We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatsheaf & Pigeon Pub

The Wheatsheaf & Pigeon Pub
Penton Road, Staines, England
01784452922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 53 restaurants in Staines
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've never really used trip advisor before now but came across it on Sunday when we were looking for somewhere to eat near my girlfriends parents house and after reading reviews we decided to give the Wheatsheaf and Pidgeon a go. Lovely pub from the outside but found the inside dated and grubby looking. Only positive was the quick drinks service. I was surprised to see that dogs were allowed in the pub where food was being served which put me off a bit. The food prices were high for an estate pub and when I went outside to take a call I noticed a small food standards agency sign that said there hygiene rating was 2 stars. Didn't order food. A quick search on the internet took us to a place in Laleham which was more to our taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    11
    12
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our meal here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had a great meal in this pub - bar area was quite crowded but we managed to find a table and service was friendly and relatively quick. Food is reasonably priced and generous sized portions. I think my only criticism would be that there are very few vegetarian meals on the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great local pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Having just moved to the area, I was eager to check out the local pubs. This proved to be a hit with my wife and I. Unpretentious, welcoming atmosphere and decent beer.

We'll be back many times I'm sure!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky B, Manager at The Wheatsheaf & Pigeon Pub, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Welcome to the area.

Becky and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Local Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This little pub is great to visit. They are showing all the 6 Nation rugby games, so a good place to go and chill with a beer. Not only lagers, but real ale too. They serve food, although I haven't eaten here, I have seen other people order food, and it looked good. The smoking area out the front has a heater that is a must in this cold weather. The staff are very friendly too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky B, Manager at The Wheatsheaf & Pigeon Pub, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope that you will visit us again soon

All at the Wheatsheaf and Pigeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A local gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Sat and ate in the bar Sunday lunch time. The Trip adviser app guided towards the river into the middle of a quiet residential area, and I'm thinking we are heading back to the centre of Staines to take our chances with the multiples in the town centre. Then suddenly the Pee Wee appears, we get a parking space ( there are 3) on hard standing outside, and venture in. The restaurant is full, but we can eat in the bar. Well it truly was a local, with folks popping in and out, a meat raffle that night (tickets £1), and every-one enjoying the relief of a bit of good weather. The food was good honest pub grub, no pretensions. I guess the kitchen was busy, but the staff kept us up to date with how the plating was going. Anyway, worth trusting the app, and we kept quiet for the neighbours on the way out.. Enjoy

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf & Pigeon Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Wheatsheaf & Pigeon Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatsheaf & Pigeon Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.