We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lobby, rooms awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Queensbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Queensbury Hotel to your Saves list
Queensbury Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Ridge Street, Glens Falls, NY 12801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Glens Falls
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice lobby, rooms awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

When we walked into the lobby I thought this would be a nice hotel, not so. The clue was when the hotel manager told us the hotel was over 100 years old, first hint. Next hint, the elevator - very old and small. The room....it's over 100 years old, need i say more, so were the sheets on the bed, the bath towels, the so called blanket, so threadbare you could see through it. The walls were so thin you could hear the conversations in room next door. The halls had a smell of I don't know what, better not to think about it. The door to the bathroom was stuck, one had to pull or push to get it open, same thing with the closet. Sorry, I feel bad to write a negative review. Would I stay here again, NO! Would I recomment it NO!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marita D, Guest Relations Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for contacting the Queensbury Hotel after your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the condition of the room.

I was disappointed to learn that you were dissatisfied with your room features and amenities as this is not typically the situation at the Queensbury Hotel. It has been our goal to modernize our hotel while retaining the old world charm that the Queensbury Hotel has known for 86 years. Please know that it is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I deeply value your relationship with The Queensbury Hotel and am committed to providing you with the highest level of service. Thank you again, for your honest feedback. I hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    91
    64
    45
    24
See reviews for
78
97
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
clinton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Nice staff. Room was huge. Lots of room for the little ones. Pool was nice but cold. We loved the historical feel of the hotel. The staff told us where to go see fireworks that evening. Very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

After hiking in Vermont for a few days, we decided to stop in Glen Falls on our way home. We booked the Queensbury at the last minute, after reading the reviews on trip adviser. It was a nice Victorian, across from a little park and close to downtown.
The hallway has benches to sit on, there is a heated pool inside, the lobby has a fireplace ,places to sit and paintings on the wall. Our room was very nice. It had a king size bed, chair, desk and two tables and lamps. It was tastefully decorated with striped wallpaper and flowered window coverings. We ordered a rueben sandwich from room service and it was packed with corned beef and sauerkraut, the sweet potato fries were nice and hot and it was very reasonably priced. Other than the carpeting being worn in the entranceway and the girl at the desk not being very friendly, this place was a great place for the price and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I will make this short and sweet. My wife and I booked this hotel based on price and we got what we paid for. When we arrived we asked why we did not get the king size bed we had asked for and the answer we got was "um I am not sure if we have anymore", no let me see what I have and no attempt at checking. When we opened the door to our room it smelled like an old musty basement from your grandparents house. The A.C. unit works well in the room but the rest of the amenities are terrible. The beds are outdated and belong in a brothel with a quarter slot. The bathroom has mold on the shower walls that comes off with a wash cloth. My fleece throw on the bed is loaded with cigarette holes and my pillows are musty smelling. Go elsewhere if you can.

Room Tip: The best room to choose would be at any other establishment in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marita D, Guest Relations Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for contacting the Queensbury Hotel regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the inaccuracy and condition of your room.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I would like to apologize that our front desk staff did not sympathize with your room request. Based on your feedback we have implemented a training program to ensure this does not continue in the future. I would like to apologize further for the condition of your room. Though this is not typically the situation at the Queensbury Hotel there was clearly an oversight. We have addressed your concerns with the department manager in an effort to provide continual training.

We are also hopeful that you will reconsider your future visitation of the Queensbury Hotel. We take extreme pride in our work at the hotel and would love the opportunity to exemplify our service levels to you. Please let us know if you are planning a visit and stay in the area in the future. We will make every effort to overcome your previous experience. Please feel free to contact me to discuss.

Marita Dryden
Guest Relations Manager
518-792-1121 x 104
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glens Falls hotels

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Me and my girl went to the Travers Race at Saratoga Springs NY, and couldn't find a place in town, since all were booked, so she did a search and came across this Hotel. It is about 15 minutes from Saratoga in Glens Falls NY so we decided to give it a go. Saw reviews that were somewhat misleading and some good. Well we were very satisfied and had no negatives about this hotel and staff. Baths were extremely clean and room was very comfortable. It has charm and friendliness throughout. Breakfast outside at the garden cafe, buffet with omelets and waffles, etc. and cooks and waitresses very friendly. We will book again next year. Don't listen to the negatives this place is worth the price.... $179 nite for weekend.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Picked this hotel for location and price. Saw reviews that were less than flattering with others that were good. We did not experience one negative reaction among those listed. Service in all aspects was friendly and efficient from food service to the front desk. Will return as long as the price is about the same. Great value, great stay.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor, no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Rockaway, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here about3 times over the past few years and it is getting older and older each time.. Thank goodness it's only $109 per night. Even at that price I don't think we will be staying there again anytime soon. On our last visit we walked into our room which had a strong cleaning chemical smell as well as strong cigarette odors that permeated all of our clothes.
The plus side to staying here is that there is an indoor pool which seems pretty clean.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queensbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensbury Hotel

Address: 88 Ridge Street, Glens Falls, NY 12801
Location: United States > New York > Glens Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Glens Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Glens Falls, only minutes to Saratoga Springs, Lake George and the Adirondack Mountains. Considered a destination on its own, the landmark Queensbury Hotel has often been regarded as the town's centerpiece. Come experience our grand lobby and enjoy fabulous amenities such as our heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, restaurant and lounge. Dine in Garden on the Park or Fenimore's Lounge or stay in for the night and order room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Queensbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensbury Hotel Glens Falls
Queensbury Glens Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queensbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.