We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of history” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queensbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Queensbury Hotel to your Saves list
Queensbury Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Ridge Street, Glens Falls, NY 12801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Glens Falls
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Piece of history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

first of all, lets be clear on what is this hotel:

1. it is a independent hotel, not part of any chain
2. it was opened in 1926 (ya, even JFK has stayed here)
3. it has old architecture (ya, with ball rooms etc)

having said that, Hotel is renovated and comfortable. Expect solid wood antique furniture, CRT TVs and smaller rooms than average hotels.

Pros:
1. Nice restaurant
2. Friendly Staff

Cons:
1. People habitual to newer/swankier hotels might not like it
2. Typical rooms are smaller

Room Tip: Rooms in 08 series are good (corner rooms with most space with overlooking on two streets).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, Guest Relations Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure reading your review and I cannot agree with you more. The Queensbury Hotel is a unique property not like any other that you’ll find. From time to time it can be a challenge dealing with an aging beauty, but with hard work from our great housekeeping and maintenance staffs they keep her in great working order. We pride ourselves on giving all of our guests a great memorable experience through top level service and it sounds like we accomplished our goal with you. I have shared your comments with the rest of the staff here. Great comments like yours are really good for employee morale. Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.
Best wishes,
Adam Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    90
    62
    44
    23
See reviews for
76
95
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the hotel and didn't mind the remodeling at all. We could see the effort made by the owners to methodically refurbish this old hotel. It reminded me of the Pfister in Milwaukee before it was redone and the hotel certainly has a lot of history of its own. We liked the decorating touch, as we could see the personal touch in the bar/rest areas as well as the efforts by the chef to make and serve above average cuisine. It has a way to go, carpeting in the lobby etc, but the pool was large, warm and clean. In fact, all of our accommodations were clean, just some of the furnishings were older, which you might expect in remodeling and redecorating with a budget. Service was excellent and all staff were attentive to good service. Parking was close, and the hotel is very convenient to downtown so you could take a walk and do some antique shopping or hit a coffee shop. We would stay here again, without reservation.

Room Tip: we had a fourth floor room near the elevator which we found convenient and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, Guest Relations Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It's always great when a guest recognizes our hard work and acknowledges it. I have taken your words and shared them with the entire staff. Thank you very much and we look forward to your return.
Best wishes,
Adam Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Spent one night at this hotel (thank god). We arrived one (1) hour early and only two of the three rooms were ready. When we finally got to our room, it was very small,smelled musty, the bed supposed to be a queen definetly was not and the mattress really uncomfortable. The bathroom very small also and no counter tops to put your toiletries. Very disappointing because looking at the pictures on line was not what I experienced.....very disappointing. If I was staying longer, I would have definetly said something to the front desk staff. And to top it off I think this stay was not worth the money charged. I will say the Lobby is beautiful, exterior quite appealing but can't say the same for the room. We went to have breakfast and had to leave, way too pricy. Overall my stay was ok but would not return.

Room Tip: have none my stay was less than 24 hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, Guest Relations Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. It is a main priority here at the Queensbury Hotel to provide all of our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience. I feel that we may not have achieved our aim with you. It was nice to read that overall your stay was OK, but I do hope that in the future you might change your mind and give us another chance as we are continually looking to improve our facility and the service we provide. We certainly do look forward to your return and our chance to provide you with a much more satisfying stay.
Many Thanks,
Adam Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glens Falls hotels

Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Recently spent two nights at the Queensbury. It has a very inviting front and it has a nice historical looking lobby. Unfortunately, that is where it ends. Our room was very worn, many spots on the carpet, furniture very beat with many scratches. The bathroom is very small, no fan so everythnig steams over, small mirror that is very high on the wall so I could not see to put on any makeup. Old type TV but it worked fine. We ate breakfast both morning in the restaurant and that leaves much to be desired. The restaurant has tables outside in a garden type atmosphere and it is very inviting. Food was mediocre. The hotel is centrally located so that is a plus, not sure I would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, Guest Relations Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Traveler,
I would like to take a moment to thank you for sharing your thoughts on our hotel. We here at the Queensbury Hotel aim to provide a great experience to all of our guests. We know it takes hard work from every one of our team members to insure guests’ enjoy their time with us. We also understand that it is not only service that make a trip memorable and worthwhile, but also the facility. From time to time it can be a challenge keeping our historic building acceptable to all of our guests while at the same time keeping that charm that is the Queensbury Hotel. You will not find an experience like you will find here in a cookie-cutter chain hotel where every room looks just like the next one. I have taken your comments and shared them with the maintenance and housekeeping staff to ensure that all of our guests enjoy our entire facility, not just the service we provide. Without honest feedback from our most important guests, such as you, we could not improve. I thank you again for staying with us and writing this review for all. We do hope that in the future you may give us another try and we certainly look forward to that.
Sincerely,
Adam Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed at the Queensbury in early April on our bike trip across country. Staff was very helpful, hotel is beautiful, rooms were great, and what character. The staff was very accommodating with our bikes as well. They gave us a great rate as well and on a Saturday!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, Guest Relations Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Ken,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Adam Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at The Queensbury for one night following a concert in nearby Saratoga, NY. It is approx. 20 miles from SPAC and is easy to get to by car. The hotel is older and is very attractive from the outside and the lobby is quite beautiful. Old architecture and plenty of antiques give it a homey feel. Unfortunately, the room was not as impressive. It was large with 2 double beds. Cleanliness was the issue here. I saw hair on the bedcover and the bathroom was quite in need of a good scouring. It is an older building and I realize it is hard to keep old enamel looking like new, but I do believe it could have used a little more effort. The back of the bathroom door had what appeared to be blood stains on it and the molding was pretty bad and there was no bathroom exhaust fan. TV was ancient and small. A/C was fine. Overall I would rate this hotel as an option if the price is right. Not the best, but definitely not the worst.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor. Elevator is old and slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, Guest Relations Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We certainly do appreciate the honesty as we use all guest comments, positive or negative, to improve ourselves. We understand that there are certain things that we cannot control, such as the age of this historic hotel, but we are constantly working to renovate and keep current while also keeping that classic charm that you will not find in cookie-cutter chain hotels. I have taken your comments and shared with the entire staff here and we are working to improve int he areas that you had mentioned. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Adam Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Old-style hotel building with interesting architecture, serviceable and comfortable rooms. Don't go here expecting luxury, but don't shy away from it, either. The pool was very dated but also quite large and well-maintained. Pool towels were small and threadbare, but always available. The location is great - right in downtown Glens Falls, which is undergoing a little bit of a resurgence.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, Guest Relations Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
I just read your review and I wanted to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us all regarding our hotel. We here at the Queensbury Hotel aim to provide all of our guests with a high level of service. It can be a challenge from time to time keeping an older building current and modern. One thing I can say is the Queensbury Hotel is a gem in her own way. Not like your average chain hotel/motel where every room is the same as the next. Here each room is a little different for the last and no two are identical. It’s with honest feedback from our most important guests such as you that enable us to grow and improve for our guests in the future. We look forward to your return. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Queensbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensbury Hotel

Address: 88 Ridge Street, Glens Falls, NY 12801
Location: United States > New York > Glens Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Glens Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Glens Falls, only minutes to Saratoga Springs, Lake George and the Adirondack Mountains. Considered a destination on its own, the landmark Queensbury Hotel has often been regarded as the town's centerpiece. Come experience our grand lobby and enjoy fabulous amenities such as our heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, restaurant and lounge. Dine in Garden on the Park or Fenimore's Lounge or stay in for the night and order room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Queensbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensbury Hotel Glens Falls
Queensbury Glens Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queensbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.