We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Safari Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mana Pools National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp
Save
You added Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp to your Saves list
Mana Pools National Park, Mana Pools National Park, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb Safari Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

As honeymooners, Rukomechi was aiming to be at the more luxurious end of our safari experience and it certainly delivered.

As a wilderness camp it was clearly very comfortable with good food, but what really sold it to us was the additional service that was provided to make this an intimate and exciting experience.

We were given a table for the two of us overlooking the Zambezi, had a gin and tonic whilst watching the sunset, whilst sitting in the Zambezi and as our tent was at the end of the camp it meant we had an outdoor bath. Listening to lions mating nearby whilst having a bath in the wild is something I won't forget in a long time.

I would say we're not overly experience 'safariers' but have travelled a bit in Kenya and Tanzania and the wildlife here was better for me. By the end of the first day we had seen wild dogs and lions and with a leopard on the second day I was incredible happy.

We were well looked after by our guide Kevin who had a seriously impressive knowledge of the wildlife and a good sense of humour.

Thanks Ruckomechi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Of 4 camps we visited this was far and away the best. The animal viewing was absolutely extraordinary. I still cannot believe the numbers of animals. The quality of the accomodation was top notch and the staff were all extremely friendly and there to help us with any and every need. Everything was spotlessly clean. Our guide, Champ was easily the most knowledgable over the other three camps and absolutely made sure that we saw something spectacular everyday. The food was very good, just a step short of gourmet, again better than any other camp. This was a truly outstanding experience and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were close to main bldg and found it excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes, France
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

During our stay at Ruckomechi Camp at Mana Pools are guide Darmish was very educational and took us out tracking in addition to just traditional game viewing and we found wildlife based on what he taught us about tracking. We love Ruckomechi camp because the elephants are in camp all of the time, they come right up to your tent and so there are photo ops all of the time in camp. Because the camp sits along the Zambezi River, you see lots of Hippo in and out of the water, waterbuck, impala. Baboons and vervet monkeys are everywhere in and around camp also. At this camp you can also do water activities and walking safaris. I recommend doing a morning walking safari, the landscape is colorful and absolutely amazing and the game viewing was good. Meals, tea and sundowners were always fabulous. The one important thing to know about this camp is that I did not think there was a lot of animal variety, but what they had was is good numbers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARARE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Mana Pools is a particular family favourite. We stayed at the previous thatched camp regularly over the period 1996-2000.The new location and the new tented camp is based on the same principle, although less rustic and more formal. As a location, Mana Pools and the Zambezi River is unique.
We saw cheetah,wild dog,elephant,lion,hyena and honey badgers.We walked,went on game drives and fished - all very enjoyable and interesting.The camp is mainly solar powered and you really do have a completely relaxed and uninterrupted time- no laptops and no phones, although you can keep in touch with your office,etc via the camp office. All in all a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Situated on the banks of the Zambezi at the top end of Mana pools, the camp has a superb location. The camp is a Wilderness Safaris camp run by Carl and Juju who have a very relaxed atmosphere with attention to service. We we really spoilt with sundowners on one of the sandy islands in the middle of the river just off the front of the camp on one of the evenings. The food was very good.
The tented rooms are luxurious, yet allow you to get the sensation that you are sleeping out in the bush, with hippo and elephant walking through the camp at night. Other than game drives, walks and catch and release fishing are offered. We did a 5km walk with Henry which was very good and despite our attempts failed to catch the renown Tiger, which tend to enjoy the summer months more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Ruckomechi is a typcal Wilderness Safari camp. Everything is predictably calm and relaxed. The overall atmosphere of the camp is nice and the service is good. The food does leave something to be desired though.

Overall, the game viewing was limited. In my estimation, there is a hunting concession quite near to the park which in turn tends to thin out the larger herds one might be accustomed to in say Botswana or Zambia.

The rooms are nice and comfortable. However, there are no charging facilties in the room; which in turn prohbits the use a hair dryer. You can recharge your batteries in the lounge.

The staff is very nice and courteous, however inconsistent on small things such as the proper service of meals.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and provide good views of the Zambezi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for the valued feedback, we do take both positive and negative feedback very seriously. In order for us to enhance our food and service delivery to our guests at Ruckomechi, we have recently embarked on a revolutionary media based training program called Lobster Ink, training our staff on all aspects in hospitality. We have also recruited a food experience manager who will be overseeing the delights in which food has to offer whilst experiencing true wilderness areas.

Ruckomechi Camp, being located on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, offers a diversity that is second to none in the Mana Pools National Park. Guests have enjoyed a number of very special and exciting sightings, such as herds of Cape buffalo working their way down the river to drink, elephants, impala, waterbuck, eland, zebra as well as bushbuck, even warthog can be viewed. The area also boasts healthy numbers of both mature and immature Kudu bulls. The more revered sightings such as leopard and lion, specifically the Ruckomechi Pride, have been spotted intermittently in the area much to the delight of guests.

The electricity supply in camp is solar generated, which means that the camp is not able to supply 220 volts, to sustain hairdryer usage.

Thank you once again for your comments, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

- On our arrival! They didn't come in! All the staff were friendly - especially Kevin - what a wonderful dedicated guide. We did see lions "on the job" which was a great honour! and saw a lot of game - especially on the night drives.
Food was lovely - but the whole place was a bit too regimented for me - not really even "pretend camping" - rather like a luxury Hotel anywhere in the world, but with hippos and elephants patrolling outside the tent every night!
If it is your first visit to Zim - a very good place to start, you can do 3 game drives per day!! as well as lots of other alternatives and see elephants get into the tide and swim with only their trunks showing above the water, plus you are looked after in comparitive luxury.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp

Address: Mana Pools National Park, Mana Pools National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland Central Province > Mana Pools National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mana Pools National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the dominating Zambezi River brimming with hippo, the biodiversity surrounding Ruckomechi Camp is a naturalist's paradise. A large grove of acacia and mahogany trees with a fabulous mountainous backdrop across in Zambia sets the scene, while large numbers of elephant, buffalo and eland create the excitement. With these stunning views also evident from your spacious en-suite tent, you will be smitten with the secluded outdoor 'bath-with-a-view'. Low-level walkways connect the 10 guest tents to the beautifully designed central dining, bar, library and lounge areas. For your comfort we also have a separate deck with an infinity pool for swimming and sunbathing, and an inviting, cushion-strewn star-gazing deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruckomechi Camp Hotel Mana Pools National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.