We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed review” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Queensbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Queensbury Hotel to your Saves list
Queensbury Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Ridge Street, Glens Falls, NY 12801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Glens Falls
Stony Point, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“mixed review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We booked this hotel as a stopover for a family get together we were going to the following day. At first glance I thought this would be a great historic hotel to stay at. Not so much, the room they gave us had a funny sewage smell to it. Thankfully the staff was more then accommodating in allowing us to move rooms. The beds were completely horrible. Being an old building you could hear the pipes rattling in the walls every time another room did anything in their bathrooms. Needless to say we both had a very bad nights sleep.

I thought that would be the end of my review until I checked my online bank statement today and found that the hotel had charged my card twice. Once for the total amount ($121)and another $160. Upon calling to enquire the front desk told me the hotel policy is to charge every room an extra $50 incase they order room service and then retract it afterwards. My big beef with this is okay i get $50, but $110 even if its going back on my card is another story. She kept going back to no its only $50 extra and wouldn't listen to my questions of the $160 which would be an extra $110.

Be aware of this policy and the rattling pipes in the walls as they make for an unwelcome stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QBHMGR, Front Office Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Unfortunately, Hurricane Irene created some areas in our hotel where water had seeped in and caused water damage. The smell from the water may have permeated to other areas or rooms in the hotel however we have recently had ServiceMaster in to address and rectify this situation.
Our mattresses and box springs have recently been replaced in the hotel. Due to the fact that they are new, they may be firmer than the individual preference of this particular guest.
We do authorize an additional amount on a card for incidentals at check-in, in case our guests chose to go eat at our restaurants. There are possible times when a guest may either go to our restaraunt multiple times during their stay or spend over the $50 authorized amount during their visit. In this case we authorize additional funds to meet the amount that has been spent.
We hope that this guest will return in the future and find their experience to be to their utmost satisfaction.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    88
    61
    44
    22
See reviews for
75
94
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent two nights tent camping in the Adirondacks right after Hurricane Irene, and decided to treat ourselves to a night in a hotel on leisurely trip back to New Haven area on September 1. We've never been to Glens Falls, but hoped for something distinctive, comfortable, and within easy walking distance of restaurants and parks. We found both, plus a great library nearby and evidence of thoughtful city planning. Hotel has terrific pool and spa pool.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QBHMGR, Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
We are glad to hear that this guest has enjoyed their time with us at the Queensbury Hotel and appreciate them taking the time to review their stay. We hope that they return in the future.
Thank You,
Queensbury Hotel Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Staff was friendly and helpful. We called daily for extra towels (were there 3 days) and service was always prompt. Room and bathroom were clean. Beds comfortable, everyone slept well. Our 3 kids loved the pool, and it was always clean and uncrowded. Only complaints (minor) were low water pressure in shower, and having to trek down to 2nd floor for ice machine (from the 4th). Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QBHMGR, Front Office Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We strive to ensure that our service is always prompt and that our staff is knowledgeable and helpful. We appreciate the time this individual has taken to review their stay with us. We take all suggestions seriously and use them to improve our hotel and staff.
Thank You,
Queensbury Hotel Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We found this hotel on priceline and were pleasantly surprised by the easy drive to oth Saratoga and Lake George. Plus, it's within walking distance to cute bars and restaurants in Glens Falls. The staff was cordial, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the wifi is free. It's a good, basic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QBHMGR, Front Office Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We are glad to hear that this guest has enjoyed their time with us at the Queensbury Hotel and appreciate them taking the time to review their stay. We hope that they return in the future.
Thank You,
Queensbury Hotel Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

The Queensbury Hotel is located in the heart of Glens Falls and has a lot of promise, but it is in bas need of physical work and a staffing overhaul.

The young staff has an indifferent attitude to their guests. On three occasions I had to initiate comversation to get their attention when I was standing at the front desk. I also complained about a cool/luke-warm shower but got no relief many hours later.

