We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Economy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stanwell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Stanwell Hotel to your Saves list
The Stanwell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful & Economy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I visited first time to London & booked this hotel via Online
I was happy to see the location & room
Rooms are small but clean & Peaceful
Conenctivity is bit difficult as bus service is once in 30 mins
But 5 mins walk away there is another bus stop from where bus conenctivity is nice

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    85
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
30
69
34
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Attended a charity fund raising dinner at the hotel's restaurant - very good. Juna & Karol were attentive and pleasant, the food was very good and the surroundings modern, clean and friendly. What a difference to the old hotel !! I shall be organising a few fund raisers myself in the next few months and look forward to some more good evenings. Bar prices were on the high side but understandable since the food was very well priced. Wine prices were OK with the meal though, 15 - 16 GB pounds a bottle, all the staff were friendly & attentive and made the evening a success. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear qc2,

Thank you for your complimentary review after having attended the recent charity dinner held at the Stanwell Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed the experience and have noted the continuous improvements we have been striving to make.

We certailny look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel shortly.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A late booking did not mean any laspe of quality. Price on par with Travelodge, but so much nicer and the delicious breakfast thrown in. Friendly, basic but clean Nice surroundings and friendly staff. Definately good value for money...and lovely fluffy towels. I would definately return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Diandra1,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have experienced the best that The Stanwell Hotel has to offer and I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for using Tripadvisor and for the positive feedback.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights and had to find somewhere at short notice, I really just needed a good place to sleep but wanted to find something a little better than Premier Inn, the Stanwell seemed worth a try.
The hotel has a boutique style and presents itself well. Unfortunatelly the room was far too small. I booked a standard double but there was hardly room to move. It was really claustrophobic.There was no room to fit in a bedside table, the phone had to be propped on a shelf above the bed. It appeared that at one time there had been a larger bed in place as the lights were fixed in a position that could only just be reached from the bed. The room was in a roof space and the windows were two small skylight style windows in the sloping part of the roof. The bathroom was well equipped and the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was very good indeed but the size of the room spoiled my stay.
The good breakfast, presentation and cleanliness of the hotel make it worth 4 stars but doubt I will stay again after this visit, I just don't want to risk a similar room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Karen0101

Firstly, thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
I was pleased to note that, on the whole, your experience at the hotel was enjoyable and pleasant. I also noted that the room you were allocated was too small for your requirements. We do have numerous bedrooms in in the hotel that vary in size. Our deluxe double rooms fall into this category, many of which are larger than others.

Should you wish to visit us again, please do feel free to conatct me directly and I will ensure that you are allocated a larger and more comfortable room.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here several times. Never eaten here other than breakfast, so no comment re cuisine. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Staff helpful, car park large and convenient. Location is the real key to staying here, Heathrow T5 is literally 5 minutes away, T4 not much further. The one beware is the standard black cab drivers won't drive you here from Heathrow as there is not enough money in the fare, so get the hotel to give you the local minicab company details as they are happy to do the trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear PeterSRugby,

Thank you for using Tripadvisor to post your very positive review after your recent visit at The Stanwell Hotel. We are well situated for easy acces to the Heathrow terminals whilst maintaining that unique hotel feel.

I would strongly recommend that you try our cuisine when you next visit as this is normally a highlight for our guests during their stay.

I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Close to LHR if you have a car. The place is quite spiffy with nice rooms, however the heating is not controllable other than turning off the radiator. We were on the 2nd floor. It was way too toasty for our tastes. Might be a great place if it weren't for the lack of modern heating and cooling.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Jblankfort,

Firstly, thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I was surprised to read that you had an issue with the heating as the radiators in all our bedrooms are individually controlled and can be adjuted to the desired temprature.

I trust this was resolved whilst you were staying with us and do hope that you will return to the hotel when you next visit the UK.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good stop for one night. The bed was a bit hard but springy and the room could have had a picture to brighten it up. Helpful staff and delicious breakfast. Free wifi.
Be warned do not park under the trees for the night as birds roost in them leaving the cars underneath messy, not good if the car is to be parked at the airport for two weeks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stanwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Hotel

Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwell is a boutique hotel, located in historic Stanwell village, just 5 minutes from Heathrow and the motorways. The Stanwell combines all the period charm and character of a grand residence, whilst offering a dynamic and contemporary choice of 52 individually designed rooms, bar and restaurant. Upgraded and extended in 2010, all rooms have freeview TV, free wifi, laptop-size safes, hospitality tray and ironing facilities. Don’t miss dining in Zamora’s award-winning restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Stanwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stanwell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.