We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Heathrow, nice restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Stanwell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Stanwell Hotel to your Saves list
The Stanwell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Near Heathrow, nice restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stay in this hotel only 5 minutes from Heathrow during business trip. Good rooms, free internet; small nice restaurant with good food, during summertime a great garden to have a drink. My room has a small balcony (rearside hotel). Friendly staff.

Room Tip: New rooms, good accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear PietW

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay and noticed that our family friendly and secure garden is a fantastic place to enjoy a drink or some great food during the Summer months.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Stanwell in the near future.

Best regards,

Sheldon Baudach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    83
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
68
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
international
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The perfect place to stay in comfort with good service and a good sleep. As said, the breakfast is stunning, fresh. Take the full English breakfast. It's included if you selected the option of 10 pounds more for the night. One of the best in recent years!!!

Take their recommendation for the transfer service: reliability! It is a bit off the town center but therefor close to the airport at a reasonable price for a hotel in London.

Room Tip: If you have a large suitcase don't go for the rooms behind the patio on the ground floor. They h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear th_sustainable

Thank you for your kind words after your recent visit to The Stanwell Hotel. I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel and of course the full breakfast. We have in fact received a breakfast award from Visit England for the past 2 years!

Thank you again for staying with us and we always look forward to seeing at The Stanwell!

Best regards,

Sheldon Baudach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had to stay here when snow hit Heathrow. Very cute for the price. Staff was very accommodating. Food was very good too (they have a restaurant and bar). You could do a fixed price meal for 20 (2 courses) or 25 (3 courses) pounds.

Be careful getting to the hotel - the black cabs at Heathrow will charge an exorbitant amount to get your there (35 pounds). However gettting back is only a 12 pound taxi that you can actually charge to the hotel if need be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Usepassport3xYear

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Stanwell Hotel and that you enjoyed our home made food in the restaurant.

Hope to see you at the Stanwell in the near future!

Best regards,

Sheldon Baudach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I visited first time to London & booked this hotel via Online
I was happy to see the location & room
Rooms are small but clean & Peaceful
Conenctivity is bit difficult as bus service is once in 30 mins
But 5 mins walk away there is another bus stop from where bus conenctivity is nice

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Attended a charity fund raising dinner at the hotel's restaurant - very good. Juna & Karol were attentive and pleasant, the food was very good and the surroundings modern, clean and friendly. What a difference to the old hotel !! I shall be organising a few fund raisers myself in the next few months and look forward to some more good evenings. Bar prices were on the high side but understandable since the food was very well priced. Wine prices were OK with the meal though, 15 - 16 GB pounds a bottle, all the staff were friendly & attentive and made the evening a success. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear qc2,

Thank you for your complimentary review after having attended the recent charity dinner held at the Stanwell Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed the experience and have noted the continuous improvements we have been striving to make.

We certailny look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel shortly.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A late booking did not mean any laspe of quality. Price on par with Travelodge, but so much nicer and the delicious breakfast thrown in. Friendly, basic but clean Nice surroundings and friendly staff. Definately good value for money...and lovely fluffy towels. I would definately return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Diandra1,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have experienced the best that The Stanwell Hotel has to offer and I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for using Tripadvisor and for the positive feedback.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights and had to find somewhere at short notice, I really just needed a good place to sleep but wanted to find something a little better than Premier Inn, the Stanwell seemed worth a try.
The hotel has a boutique style and presents itself well. Unfortunatelly the room was far too small. I booked a standard double but there was hardly room to move. It was really claustrophobic.There was no room to fit in a bedside table, the phone had to be propped on a shelf above the bed. It appeared that at one time there had been a larger bed in place as the lights were fixed in a position that could only just be reached from the bed. The room was in a roof space and the windows were two small skylight style windows in the sloping part of the roof. The bathroom was well equipped and the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was very good indeed but the size of the room spoiled my stay.
The good breakfast, presentation and cleanliness of the hotel make it worth 4 stars but doubt I will stay again after this visit, I just don't want to risk a similar room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Karen0101

Firstly, thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
I was pleased to note that, on the whole, your experience at the hotel was enjoyable and pleasant. I also noted that the room you were allocated was too small for your requirements. We do have numerous bedrooms in in the hotel that vary in size. Our deluxe double rooms fall into this category, many of which are larger than others.

Should you wish to visit us again, please do feel free to conatct me directly and I will ensure that you are allocated a larger and more comfortable room.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stanwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Hotel

Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwell is a boutique hotel, located in historic Stanwell village, just 5 minutes from Heathrow and the motorways. The Stanwell combines all the period charm and character of a grand residence, whilst offering a dynamic and contemporary choice of 52 individually designed rooms, bar and restaurant. Upgraded and extended in 2010, all rooms have freeview TV, free wifi, laptop-size safes, hospitality tray and ironing facilities. Don’t miss dining in Zamora’s award-winning restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Stanwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stanwell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.