As for the building itself, it needs to make some major repairs.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QBHMGR, Front Office Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We are sorry that this individual was not satisfied with this portion of their stay. Unfortunately, sometimes in a building with such a unique structure as ours, the hot water does take time to warm up. We have been working dilligently with our new staff members to better train them on providing the highest of guest standards.
Thank You,
Queensbury Hotel Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Don't get me wrong, this wasn't a bad stay but we expected a bit more than was delivered. Our room was spacious but had a musty smell and wasn't as clean as it could have been. The wifi signal was very weak so we were unable to use this during our stay. The pool is big and clean and that was a plus.
The staff were capable but not very attentive/helpful and seemed overwhelmed most of the time. We arrived at 2pm and was told that we could not check in until 3pm and the excuse was that "they are cleaning the rooms and none will be ready until 3pm". Unless they have 125 maids, this seems unlikely (I called the day before and was told that the occupancy was low enough that an early check-in was likely). The agent was clearly told to inform anyone that 3pm was check-in time and she didn't ask a manager, call housekeeping or even look like she cared. We drove a long way that day and were very tired and just wanted a room.
When we came back at 3:30PM, the check-in was slow and confusing. The room we were reserved for didn't exist. The desk clerk told us it was a "practical joke I guess" and found us another room after 10 minutes of shuffling.
Another time, myself and 2 other guests waited at the front desk while the lone agent dealt with a caller that was clearly just shopping for rates for a future stay. The agent never acknowledged us and after 10 minutes, all three us us left the desk frustrated.
Yet, another time, we took a wrong turn looking for the stairs and were yelled at by a woman in the administration offices telling us where they were with a scowl on her face (maybe she has to do this a lot during her day).
Clearly the staff need some basic customer service training.
The overall feeling was this is a small-town, family run hotel in which the family needs some help.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QBHMGR, Front Office Manager at Queensbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you, we appreciate the feedback. We utilize all feedback to improve ourselves and our staff. Due to the unique structure of our building, sometimes our wifi does not always have a strong signal throughout the whole building. We do however have hot-spots throughout the hotel that are marked and have comfortable chairs and tables for our guests to sit at while they work. We have housekeeping inspectors that inspect our rooms daily to ensure that they are at their best before we make them available to our guests however, there are times when an air conditioner may be running for long periods of time and if it is shut off, it can leave a slight musty odor. Our check-in time begins at 3pm. Our housekeeping staff works diligently throughout the day to try and make rooms available to our guests as quickly as possible. We are currently working on instituting a new program where we contact our guests by cell phone if they arrive prior to check-in time. This will enable the guests to go out into the surrounding city and enjoy themselves until their room becomes available. We are sorry that this guest felt that the staff member they encountered was not what they expected for guest service standards. Our staff is here to be courteous and are to help our guests. We appreciate all of the constructive criticism provided to us. We thank you for taking the time to address these concerns. If they are mentioned to us as soon as the arise during the guests stay, our staff is committed to giving attention to them right away. We take all of our comments to heart and will look to improve upon any concerns brought to our attention. Thank You, Queensbury Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Reading, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at the Queensbury Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was conveniently located downtown with a lot of parking and within a few steps to a variety of restaurants. The hotel was quaint and elegant. Our room was very large with high ceilings and a true king-sized bed. The room was very clean. We ate only one meal at Queensbury, which was breakfast which was excellent. As with any old hotel, the water pressure in the shower was a little lacking, but it was no big deal. The hotel was only minutes from attractions in Saratoga.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queensbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensbury Hotel

Address: 88 Ridge Street, Glens Falls, NY 12801
Location: United States > New York > Glens Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Glens Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Glens Falls, only minutes to Saratoga Springs, Lake George and the Adirondack Mountains. Considered a destination on its own, the landmark Queensbury Hotel has often been regarded as the town's centerpiece. Come experience our grand lobby and enjoy fabulous amenities such as our heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, restaurant and lounge. Dine in Garden on the Park or Fenimore's Lounge or stay in for the night and order room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Queensbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensbury Hotel Glens Falls
Queensbury Glens Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queensbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.