We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're hungry for good food and a good time, then Carl R's is your place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carl R's Cafe Restaurant & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carl R's Cafe Restaurant & Bar
Main St & Ih 87, Glens Falls, NY 12804
(518) 793-7676
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 66 Restaurants in Glens Falls
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“If you're hungry for good food and a good time, then Carl R's is your place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stop every time we can when in the Glens Falls area. While other reviewers have a right to their opinion, so do WE! Our most recent stop on July 9, 2011, was like most all others - just good food and a good time. We even got to watch Derek Jeter get his 3K hit on their big screen behind the bar. Their menu is an eclectic mix of Tex Mex and other flavors, but they do a good job and provide a great value. We'll keep stopping, maybe see you there!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glens falls
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Food was bland and tasteless. Not mexican food at all. I had to choke it down with lots of water. I do remembering liking Carl Rs 10 years ago. Perhaps they have a new chef, whatever it is I wont ever eat here aging. The people who reviewed this is good food were either starving to death or arent used to eating food that taste good.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wish I had a CARL Rs near my house!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Better than most thruway restaurants. GREAT CHICKEN WINGS! The best I have ever had. I wish there was a CARL R's near my house. We thought the food was good, service was decent, no complaints.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Decent food, not the best in the world, but good none the less. Great nachos, awesome fried ice cream and bananas foster. Best margarita's in town.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible food and service - better off eating at a gas station”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

They claim to be a Mexican restaurant, but Mexican TV dinners are better. Been there twice (not by choice the second time) and the second time a waitress spilled my beer on me - maybe a third of a bottle - I asked for another bottle and was BILLED for BOTH. Stay away from here. I will say that this place is still better than Jake's Roundup just across the bridge into South Glens Falls though. I'd give that dump minus 1 star. If you want REAL Mexican food, go to El Mexicano in Hudson Falls, or Raul's in GF for a decent second choice.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carl R's Cafe Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Carl R's Cafe Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carl R's Cafe Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.