We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugly behind the makeup” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Whitehaven Rd, East River Rd, Grand Island, NY 14072 (Formerly Holiday Inn Grand Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Grand Island
1 review
“Ugly behind the makeup”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family visited Grand Island for a reunion. We wanted to stay on the island but were less than impressed by any accommodation what we could find beforehand on the internet.

Byblos sounds good to a point but it is little more than an aging wreck of a hotel, poorly maintained and in need of serious renovations.

We checked in and proceeded to our "Riverview" room. We hard a hard time getting the door open as it was stuck. Our non-smoking room stunk of smoke and the balcony was littered with butts. We complained and were told there were no more Riverview rooms but were given breakfast vouchers to compensate. My wife complained and we were moved to another Riverview room that magically appeared when the manager got involved. The room had a great view but has not been updated for some time.

The ice machine on our floor was missing and where it should have been was a filthy floor and, above, falling down ceiling tiles. The foyer leading to the outdoor pool had holes kicked in the walls. Disgusting! This is the kind of place that you pull back the covers to check if bed-bugs are present or if someone has already slept in the bed. Do not stay here if you have any option at all!

BTW, their brochure speaks of "beautifully appointed rooms”. the three that I saw were certainly not beautifully appointed!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    12
    9
    14
See reviews for
29
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Visited Grand Island earlier this month. The hotel was busy--and really noisy. There were 5 tour buses, some that arrived at 2AM. Loud talking in the hall, doors slamming...

Bathroom was dirty, only one soap. Only one cup in the room.. when I asked at the front desk for another cup-- I was told that I should get one from the bar. The staff were nice (a bit inexperienced).. but I left as soon as I could the next morning.

far overpriced for the experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a tourist group. The hotel appeared to be good. I didnt get any opportunity to interact with any staff or to try any food in the restaurant. The room facilities are good. Good enough for a day or couple days.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading reviews that weren't too good, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Its a beautiful setting against the river. We sat in the gazebo two different nights having cocktails with our friends. We did eat in the restaurant which was pricey and average. I suggest the Village Inn and the Riverstone Grille. Both down the road from hotel. The Village Inn's food was spectacular and reasonable. Now the negatives. No fridge or microwave. You can rent them but limited supply. We were there with a baseball team and they were needed for a bunch of hungry young men. Bathroom had mold in tub. Water went down slowly and that was gross. We were there Thurs to Monday. Room was only cleaned once. We needed toilet paper towels which I took off the housekeeping cart myself. The young lady at the front was very sweet and apologetic and took money off for the inconvenience. That was appreciated!! Little things but we enjoyed the stay overall!

Room Tip: River side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here for the last 4 years for the Niagara soccer tournament and it's great for the kids, they have an indoor and outdoor pool, so the kids have something to do. The restaurant is good and there are plenty of places within 5 minutes to eat.

Room Tip: Ask to have the river view, it's a very pretty view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You should know that I'm a hotel snob- Marriott etc... If Marriott is an A grade then Byblos is a C+/B- grade hotel. If you want to be on the island, it is clearly the best choice. If you want a view of the river, this is very nice. The sheets and linens are are cheap. The shampoo and soap are cheap. The ceilings are all original popcorn style and really need to be replaced everywhere, including the lobby. Think 45-59 years old....

We did experience a reunion party on our floor that was quite load but the hotel front desk responded quickly and shut them down within 5 minutes. They moved us the next night and deducted $40 (I didn't even ask). The people and the service are A++. They are so friendly that I almost feel bad giving them a 3.....

Room Tip: Make sure there are no reunions on the floor- they actually had two going on when we were there. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel in July, for our family reunion. I'm giving it an overall rating of very good because of the fabulous view. Our room faced the Niagara River. Standing on the balcony watching the sun rise was an awesome experience. The beds were small but very comfortable. We had two doubles because we had our grandkids with us. The balcony needed some work, lots of spiders and other bugs. We did not have a fridge or microwave oven. The bathroom door kept getting stuck, my grandkids and I were stuck in there you had to jiggle the knob, and the phone was not on the stand next to the bed, but across the room on the desk(that was aggravating). On the plus side there was a huge pool indoors and a smaller one outside, a hot tub, ,sauna, and a little 1foot pool for the small ones. There is also a new exercise room. The grand kids enjoyed the small arcade in the lobby. Except for the first morning breakfast was good with bacon, sausage, pancakes, French toast, fresh fruit etc. The first morning it was pretty scanty with toast, eggs, potatoes, and yogurt. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Make sure you have a car, if not you are stuck there. There was a live band near the pool on Friday, where they also set up a bar and a grill with hot dogs and hamburgers. Nice experience sitting in he hot tub and listening to live music. Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa

Address: 100 Whitehaven Rd, East River Rd, Grand Island, NY 14072 (Formerly Holiday Inn Grand Island)
Location: United States > New York > Grand Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Island (Buffalo / Niagara) Hotel Grand Island
Grand Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.