Everything in our room-- even in the walk-in sized closet!--was absolutely spotless. All the linens, bed and bath, were of very high quality and for the first time in my life, I felt like there were enough towels (as well as lovely oversized terry bathrobes for each of us).

But the breakfasts....well, the breakfasts are what will bring us back again next year (we are already planning another stay, a longer one next time). Jack and Diane outdo themselves every morning with a bottomless buffet of coffee, cereals, smoked salmon (my fave!), black forest ham, fresh tomatoes, breads/bagels/muffins, streusel cake, cheeses, hard- and soft-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, and Diane's incomparable breakfast quiches.
The buffet is served in their beautifully decorated dining room (also on the porch if weather permits) on lovely mix-and-match china.
It is, in a word, sublime.

By the time we had to leave for home, we didn't want to go. Diane and Jack made us feel like family, and made Bartlett House feel like a second home to us.
We simply can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bartlett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartlett House Inn

Address: 503 Front Street, Greenport, NY 11944
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten rooms with private baths,with spacious public and dining areas, the Bartlett House Inn is an outstanding Classic Revival style mansion. Without doubt it is the best, and largest, B&B on the North Fork. After nine years of renovation and additions the Inn is a beautiful home for those visiting Greenport and the vineyards, farms, galleries, boutiques, beaches, golf courses and excellent restaurants in the area. Many are a short walk from the Bartlett House Inn, and the rest a short car ride. The Inn features luxurious beds and linens in 10 individually styled rooms, all with newly renovated bathrooms en suite, TV with premium channels, free wi-fi, free snacks and mineral water, delicious breakfasts and friendly and helpful guidance from Innkeepers Jack and Diane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bartlett House Hotel Greenport
Bartlett House Inn Greenport, NY - Long Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bartlett House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.