We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW was my first impression” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hyde Collection Art Museum and Historic Home

The Hyde Collection Art Museum and Historic Home
161 Warren Street, Glens Falls, NY 12801
518-792-1761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Glens Falls
Type: Art Galleries, Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Warrensburg, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“WOW was my first impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We went to the Hyde to see the new exhibit by artist Stephen Knapp called NEW LIGHT - there until September 16th. We walked in the room and in unison, we both said WOW. It is amazing the way a "simple" piece of glass can throw such color. If you are in the area, you must at least drive by at night (dark) to see one of the pieces. There is also a display of Tiffany lampshades that is beautiful. And of course, the house section with an amazing collection of furniture, art and more. Hyde: hydecollection.org

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    13
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love that GlensFalls supports the arts and they do it in a fine way! I look forward to another visit. Make sure you walk the gardens.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield MA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delightful small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is an unknown treasure. I've been visiting for so many years, that it just dawned on me to review it -- although maybe I was trying to keep it a secret!

This is a delightful small art museum - but don't be fooled by the word small. You'll see a Rembrandt, a Botecelli, a Hassam and more - all set within a home built in the era of the Isabella Steward Gardner museum in Boston. The local area is full of history and places to bike and hike and eat as well.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“not worth it, even on a rainy day . . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I like to check out the museums in the cities that I visit, but this is indeed more collection than museum. The main gallery was closed for installation of a show, so that only left the house. There are a few nice pieces, but I got the feeling she usually bought lesser pieces by big names - one of each. If you like touring houses then it might be your thing.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a great art collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

It always amazes me the quality and quantity of Art works that is displayed at the Hyde. Also some very nice shows brought in.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hyde Collection Art Museum and Historic Home also viewed

 

Been to The Hyde Collection Art Museum and Historic Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hyde Collection Art Museum and Historic Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.