We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Specials” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 132 Glen Bistro

132 Glen Bistro
132 Glen St, Glens Falls, NY 12801-4432
518-743-9138
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Glens Falls
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Try the Specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We've eaten here several times and enjoyed the specials. We have also had some disappointing meals. Outdoor dining is fun but real noisey.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is my new favorite dining spot in Glens Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I tried this establishment recently and it has become my favorite dining spot whenever we visit Glens Falls. The service was excellent, the food was creative and outstanding and the location was very convienent. Even though au poivre is not on the menu, the chef was able to accommodate my request and served me a delicious steak au poivre.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I've been eating here regularly while on business. The cafe has a homey ambience, the food is terrifc and the prices won't break the bank. I particularly enjoy the roast turkey, prime rib and roast pork but all their dishes are really good served homestyle, low on salt. I've met Kevin, the owner and chef and since I've been a regular he's made sure to connect with me and really treat me like one of the family. His wife, Patty makes the desserts and they will satisfy your sweet tooth. The wait staff are all very nice and even greet me by name. I will miss this cute little bistro so if you're here you should definitely try this place out. It won't disappoint!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Very delicious meal, excellent service.
Their crab cakes consist of large pieces of crab, not a puree of crab meat like I have gotten in restaurants near the ocean. The dinner started with crisp salad and warm delicious bread. Then your entree which in my case was the crab cakes, my friend had the prime rib and we both choose mashed potatoes and the vegetable medley. Both side dishes were delicious.
My friend's Prime Rib was the best she ever had. We also ordered one glass of wine each the price being very reasonable and enjoyed the selection immensely. The cost of the dinner is what you would expect from a French Bistro with the quality of food you get there. The meal was just the right amount, we left feeling very satisfied but not stuffed..

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Why did we wait so long??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I visited on a Wednesday for dinner. The dining area is small, and the kitchen is visible to most tables. We were seated promptly and the service through our visit was pleasant. I ordered a pork chop with an apple, onion stew and pumpkin butternut soup My husband ordered blackened bluefish and onion gratin soup. We were both extremely happy with our dinners. The portions were generous and the flavors were delicious. Each dinner came with some of the best mashed potatoes we've had and a vegetable saute. My husband especially liked the onion soup; it was similar to french onlon, but with less cheese so it wasn't so heavy. The only criticism I have is my pork chop was cold in the middle. It seems they roast the pork whole, then cut it into chops when ordered. I didn't mention it to the server, because it was such a big chop that I was pretty much done with it anyway and asked to bring the rest home. We also ordered a slice of chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting to share. Very moist and delicious. They serve local brews on tap which is always a plus and even the coffee was excellent! The prices were very reasonable, especially when you go on Wed or Thursday as many entrees are only $12 and include soup or salad. I would HUGELY recommend this restaurant. On a side note, we noticed the chef/owner come out a couple of times to make sure entrees were cooked to order. It's very apparent that he cares about his food and his customers.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 132 Glen Bistro also viewed

 
Glens Falls, NY
 

Been to 132 Glen Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 132 Glen Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.