We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for your buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travers Diner

Travers Diner
237 South Kingsboro Avenue Extension, Gloversville, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 42 Restaurants in Gloversville
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Johnstown, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you want good food in a family setting this is the place to go. We had one of the specials, which includes wine, soup, salad, entree and dessert for $10.99. We love the haddock and macaroni and cheese but they have lots of good choices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The new 2 for $25 Menu Selections are Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised by the new menu choices since we had not been there in some time. Can get to entrees (we had steak and prime rib), with choice of soup or salad, 2 sides, and either an appetizer or a dessert. We picked the chocolate pie and it was huge...we said next time one of us will get an appetizer and one will get a dessert and we will share. They have many barbequed items on a new menu also. Service is excellent. happy to see them doing well :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Good Place for a Quick Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Typical American fare, with average sandwiches, entrees, salads and specials. Many items are likely frozen and re-heated, and lose some flavor in the process. Prices are reasonable, and service is efficient. The decor hasn't changed in the 10+ years since the restaurant opened, but it's serviceable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Consistent and Reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

To me, this is everything a diner should be, except it does not have the traditional counter and stools. It is clean, and the waitresses really know their stuff. The food is consistently good and it is reasonable. We’ve been there five times in the past two months and have yet to order from the regular menu because their full-meal specials are a steal. There are different specials in effect at the same time, so I would suggest you invest a little time in comparing them if it is your first visit. Some include a tossed salad and a cup of homemade soup, some include a glass of house wine, some include an appetizer, some include dessert. Some offer a full-sized entree while others have a smaller portion. Some include a dessert such as rice pudding or jello, and others include a slice of pie (which might not be homemade.) They also do barbecue, although we haven’t tried it yet. Be aware that there is no entrance to their parking lot off the main highway (Route 30A.) You turn onto a side road at the traffic signal just north of it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Travers Diner also viewed

 

Been to Travers Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travers Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.