We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Steak taste. Credit card not acceptable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peter Luger Steak House

Peter Luger Steak House
255 Northern Blvd, Great Neck, NY 11021-4702
516-487-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 99 Restaurants in Great Neck
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Goyang, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Steak taste. Credit card not acceptable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Restaurant menu is very simple and the taste was very good as a famous steak house.

But, only cash or debit card are acceptable. We were embarrased at the counter as there's no pre-notice, luckily cash was not short though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    62
    44
    7
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have gone here many times over the years. It was a favorite of my father-in-law. As expected, the food & service were fantastic. Our party had the prime rib, steak for two, and a fish. (Sorry, I can't remember which fish exactly.) The sides and salads were also very good. In any case, everything was delicious and we were all happy. Dessert was apple strudel and pecan pie. Yum.

I can say that I did have a couple of surprises for a $300+ lunch. There were people in our area dressed way too casual - sweats, baseball hats. One woman even picked up the T-bone and started gnawing on it. It was a little bit funny but not everyone will find humor in it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great steak with a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

You can't beat a BIG steak for being properly cooked but the Peter Luger difference is that their steaks are to SHARE so they are truly massive, then cut into 3-4 bite sized chunks. They have 2, 3, 4 person steaks, all a huge porterhouse and even the 2 person is cut 2" thick.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic steaks but disappointing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've been to Peter Luger before -- my house charge card has a number assigned that is around fifty years old. Every time I've been there in the past, it was a great experience all the way around. The last time I was there was 2 years ago. This time, it was a bit different. The steaks were great -- as usual. However, their service appears to be slipping. When I arrived, I found the front door locked. When I finally got in, it took about 5 or 10 minutes for me to get my table -- even though I made a reservation weeks in advance. I noticed that the restaurant was mostly empty at the time I arrived -- around 6-ish PM.

When we were seated, it took some time for our server to show up with menus. After we ordered our steaks and they arrived, we never did see the steak sauce show up at our table. I didn't particularly care about that (nor did my guest) since I do not use the sauce -- the steaks don't need it. The thing that stuck out in my mind was that this was the first time that they didn't automatically deliver the steak sauce to the table. The whole time we were there, the servers congregated in groups of four shooting the breeze. Since the restaurant was mostly empty at the time, it didn't really matter. It seemed to me that these get togethers should have taken place behind the scenes rather than on the main floor of the dining room.

I hope that this encounter with indifferent service was simply because they has new people working that night and not something new and ongoing. Were it not for the indifferent service, I would have rated Peter Luger with a "5". I will definitely return again, simply because they are the "Holy Grail" for steaks. However, I will consider making my next visit to the Brooklyn location rather than the Great Neck location next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Steak on the Planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is my all time favorite steak house. The food is just always so awesome and perfectly prepared. I have been going there for many years now and I have done quite a bit of travelling around the world. No Where else comes even half as close to how Peter Luger's steak melts in your mouth. Their secret sauce is also incredible. Whenever in NY, this is a must do!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Luger Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Peter Luger Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter Luger Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.