We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bones, needs improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Whitehaven Rd, East River Rd, Grand Island, NY 14072 (Formerly Holiday Inn Grand Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Grand Island
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good bones, needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Exceeded my low expectations after reading reviews.This could be restored to be a gem, but they have polishing around the edges to complete. 2 nights with a group of 100. Staff is accommodating, management needs to pay attention to the details. Breakfast items were basic, need to work on replenishing utensils quicker. Hotel is dated, huge lobby lacks ambiance, Very understaffed in the kitchen. Located right on the water, nice view.

Room Tip: The rooms on the river side are picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    8
    9
    9
See reviews for
20
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a special event on Grand Island and stayed at Byblos and although the hotel is a little dated the staff, food and view was wonderful. We stayed last year and have no problems staying there again.
Rita

Room Tip: River view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You need a car if you stay at this hotel as of the location.

After arriving at the hotel it has a spacious lobby, two great swimming pools and nice staff. The rooms where good and basic for what you need, we had a great room with an amazing view of the water. All I can say it has a great setting and it was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Emma

Thank you for your nice comments about Byblos Niagara. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to the USA and Niagara Falls. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff.
Best Regards,
Scott Swagler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here because my daughter had a banquet we were attending. From reading the reviews, I wanted to stay elsewhere. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. I think the hotel has recently been updated. My complaints are minor. No exhaust fan in the bathroom and the hair dryer didn't work. It was clean and modern. We had a balcony with a lovely room overlooking the river. I would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mommawithabba,

Thank you for your recent stay and your kind words about our hotel and the banquet you attended. Our company purchased the hotel in the past year and has been working to upgrade the facilities and amenities to enhance the guest experience. We have a long way to go but our owner has committed to the expense and I am proud to be working on this project. If possible, can you let me know your room number so we can check out the 2 minor items you noted during your stay so that nobody else has the same problem. I can be reached directly at sswagler@byblosniagara.com
Cordially,
Scott Swagler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

During Niagara visit, we spent one night in this hotel. This hotel has a big advantage of location. Situated on the Niagara river banks, you can see beautiful sunrise from the balcony of your room & lots of ducks swimming in the river and playing in the lawns. I loved it very much.

The pillows are quite big, which they can change and make it more flat. Apart from that, I had comfortable sleep during night. I couldn't check the spa or the restaurant facility as we left early in the morning.

Room Tip: Please ask for the rooms facing river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Spark80,
Thank you for your recent post about your stay here at Byblos Niagara Resort, Niagara Falls/Grand Island, NY
We appreciate your feedback and am glad you had a great stay. Hopefully you can come back and spend more time to take in everything the area has to offer. If I can help in anyway with those plans, please do not hesitate to contact me directly here at the hotel
Cordially,
Scott Swagler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Home for a few days (Active Duty Military) spent a few days with family & decided to stay last day before traveling back to Japan here. We'll I called asked if there was some sort of Military discount? Was informed yes certainly all you need is Military Id got there to check in and was assured by 2 front desk clerks that price would be adjusted at check out. Upon Check Out The "General Manager" then asks for my travel documents for official business? Are you kidding me 3 of your staff members assured everything was taken care of. Now if they would of advised prior to check in that I needed work order or travel documents I would have booked somewhere else. Nevertheless food at restaurant was horrible complimentary bread took 30 minutes to arrive at the table and when it arrived it was soggy? As if someone dropped it in water. Then it took at least an hour to get a simple grilled chicken sandwich. Oh yeah that simple sandwich was supposed to have a red pepper mayo. When I complained about no mayo the server advised there's a new chef and he doesn't know how to make it? This place is a joke! Stay somewhere else!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ms. Candace

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us here at Byblos. Please accept my apologies for the confusion with us requesting proof of government service before we are able to honor the deeply discounted and highly restricted government rate. Due to the high incidence of misuse of this rate, we, as do most hotels, require a copy of government travel orders before allowing this rate to be used. As you mentioned, you were home on leave and both myself and our owner reiterated that we'd be happy to honor the government rate if you would be so kind as to send in a copy to either one of us so we can credit your bill for that holiday weekend. When you have those travel orders, please send them directly to us here at the hotel.
We appreciate your service to our country.

Best Regards,
Scott Swagler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I had stayed for 1 night along with a friend. The room size and amenities were good. The name mentioned SPA but there was no spa facility. It is almost 20 minutes drive from niagra fall. There is no eating outlets or shops around. The restaurant lack quality and quantity. The best part is that it is on the bank of river and walk on the river side is very refreshing especially in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Drparmod

Thank you for staying with Byblos on your recent group outing to Niagara Falls. Due to our location, we are able to offer the best travel value for groups like yours while still offering the Niagara Falls experiences. Our spa is currently under planning review and hopefully on your next visit up next year, you will find time to stay a bit longer and enjoy the serenity of Grand Island.

I look forward to meeting you in the future

Best Regards,
Scott Swagler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa

Address: 100 Whitehaven Rd, East River Rd, Grand Island, NY 14072 (Formerly Holiday Inn Grand Island)
Location: United States > New York > Grand Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Island (Buffalo / Niagara) Hotel Grand Island
Grand Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.