We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Prime Steak and Sushi

Union Prime Steak and Sushi
661 Northern Boulevard, Great Neck, NY 11021
516-487-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Prime Steak and Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 99 Restaurants in Great Neck
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lakeville Rd
Dunedin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Two of us had the Rib Steak for two. The other in our party had the filet mignon and asked for it butterflied. It was wonderful. The Rib Eye for two was absolutely perfect, BUT, at $90, quite exorbitant! You cannot go wrong with the food here. It never disappoints, if you have an expense account or are just able to afford it. Service is excellent as is the ambiance. The Pomegranate Martini was outstanding as was the mozzarella appetizer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    8
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“steakhouse par excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I took my nephew for his birthday He is a steakhouse aficionado. He rated it as one of his top three.
His rib eye was to die for. Unusual for steakhouses, the fish that I had was excellent. It was recommended by the waiter as one of the best dishes they serve.
The sea bass was moist, flaky and delicious.
We had a reasonably priced wine and sides like the lobster mac and cheese(again my nephews favorite ) and broccoli rabe.
It is definitely pricey, but what good steakhouse isnt?
I will definitely go back for the steak next time

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old Faithful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

cant go wrong with this place. Been here many times, of course its not cheap but you should know that based on the place and location. Always treat you good and the sushi station is a pleasant surprise. LOVE the brussel sprouts

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagansett, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've been eating there since it opened and last few visits have been straight downhill. Last night we went for their dinner special and after the appetizers, everything was disappointing. My wife had to return the salmon as it was way overcooked, and their so called 1-1/2 pound lobsters must have been dieting.
Last visit for us there. Other choices beckon

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the steak but am head over heels about the creamed spinach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I order the porterhouse steak for two. We order it medium-rare. Its just beautiful each time. However, we can't get enough of the creamed spinach. We are thrilled when that arrives.

We like the clean, contemporary decor and their chocolate colored columns.

They have a great selection of wines and also offer other options if you are not in the mood to eat steak.

We love visiting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Prime Steak and Sushi also viewed

 
Great Neck, Long Island
 

Been to Union Prime Steak and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Prime Steak and Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.