We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the O'Keefe exhibit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hyde Collection Art Museum and Historic Home

The Hyde Collection Art Museum and Historic Home
161 Warren Street, Glens Falls, NY 12801
518-792-1761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Glens Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss the O'Keefe exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went to see Georgia O'Keefe exhibit. It was very, very good. It focused on time spent in Upstate NY. I prefer her New Mexico work, but the exhibit gave me insights into her life and art. And there were some paintings that I liked a lot. Also toured the house. Mrs. Hyde had good taste in art. It's a worthwhile visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    14
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always a nice place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This small museum, currently exhibiting an excellent Georgia O'Keefe special exhibit in the new wing, is a treasure. Be sure you visit the old house (original museum) and the art casually exhibited on the walls of its rooms! Don't skip a single room, on the two floors and look for Picasso, Rubens, Rembrandt, Renoir, and a Da Vinci sketch (not currently exhibited for some reason). We go here at least once a year, and it never gets old.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Seeing Lake George through O'Keeffe's eyes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I took an overnight trip to the Lake George area in order to visit the Hyde Collection's Georgia O'Keeffe exhibit. We unwittingly arrived on the only day it was free to the public, hence the large crowds. The museum staff efficiently but graciously handled the flow so that we had quality time in front of each work. The show is first-rate. It's fascinating to see O'Keeffe's Lake George-related work and to realize that but for a twist of fate this and not the New Mexico desert might have been the iconography we most closely associate with her. Her ability to abstract nature and naturalize abstraction is a great strength.

After a lunch break, we returned to see the permanent collection, an unspectacular and unfocused assortment of "name" works that functions best on a gestalt basis with the lovely decor of each gem-like room in Hyde House. The experience was a bit like the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston, without the grandeur of the house and the quality of the collection, but with the harmony between domestic space and art. My only real caveat is that the unsightly and foul-smelling processing plant (paper mill?) behind the house undermines its claim to full destination status.

As a postscript, we then spent the night and following morning at Lake George, seeing the mountains, moon and sky through O'Keeffe's eyes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Miss seein the museum but not the home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Museum itself is small, so I would consider that the "bonus" for a visiting to the historic home which puts you in mind of an American Downton Abby .. was this the Earl of Hyde?

The good; The house is spectacular as are the grounds, with a pretty robust collection of art that should stand up against anything featured in the museum. There is a Renoir (not a favorite, but hey! they all can't be "The boating party" or :) ), a Seurat, an El Greco and a Picasso. All are made finer by the setting they are displayed in. Be sure to notice the hand painted "wall paper" in the reception room.

The Bad: The parking isn't marked clearly, there is a lot to the left of the building complex that sneaks up on you. Park there and get a chance to look at the incredible stone work on the terraces. The other bad is the size of the museum. We picked a rainy day and the Georgia O'Keeffe exhibit was like a cocktail party - Find a place to stand where you can get enough elbow room to drink - unfortunately, no cocktails.

The indifferent: The location which overlooks a working paper mill .. even if you didn't see it (and you can't help it, it is the backdrop for the beautiful garden .. you can smell it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic home and museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We first toured the Hyde house, which is beautiful and in pristine condition. Also watched a video of their lives and how they amassed their tremendous art collection. Then we toured the Georgia O'Keeffe exhibit, which was fantastic. They also showed a video of her life. Their was also a room of photographs by Alfred Stieglitz, Georgia's significant other and then, husband. Very lovely day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hyde Collection Art Museum and Historic Home also viewed

 

Been to The Hyde Collection Art Museum and Historic Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hyde Collection Art Museum and Historic Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.