We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Mercure standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Mercure standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We' d previously stayed at the Mercure Exeter, which was very good, so booked Mercure Staines with relative confidence. Was quite disappointed. I felt it was a little shabby. When we walked into our room it was freezing so I asked my husband to close the window, but it was broken and wouldn't shut properly. It was really noisy from the traffic on the busy main road outside. The room was also really dark, I didn't like it at all. Anyway we went back down to reception and complained so we were upgraded to a room overlooking the river, it had a little wooden balcony, and the view was lovely. This room was better but nothing to get too excited about!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Liz O,

Many thanks for sharing your concerns with us. I am glad that reception offered you an upgrade and happy to read that you enjoyed the view of the river.

Regarding your first room I would like to discuss it further with you, could you please contact me on h6620-fb@accor.com.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    140
    91
    48
    14
See reviews for
57
147
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

A quirky mix of old an new, the hotel has been expanded to and added to in a few phases, making it a little bit of a maze, or adventure, to find your room.
The staff match the hotel in quirkiness, but this all adds to the flavour. The hotel is right on the banks of the Thames, was fun in the Feb flooding, hats off to the staff for keeping the river at bay, and nicely located for the town centre, bus & railway stations.
The menu is a little limited, and no specials I have noted as catch of the day is always Tuna, but as 2 mins from the town centre lots of other choices.
All the rooms I have stayed in have been a reasonable size and with a large flat screen TV with Freeview channels, the beds vary from firm to very soft and due to the location on a major junction some of the rooms on the road side can be a little noisy.
As per another review, housekeeping can be a little eager so would advise, 'Do not disturb' hung on door and chain put on if you are planning being in the room after 08:00, this may be due to the majority of regular guest being business type and normally clear of the room about then.

Room Tip: Riverside the only choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear David N,

Quirky?? We will take that! Thank you for sharing your kind feedback and I am glad you enjoyed the location.
Next time you are around try Sea Bass or Poached Salmon from our menu, they are delish!!
And please be assured I have also addressed your comment regarding housekeeping.

Hope to see you at Thames Lodge soon.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in September for the weekend on a trip to Thorpe park and the hotel wasn't far from there. The hotel was immaculate, everywhere was so clean. The room was lovely with a tv with most free view channels and wi-if throughout it, spot on! The hotel has a lovely view of the river and it was really nice to sit outside on a night next to it. Buffet breakfast the next morning was so delicious, hands down the best breakfast I've ever had at an hotel. Was in a good location, close to shops, bars and restaurants. Would recommended anyone to stay here and would definitely come back here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear S Caitlin,

I am delighted to read that you had a fabulous time with us and you took full advantage of the location. I am glad that you had a relaxing time at our terrace and the breakfast team will be delighted to hear your positive feedback.
I look forward to welcoming you back this summer!

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Most of the hotels I looked at in Staines were too far out of town or actually at Heathrow airport! The Mercure is just along from the high street, 5 mins from the train station and a little bit more to the office I was working at.

Staff were great, gave me directions to a whole load of places! The room was perfect for what we were paying, decent sized comfortable bed, TV with most FreeView channels, also the ability to connect my iPod to it and listen to music. Also, free WiFi throughout the hotel.

Stayed during the flooding, unlike other establishments I saw, Mercure had it all under control, pumping water out, sandbags etc meant that my stay was not impacted at all.

Will be happily going back shortly.

Room Tip: I slept on the roadside and the back, equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Graham C

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed for new year good room view of thamesnew year food excellent evening ruined by awful disco. Champagne should be served at midnight although disco had midnight some minute affer every one else. Stayed for 2 nightson lazt day cleaner wanted to do room at 8.30 surly supervisor said this Was company policy. But otherwise very good. BUT WHY NO DECAF TEA..other staff very good especially reception.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure London Staines.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the cleaner which we have since addressed.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn garden city
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We booked a trip to thorpe park theme park it was a Saturday and sunday we arrived at the hotel and were shown to a very average double room it was a quite dark green decor and felt very un welcoming after ringing down to the very helpful staff I was given a good deal on an upgrade to a riverside room, WOW stunning room very well decorated with a large ensuite and beautiful view of the river, luxury room service, the breakfast was lovely and delivered on silver trays to the bed! The evening meal menu wasn't greatly to our taste or very flamboyant so we went out for dinner, I would recommend and defo rebook if in the area at all.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us.

See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here on a surprise stay, room very high standard, overlooking river but chilly,until heater warmed it up! Popped down to bar for drink with very attentive friendly staff, and upon return to room it was lovely and warm and cosy. Ate in hotel, dinner and breakfast. Dinner 5* standard, excellent presentation and good value. Breakfast, vast selection hot and cold, 3 hour's time slot, 7-10, and at 9am hot breakfast buffet was stiil fresh and hot. Tea/coffee facilities, great selection.
Only minus was no bottled water in room, but reception brought some up on request.
Hotel not in a greatest looking area, but behind the facade it was excellent! Convenient for Heathrow Airport, Windsor and 5 min walk from station to London (40 mins)

Room Tip: Room 33 with river view and small balcony, tho towpath directly outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Mercure London Staines.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Marnix Teeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Address: Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the River Thames, this town centre hotel offers 79 en suite bedrooms. Only 3 miles to Thorpe Park and 12 miles to Heathrow with easy connections to Central London, Twickenham and Windsor. The restaurant & terrace bar offer a panoramic view of the river. . Easy access via the M25, with free parking (30 spaces) & free mooring. Free use of our local leisure centre (Gym, indoor pool & Jacuzzi) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Thames Lodge Staines Hotel Staines
Mercure Thames Hotel Staines
Accor Thames Hotel Staines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.