We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good retaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stanwell Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Stanwell Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Stanwell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Staines
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good retaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Attended a charity fund raising dinner at the hotel's restaurant - very good. Juna & Karol were attentive and pleasant, the food was very good and the surroundings modern, clean and friendly. What a difference to the old hotel !! I shall be organising a few fund raisers myself in the next few months and look forward to some more good evenings. Bar prices were on the high side but understandable since the food was very well priced. Wine prices were OK with the meal though, 15 - 16 GB pounds a bottle, all the staff were friendly & attentive and made the evening a success. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear qc2,

Thank you for your complimentary review after having attended the recent charity dinner held at the Stanwell Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed the experience and have noted the continuous improvements we have been striving to make.

We certailny look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel shortly.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    73
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
62
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A late booking did not mean any laspe of quality. Price on par with Travelodge, but so much nicer and the delicious breakfast thrown in. Friendly, basic but clean Nice surroundings and friendly staff. Definately good value for money...and lovely fluffy towels. I would definately return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Diandra1,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have experienced the best that The Stanwell Hotel has to offer and I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for using Tripadvisor and for the positive feedback.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights and had to find somewhere at short notice, I really just needed a good place to sleep but wanted to find something a little better than Premier Inn, the Stanwell seemed worth a try.
The hotel has a boutique style and presents itself well. Unfortunatelly the room was far too small. I booked a standard double but there was hardly room to move. It was really claustrophobic.There was no room to fit in a bedside table, the phone had to be propped on a shelf above the bed. It appeared that at one time there had been a larger bed in place as the lights were fixed in a position that could only just be reached from the bed. The room was in a roof space and the windows were two small skylight style windows in the sloping part of the roof. The bathroom was well equipped and the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was very good indeed but the size of the room spoiled my stay.
The good breakfast, presentation and cleanliness of the hotel make it worth 4 stars but doubt I will stay again after this visit, I just don't want to risk a similar room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Karen0101

Firstly, thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
I was pleased to note that, on the whole, your experience at the hotel was enjoyable and pleasant. I also noted that the room you were allocated was too small for your requirements. We do have numerous bedrooms in in the hotel that vary in size. Our deluxe double rooms fall into this category, many of which are larger than others.

Should you wish to visit us again, please do feel free to conatct me directly and I will ensure that you are allocated a larger and more comfortable room.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here several times. Never eaten here other than breakfast, so no comment re cuisine. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Staff helpful, car park large and convenient. Location is the real key to staying here, Heathrow T5 is literally 5 minutes away, T4 not much further. The one beware is the standard black cab drivers won't drive you here from Heathrow as there is not enough money in the fare, so get the hotel to give you the local minicab company details as they are happy to do the trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear PeterSRugby,

Thank you for using Tripadvisor to post your very positive review after your recent visit at The Stanwell Hotel. We are well situated for easy acces to the Heathrow terminals whilst maintaining that unique hotel feel.

I would strongly recommend that you try our cuisine when you next visit as this is normally a highlight for our guests during their stay.

I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Close to LHR if you have a car. The place is quite spiffy with nice rooms, however the heating is not controllable other than turning off the radiator. We were on the 2nd floor. It was way too toasty for our tastes. Might be a great place if it weren't for the lack of modern heating and cooling.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Jblankfort,

Firstly, thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I was surprised to read that you had an issue with the heating as the radiators in all our bedrooms are individually controlled and can be adjuted to the desired temprature.

I trust this was resolved whilst you were staying with us and do hope that you will return to the hotel when you next visit the UK.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good stop for one night. The bed was a bit hard but springy and the room could have had a picture to brighten it up. Helpful staff and delicious breakfast. Free wifi.
Be warned do not park under the trees for the night as birds roost in them leaving the cars underneath messy, not good if the car is to be parked at the airport for two weeks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Stanwell is only 4.5km from Heathrow's Terminal 5 and accessed directly by a local public bus service from all of Heathrow's terminals. We had a one night stop over in London flying between Turkey and our departure to Boston and this hotel was ideal for us. Time to disembark, catch a bus to the hotel, refreshen, go to a local pub for drinks and dinner, have a good nights sleep, wake refreshed to a magnificent breakfast and then catch the bus for a 10 minute ride back to Heathrow in ample time for our flight. Perfect!

The hotel has recently been refurbished and presents immaculately. The rooms are very clean and quiet with Stanwell/Staines just out of Heathrow's flight path. The dining and bar area is very large and comfortable, suiting both the tourist and the business traveller, of which there were a few.

The breakfast was very very good with a choice of full smorgasbord breakfast foods including a menu selection of hot dishes freshly prepared by the chef. The staff were extremely friendly without exception and any questions from us were dealt with quickly and without fuss. The cost was slightly less than the combined cost of travelling into central London and the associated hotel costs. We were very pleased with the total package and recommend it highly to anyone wanting a simple, quick way to do a flight transfer in London.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stanwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Hotel

Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwell Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwell is a boutique hotel, located in historic Stanwell village, just 5 minutes from Heathrow and the motorways. The Stanwell combines all the period charm and character of a grand residence, whilst offering a dynamic and contemporary choice of 52 individually designed rooms, bar and restaurant. Upgraded and extended in 2010, all rooms have freeview TV, free wifi, laptop-size safes, hospitality tray and ironing facilities. Don’t miss dining in Zamora’s award-winning restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Stanwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stanwell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.