We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Tesoro Ristorante

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Il Tesoro Ristorante
6 North Church Street, Goshen, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 38 Restaurants in Goshen
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice and Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Excellent Italian cuisine. Run by family and they are very accommodating. All courses are uniformly good. The owner is also the pastry chef ... Save room for dessert!!! The drink portions are generous. Only drawback is slow service ... A bit understaffed.
Certainly worth going.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I'm sorry I chose this restaurant for my birthday dinner. The service was so bad that it didn't matter that the food was good. The owner/waitress was very arrogant and unattentive. I felt they are overpriced also. No one in the party will ever go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gordon Ramsey Can't help this place! RUN!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We are locals, and this was not our first time, but it will be our last! The owner was sitting at the very first Table when you walked in doing paper work which took up the entire table in this very small restaurant, dressed in her slouchy Saturday worst…terrible first impression. Sign on front door says no cell phone, we were relieved because it is so small, BUT the owner did take 3-calls while we were there, so nice of her to step outside to take her calls right in front of the door, the third call came in as soon as we were fleeing from the terrible food, she sat at her table and took that call with customers still in the restaurant…VERY RUDE! Now with the service, the young man stood in front of us with his hands in his pockets, too relaxed, felt rude, and was not at all interested in impressing us. The menu is old and uninteresting, and dirty…change the menu’s, gross, they are dirty! The 4-Small-Scallops sat in a puddle of red sauce that looked more like ketchup, with old potatoes’ and ugly French fry sliced looking zucchini and carrots…just plain Ugly at first glance. The Scallops were rubbery and over cooked, yuck! The Veal Scaloppini was just plain Gross, it too had the same ‘ketchup’ sauce, and a brown sauce underneath the ‘ketchup’, which tasted like sugar fell in the sauces and it looked exactly like the Scallop plate except it had Veal…terrible, terrible food. The specials sounded more like last week’s leftovers, and we were the first ones in the restaurant, when the server told us about the specials, he said that they only had 1-Tuna special left…yikes how old was that? A few words for the Chef…”Hairnet” & “You’re Fired”!! He had raggedy long hair with a bandana tied around his head, and looked like he just rolled out of bed from Woodstock…OMG…stay in the kitchen if you look like that! Terrible!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Il Terrible ---”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It's quite apparent, this supposedly, well-respected establishment, is struggling to,keep,up,appearances. The host, waiter, wine steward, manager was a one man band -- yet attempted to juggle his multiple roles well, albeit service was imbalanced resulting in unnecessarily long wait times between courses. Thankfully, the new "assistant" i.e. busboy, was attentive and eager to ensure water and bread was always replentished. The kitchen -- in my opinion, was a complete disaster. We ordered an Asti split -- it's Summer and it was a B'day Dinner -- but they didn't have any in stock -- we were told they sold the last bottle weeks ago! And they have yet tomre-order? Three separate couples/walk-ins were turned away, despit the room being half-full. No room because of "reservations" -- none of whom showed during the hour and a half we were there. This observation, coupled with the limited wait staff, and unavailable wine, speaks to the presumption that they are operating on a shoe string, resulting in a not so up-scale experience. The fresh papparadel pasta was over cooked, and the pink-cream chicken sauce was seriously over salted, making it practically indelible. The chicken cutlet was decent, but the arugula, tomatoes and garlic on top had to be pushed aside -- the garlic was unnecessary, the tomatoes past their peek and too ripe, and the arugula not peppery fresh :( The roasted potatoes were horribly over-cooked, dried out, and cold...they looked and tasted like left-overs from Sunday Sup -- just dreadfully awful. The cheese stuffed chicken breast was average, and again incorporated way too much garlic. Same lousy, over roasted, cold, inedible potatoes. Dessert -- ONLY because it was a birthday dinner -- was a semi-fredo (ice cream cake) which was flavorful, but unattractive -- it looked like it melted and was refrozen. We have dined here over a half dozen times since they opened in 2006/07 -- this was our last. Bertucci's is exceedingly better, at one-third the cost, offering greater selection, and more attentive service. So NOT the establishment they pretend to be.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“A Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Four of us went here for dinner. We found this place on-line, We figured we would give it a try based on its Zagat rating. We made early reservations with no problem. The store front is small and unassuming and easy to miss. The interior is small cozy and inviting. We were seated at a table in front of the fireplace. The room is spotless and the tables were covered in crisp white linens, silverware and water glasses. The temperature was cool inside for dinning as it was quite humid outside. We were greeted by our waiters James and Yoshi. The two of them were super friendly and personable. They offered us the menus as well as an extensive list of specials which made your mouth water just listening to James say them. The appetizers were generous portions and quite different then anything offered in the area. I had a zucchini flower stuffed with cheese fried and served over arugula and air dried beef thinly sliced which was simply amazing. The entree I had was a stuffed pork chop served over mashed potatoes that was delicious. Based on James descriptions of the desserts we all ordered a desert and they were truly worth the anticipation of being served. I will definitely go back not just for dinner but for a dinning experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tesoro Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Il Tesoro Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Tesoro Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.