We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Cost to Quality Ratio” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Whitehaven Rd, East River Rd, Grand Island, NY 14072 (Formerly Holiday Inn Grand Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Island
Clawson, Michigan
1 review
“Bad Cost to Quality Ratio”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found this hotel originally on Groupon. Being that our room cost $110 with taxes I did not expect the Ritz, I also was not expecting a terrible smell, spider webs in the bathroom and holes in the sheets. I would say a $50-65 price would have been fair. You can get a very comparable hotel for MUCH cheaper. I will say though after Groupon had messed up my reservation the front desk attendant was very nice and accommodating, even though I was frustrated in the situation. The did have a very adequate fitness room which was nice and a nice pool for all ages.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the river view, it is nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    22
    12
    17
See reviews for
38
21
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got 'allocated' this hotel as part of a hockey tournament weekend, and was kind of dreading it based on many earlier reviews.
I have to admit I arrived wanting to hate it as we were made to stay there (well at least pay $320 for there), but the friendly attitude of the lady at check in and her Manager wiped all my negativity away.
It was an old room, but it was clean, really seen better days though and the border was literally stapled to the wall. But, brand new TV, really comfortable new beds, and super fast WiFi, so my guess is they are half way through sorting it out.
Very skilled at segregating the hockey kids team by team and not inconveniencing their regular customers. Always friendly staff at every interaction.
It really could be good if they spend the money on rooms and bathrooms and keep their staff.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Byblos for three days in March 2015. The room was immaculate, the staff was very helpful and eager to please, plenty of water pressure and hot water in the shower and the actual resort was remarkable. Here is the rest of the story. They are billed as a Resort & Spa even though there is no spa. The dining and bar were closed because of the season, even though they rate themselves a full service resort. Go out for coffee, for a meal, for a drink, nothing in house. Most rooms were decor of early 2000 but they were clean, had good mattresses and a new flat screen TV. My room was an experiment (326); it had no place to put our clothes, it did have a psychedelic 12 inch wide shelf which was all kinds of swervy but no chest of drawers. But it did have a pair of ceramic orange rabbits on this shelf (must be a hidden meaning). We lived out of our suit cases (literally) for three days. The bones of this resort were remarkable. She just needs someone to love her again: fresh carpet, paint, fix up nicks in plaster, drapes, wallpaper etc. The only thing more remarkable than this grand lady were her staff. They truly tried in every instance to make your stay enjoyable. Seemed as if they were on some noble mission to compensate for the resorts short comings.

Room Tip: get a room with a river view, not a parking lot view/ view from balcony is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We visited for a weekend getaway. We found the hotel room to be exceptionally clean and maintained (The hallway/corridor needs updating and fresh paint). You certainly can tell the ownership is working on upgrading but they're not quite there yet. We had a minor issue with the heat in our room (we visited during a frigid March) but we simply let the front desk know before we left one evening and upon our return the room was toasty warm. The pool is excellent, as is the sauna, while the jacuzzi unfortunately can hold just 2 people comfortably. While we didn't use it the fitness center is expansive and up-to-date. It was snow covered during our trip, but I can only imagine that the outdoor pool and views of the river are magnificent in the summer. This location is great, too--a short 10-15 ride to Niagara Falls or about the same to downtown Buffalo.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMHERST
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Arrived for an overnight birthday celebration with my family and some friends. The pool was great, lifeguards on duty until 5pm but the pool closed at 6pm which we thoughts was unusual but we were able to get our swimming in and it was fun.

AND THEN, a water main burst just as we were leaving the pool area to go back to the room. The pool attendant advised us not to use the elevator because there was water in the elevator shaft. (no sign indicated to not use elevator) but we walked up 6 floors to stay safe. We were told the water problem would be taken care of within an hour. As 3 hours passed and we were still without the use of a toilet.

The front desk stopped answering the phone, so I walked to the front desk only to be told they would not refund our night stay. The night manager was nasty! He come right out and said "we are not refunding your money!" His tone was very abrasive, other guests as well as myself were very taking back by his demeanor. If he would have only used a bit more tact in his communication to the guests, it would have gone a long way.

Having no use of a toilet or running water all night (think that is against the law?)
and having to leave with 5 children in that frigid cold last night was awful. We were offered a 50% discount on our two rooms. (which I was willing to accept just to get home at 10:30 at night)
As we were leaving, there was a terrible gas smell and there was water dripping from the ceiling in the main lobby area. We advised the manager about this on our way out but he didn't appear concerned at all. Thanks for the 50% off but no thanks. Will be requesting a full refund. We will make sure others know how the guests were treated.

Rooms need updating, bathroom doors all scratched up. Very dated. Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get a river view if you do stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Leeza217
Thank you for speaking directly to me about your stay during the water main break here at Byblos Niagara. Once again, please accept my apologies for having to leave that evening due to the extended water outage. We too, were led to believe that repairs would occur more quickly to avoid disrupting the stays of our guests but the damage to the water lines were more extensive that it was first believed.
For your inconvenience, I have asked our accountant to issue a refund for that evening's charges. You should see these in the next 5-7 days.

Again, our apologies

Fadi Touma
Owner Representative
Byblos Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We had three days Niagara-Washington DC tour by TakeTours.com last October and operator made reservation for us at this hotel.We found this hotel very comfortable and visitors friendly. It was clean with well maintained baths, beds were excellent. Main attractions are very nearby. We surely would like to recommend it for travelers with tour or on their own.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUNE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

my niagara visit was pleasant primary reason was stay at byblos resort only location is little far from niagara it on the way to boston , but comfortable stay and nice hotel to relax . rooms are quite big.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa

Address: 100 Whitehaven Rd, East River Rd, Grand Island, NY 14072 (Formerly Holiday Inn Grand Island)
Location: United States > New York > Grand Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byblos Niagara is a country-suburban, full service hotel located on the banks of the Upper Niagara River just 12 miles from Niagara Falls and 15 miles to the Buffalo area suburbs and Downtown Buffalo. We feature 263 guest rooms and suites with either 1 king size bed or 2 double beds. Every room has a walk out balcony and over half of our rooms overlook the river and spacious grounds. Each room includes hi definition cable TV and free internet access. We are adjacent to River Oaks Golf Course, a 7,200 Muirhead designed course with privileges as well as River Oaks Marina with short term slip rentals available as well as jet ski rentals. Enjoy the tranquil setting of our hotel after a busy day at the Falls or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Groupon, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Island (Buffalo / Niagara) Hotel Grand Island
Grand Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.