We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience. Used to better from Frankie and benny's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie & Benny's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Frankie & Benny's
Hale Street, Staines TW18 4UW, England
01784 495670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 53 restaurants in Staines
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northants
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience. Used to better from Frankie and benny's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I like Frankie and Benny's and visited many around the country. This was next to the travelodge I wS staying in so seemed an obvious choice. I ordered calamari and a pizza. The calamari was crisp on the outside but seemed very wet and soggy inside. When I actually cut into one the batter was raw therefore that applied to the calamari too. The prawns on the pizza I had were also cold and gave the impression that they had been put on the pizza frozen. I know how easy both of these can be over cooked but I had concerns about reacting to undercooked food. Fortunately I was fine. I did speak to the waitress about both issues but really got no response. I just had concerns that they needed to cook both things a little longer. Some acknowledgement would mean the information had been passed on. I would give them another try as they did seem busy with the distraction of family birthday meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    18
    17
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First class food and a first class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

After walking out of pizza hut.. I was not in a great mood. We (me my wife and 2 children) went into frankie and bennies and from the start it was a pleasant experience. Shown to a table straight away... From then on the service was fantastic. Was served by a guy that was fantastic at his job...i apologies for not taking youre name! Pleasant mannor and speady service. Food was brilliant and filled us right up!! Tho when i asked for a black tea i did chuckle when it came qith an empty milk pot! :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good range of dishes to suit all tastes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Mostly happy with the food but nothing outstanding this visit. Rather a long wait for the table we had reserved and the bar area was far too small as we spent the time being jostled by others. Once we were seated the service was OK. Rather a let down as F&B are usually very good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Came here for a family lunch. Kids menu was pretty good on paper but overall not child friendly. Food took a long time to arrive and contained a lot of salt - not great for kids food. Mash actually had a skin on it - heavens only knows how that was made! Staff friendly enough but food expensive for what it was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor and expensive for what is Iceland food warmed up”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Bill came to £145 for 3adults and 4 kids. Better off going to McDonald's. Food was rubbish and burnt, chicken was dry. Steak was rubber. Soft drinks were flat. Only decent thing was leaving the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Benny's also viewed

 

Been to Frankie & Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie & Benny's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.