We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal...check out the not so freshly ground pepper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Tallulah

Bistro Tallulah
26 Ridge St, Glens Falls, NY 12801-3619
518-793-2004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Glens Falls
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Lake George, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb meal...check out the not so freshly ground pepper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. Be sure to make reservations. The place is small and always packed to the gills.
The chef/owner is a genius when combining flavors. Most every dish is offered as a small plate and a full plate size. The small plate is a hefty size and provides an opportunity to try different dishes. There are always 3-4 specials that are stellar.
All 4 of us had the Speck salad. 2 paper thin slices of Speck topped with arugula, goat cheese, peppadews and pine nuts. Wonderful. BUT....then I asked for the pepper mill.....in an effort to find out why it wasn't grinding very well, I opened it to see if it was empty. What did I find?????
GROUND PEPPER IN THE PEPPER MILL!!!!!!!
There wasn't a peppercorn to be found in the restaurant. When asked if this was a one time slip up, I was told that she has been filling the pepper mills with ground pepper for "some time". Come on guys...get real. I'm docking you 1 star for this faux pas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    30
    4
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Favorite in Glens Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been going to Tallulahs since Sean opened the restaurant. We love the small plate option....it allows you to enjoy an appetizer, entree and dessert....all worth trying! His gumbo is wonderful! I've never been served anything that I was disappointed with. He usually has several specials so even though his menu may not change as often as some would like, there are always new things to try. I love the energy in the place. I would suggest making reservations. He seems to be able to fill the tables every night, so we are obviously not the only ones who think its as wonderful as it is!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unexpectingly great gourmet food in small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was another great find for my foodie friends adn me after being in the area for nine summers. It's a small restuarant, so you definitely need reservations. It is always full-hustling and bustling with tourists and locals. Downtown Glens falls is a sleepy town and there's not much going on besides many small restaurants, coffee shops and minor stores. This one stands out. There are few restaurants that have a menu which offers so many intersting combunations of different foods which I like. It actually made me return sooner than later because I was so curious to try other items on the menu. Their specials are always good. The duck was delicious..as were their sinfully good fries.
I'll definitley be back again whenever I'm in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LG, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Haven't been for several months. Bachelor this week along with best friend. Always ordered the duck confit salad since it opened. Special salad tonight changed my mind. Occasionally some staff seem "full of themselves " but the owner/chef knows what food is all about. How many restaurant could be successful with the same menu for six years.

PS. Always great specials

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadalbin, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never a Disappointment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The Bistro Tallulah has quickly become my favorite restaurant! From the atmosphere to to the food, by far my first choice for dining. Yum!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Tallulah also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Tallulah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Tallulah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.