We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Stanwell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Stanwell Hotel to your Saves list
The Stanwell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have mixed feelings here. It wouldn't be my first choice to return but then it wouldn't be my last. Generally the hotel is efficient but it doesn't have that welcoming feeling. The superior room I was allocated (in the stable block) was bland and lacked identity. There were no table lamps, big empty spaces, a section of the room about 7' square that was just empty when it could do with an easy chair and coffee table, a hole in the carpet, bland walls, it's hard to describe. The bathroom was good, well equipped with toiletries, good shower etc. Bar service was okay but the bar guy wasn't happy when I returned a pint of Tetley because it tasted like detergent......I wouldn't have huffed and puffed!! Food in the restaurant is from a limited menu and is okay if not a little overpriced. I skipped breakfast for a tenner. Check out was efficient.

Room Tip: They have exec rooms as pictured in reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear PhillT

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the bar service you received and sincerley apologise for the less than perfect service we strive for.

With regards to the room decor, your points raised have been taken on board and we are in fact rolling out a soft refurbishment in 26 of our bedrooms in August.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and I sincerely hope you will visit the hotel in the future to see the continuous improvements being rolled out.

Kind regards,

Sheldon Baudach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    97
    28
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
75
35
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited the hotel on late Wednesday evening and left shortly after breakfast on Thursday. We had a room just off of reception, which looked to be an extension and newer rooms than the original part of the hotel. In the room we found a letter telling us we had been upgraded to a superior room. The room was clean, spacious and better than the average hotel room. There were also complementary chocolates and a small bottle of red wine. The room had patio door that led out to the car park. The only point I would highlight was you could hear quite a bit of noise in the room as people went to reception. The breakfast offered a wide variety of choice and the full English was cooked to order, was piping hotel and offered good portions. The hotel is actually in a fairly quite place, within a residential property area, and only a few minutes from Heathrow. The cost of the accommodation was very reasonable. We would be happy to re-visit if we wanted to stay overnight again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mark H

Thank you for posting your views on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to The Stanwell Hotel. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and will pass your comments on to the managment team.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at The Stanwell Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sheldon Baudach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you are used to Holiday Inn airport hotels, this is a welcome improvement.
The rooms are particular, as mentioned in previous reviews, but if you can live with non standard rooms it is actually fine.
Personally I really like the style, a sort of rational nordic designer style, but the rooms are actually comfortable.
The bathroom is something special, but functional.

You should try the restaurant which has a menu with an interesting choice, and some innovation.

Room Tip: It really depends what you are after, ask some questions when you do your booking and ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Marnixgroet

Thank you so much for your positive review of The Stanwell hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be comfortable. We have worked extremely hard to differenciate ourselves from the main stream hotels and this is reflected in the design and layout of many of our rooms as well our restaurant menus.

Once again, thank you for using Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future hopefully.

Kind regards,

Sheldon Baudach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have been to this hotel quite often to eat (at least once every five or six weeks) and I have to say it is always a bit hit and miss. Sometimes we go and the service and food is great, sometimes the food is not great, sometimes the service is not great. Nothing seems consistent not even how they serve their food. Recently we went for a Sunday roast only to find that the menu was an A4 sheet of very limited options. Only one roast on the menu, pork, and other than that fish, which was OK, risotto a pie and a veggie option. This despite the big sign advertising Sunday roasts!

The prawn cocktail was served with very little cocktail sauce and two small triangles of buttered bread, the last time we had the same dish it was served totally differently. On the subject of bread they have side plates and butter knives but not once, certainly not in the last 18 months of going there have we been offered bread rolls at any time during the meal.

There was a time after a particularly frustrating meal we said we wouldn’t go there again but it is at the opposite end of our village so going for lunch or dinner without having to drive home is tempting. They would get a lot more of our custom (average £75 bill) if it was consistently good not just sometimes good and DO NOT advertise Sunday roasts if you are not going to offer them. Husband was deeply disappointed. Not 100% sure that we will be going there again in the near future. Shame as it is visually much improved on the old "Stanwell Hall Hotel" of a few years ago but the food in the restaurant in the old place was always quite consistent which is what is currently lacking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Bow28t55

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at The Stanwell Hotel. I am dissapointed to read that we did not meet your expectations and that you find the consistency of the food and the presentation therof a rather hit and miss affair.

I have passed your comments on to our Chef as well as our Food and Beverage Manager for their immediate attention and I am confident that this will be rectified.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Sheldon Baudach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Quebec
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

beware of room 21! This was the first room assigned to my daughter and me - low ceilings, two single beds in a strange configuration, no chance of viewing the TV from the beds. Looked like a bunker. Fortunately the lovely receptionist relocated us to the executive suite for a few extra pounds. This was better, but required us to share the king sized bed. Very plain decor with arborate cupboards, everything black and white. Outstanding bathroom.

Room service was surprisingly affordable and really excellent. Smokers outside on their balconies (attached to many rooms) took full advantage; requiring closed windows. Super television reception. Really good breakfast. All in all a satisfactory stay, despite some glitches. Could really use some colour in the rooms! The all-female staff were exceptional - full marks to whoever is doing the hiring and training.

Room Tip: avoid room 21!!!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Altadore

Thank you for your very recent review after your stay at The Stanwell Hotel. Firstly, I will pass your comments on to our amazing Reception and front of house team and our brilliant Front of House Manager who is delighted with your feedback- thank you.

Secondly, we are in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms, so your comments have been taken on board with appreciation. Hopefully, should you return to visit us, you will see the changes we are implementing in our rooms.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and hopefully, should you visit London again, back at The Stanwell Hotel.

Kind regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The staff was so friendly and helpful. There was a mix up in the booking on behalf of my travel agent and we ended up only having a 1 person room, but the staff helped us get a bigger room at a discounted price. Overall this was the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Edin92,

I am so so pleased that you felt this is the best hotel you have stayed at! It is always so encouraging to the whole team to receive such brilliant feedback. I will most definately pass your comments on to the entire staff and hope you will return in the very near future to experience more of The Stanwell Hotel charm.

Thank you for using TripAdvisor!

Kind regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed one night as went to Thorpe park. Was about a 15 minute drive to the Stanwell which was fine as easy to find. Hotel was exceptionally clean and very modern. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Had no problems at all apart from the hotel was very hot, even with the windows open! There was a nice selection for breakfast, although the cooked breakfast is quite basic but nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Vickycleave91

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor after your visit to The Stanwell Hotel. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found the hotel to be exceptionally clean. With reference to the heat you experienced in your room, for health and safety reasons, the windows on the second floor are restricted to how wide they can open. We do offer other rooms that have no restrictions which may be of interest for you for future bookings.

Once again thank you for using TripAdvisor and hopefully we will see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stanwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Hotel

Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwell is a boutique hotel, located in historic Stanwell village, just 5 minutes from Heathrow and the motorways. The Stanwell combines all the period charm and character of a grand residence, whilst offering a dynamic and contemporary choice of 52 individually designed rooms, bar and restaurant. Upgraded and extended in 2010, all rooms have freeview TV, free wifi, laptop-size safes, hospitality tray and ironing facilities. Don’t miss dining in Zamora’s award-winning restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Stanwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stanwell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.