We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive for drinks but poor food. Good service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Slug and Lettuce, Staines

The Slug and Lettuce, Staines
Units 3-4 Thames Edge | 15-18 Clarence Street, Staines TW18 4SU, England
01784 456914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 56 Restaurants in Staines
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: American, English, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night
india
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but expensive for drinks but poor food. Good service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I went there with my wife for lunch. The service was cheerful and attentive. Food expensive and of poor quality

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    18
    12
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chezzy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A few days visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was at the slug and lettuce on and off for a few days whilst visiting family. I have had food there and was very pleased with it. It was hot and enough on my plate. I asked for something that was not on the list for breakfast and they were very accommodating. I have had a late afternoon meal there whilst it was quiet and the food was hot and plentifull. Some of the staff there work very hard for what they will be paid. At various times as it is such a big place, there will be times when it appears the staff are not there. I have been there in the evening when they have been busy and did not hear anyone complain.
I am sure when people go into these places they expect far too much of the staff and are not always the pleasantist of customers or are patient. The pub industry expect a lot from the staff they employ and do not pay very well. Yes the staff will be exasperated at times but which customer would swap jobs with them. I just hope that whoever complains takes all this into account, whilst they are tucked up at home some of the staff will still be working and then have to travel home at all hours of the night, in all weathers, yet they do it because at the end of the day it is a job. As for clean equipment they can only use machinery that is there for glass cleaning if a customer is not satisfied then all they have to do is ask for a cleaner one. You will always in whatever employ you are in find some people don't like what they do and moan and groan about it. So please spare a thought for the staff who only do what they are told to do and are on their feet all the time. Would you do it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Uouwwon't get drunk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent two hours here, had two drinks, spent an hour in total waiting to be served. Miserable staff. Won't be going again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I agree that this place is a real shame... A colleague and I like to go there for work drinks as the setting is nice but it really is bad.
We have had to suffer dirty glasses every time, last time we ordered champagne and were given 2 glasses of Spumante..??
I asked for champagne (says I) that's what we are told to give (says barman)... Not to sound snobby but if it says champagne on the menu....!!!! Well....
I'm giving up on the river in Staines altogether, the establishments down there are clearly set up to deal with the all day drinking crowd

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This bar can never get it right!Real shame.Great location.Badly run.They have let it get too young.The DJ in wrong place.needs someting to improve it.Eaten there once and that was a joke as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce, Staines also viewed

 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce, Staines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Slug and Lettuce, Staines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.