We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goliath Safaris Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mana Pools National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goliath Safaris Tented Camp
Save
You added Goliath Safaris Tented Camp to your Saves list
Mana Pools National Park, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stretch and Flo together with the staff make a great team and offer a well rounded experience in such a remote place.

Staying in May it was early for all the animals to be showing their presence. Nevertheless we worked hard and saw and experienced the wild like not before.

The Camp is so well situated and the right thing is to enjoy sundowners in Camp where the ever attentive staff make sure that comfort is top of the list. The rooms are comfortable but I would imagine the noise from outside in the middle of the night could trouble those that are skittish!

Food prepared in such an environment astounded us as did the drinks which were always cold even though electricity does not exist! We even had a bush lunch on the river bank! It was not a picnic but a feast and included a birthday cake and Stretch leading the Happy birthday chorus ( it was 51 weeks late or 1 week early!) so was a surprise for us all!! These surprises changed their shape but continued their course as no others were planned!

We made the mistake of telling Stretch we wanted to walk - being early in the season and still quite cool Stretch had strong legs and lots of energy which we did not after that much walking and adrenalin! Tracking lion and anything else that moved we were always able to stop and bird and enjoyed that experience all round. Walking in the bush with no distractions is great for the soul! What is needed by us is a decent camera as so many visuals cannot be stored in a human brain!

Walking up close to lion on foot on several occasions stretched our confidence in the wild but we were always alert to Stretch's safety requirements and strict procedures! The experience with a young testosterone filled Ele bull was also exciting and he almost followed Stretch's instruction on how to react!

All in all great and well worth doing again!

Room Tip: Better views of the river away from the main lodge area- but more active around you at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
10
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newbury
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I were confident, calm and relaxed, well almost. I am not sure about our guides but they followed the advice from the tree, which was pinned on the wall of the bar, and 'stood tall and proud and went out on a limb' - taking us both along more happily that we could ever have imagined!
Our three days at Goliath were great, we loved it. We've been on many safaris. We've even been on one walking safari in Botswana, but never have we done anything like this. On day one we got very, very close on foot to wild dogs, after a long, exhausting and skilled tracking effort by Stretch. Boy was it worth it. It was fantastic. On day two we got very close on foot to lions, a whole pride of them, and for good measure 200 buffalo! On day three we got very close on foot to two lions and various elephants, one of whom was admonished for conducting itself in a manner unbecoming, amazing. I am pleased to say it calmed down.
Our thanks go to Stretch, Steve Barry and Reuben, all were excellent for taking us where we had never gone before. Thank you guys. We will never forget it.
Goliath is a comfortable, intimate and friendly camp. A wonderful place in a great setting at the heart of Mana Pools and right by the banks of the wide and beautiful Zambezi, crocs, hippos, sunsets and all. You live a little here. They looked after us royally, in and out of the Land Rover, and in the camp too, where Sarah and her wonderful team did a great job with good food and kind service.
We shall return and you must go too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is our fourth visit, and being African born and bred, this speaks for itself. Every year there are little enhancements in comfort and cuisine, so each trip becomes more of a treat. Stretch Ferreira is still a living legend and expertly tracks his lions, his dogs and his beloved eles, offering clients 'moments' up close with each and all. This year team members excelled in landing two giant vundu - both between 30 and 40 kgs, thanks to the skill of resident expert Siraaj. But it's unfair to single out any one person for praise as the Stretch experience is a team effort, whether its having the G & Ts ready for the sundowner, the picnic in a magical spot for lunch, the laundry folded and clean on the same day, or the canoeing expertise that is so necessary in a river full of crocs and hippo. We always fly down with Executive Air who bend over to fit into your needs and schedules. Counting the days to the next visit!

Room Tip: If you are scared of night noises take a tent nearer the centre of the camp! The eles crunching outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our 4th trip back to Goliath Safari's and our best yet. Close encounters with Elephant, lion, buffalo and my favourite - the wild dogs - we saw 7 pups this year. The Goliath experience can not be faulted - Stretch is an amazing guide with the most infections laugh and Flo and the rest of the team will make sure that you have a truly unforgettable experience. Mana is a magic place and Goliath make sure that you experience many magical and unforgettable moments.

Room Tip: They are all good - if you are new to safari ask for one closer to the main camp / entertainment are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was my fifth safari but I've never seen anything which could equal Stretch's ability to talk to the elephants. He got myself and 7 other guests to pose in front of a big bull elephant. I can only describe it as awe inspiring.
I also saw plenty of other elephants, lions, hyenas, eland, greater kudu, hippos, baboons,
and impala. It was incredible looking into the eyes of the camp's resident elephant. The birding was also superb. Stretch tracked a pack of wild dogs, but we only heard them bark. Nevertheless
it was interesting to see how the den and how one dog always acts as a sentinel for the rest of the pack.
Stretch is a very kind man with a great and self deprecating sense of humor. Yes I would agree that staying at Goliath Camp is one of the best wildlife experiences one can have in Africa.
Stretch's partner Flo and the rest of the staff also do a superb job. The dinners, desserts, and snacks were all excellent. I especially enjoyed the barbeque.
This is not a camp for those seeking luxury. However, the beds are comfortable and their is always hot water available. The location on the banks of the Zambezi is superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Goliath Safari Camp on the banks on the Zambezi is unbeatable.
There is a perfect blend between the ultimate bush experience and comfort.
No fancy air conditioners , and no cell phone signal .
The food is simple but tasty and the staff are excellent.
The star attraction is walking with a legend, one in a million, Stretch.
Take a good pair of walking shoes.
You will experience Elephants like never before.
If you are wanting to visit Mana, look no further.
It will change your life.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was recommended to Goliath Safaris at Mana Pools (an area I had never visited before) as a 'Game experience' with a difference, but I had no idea just how different this would be. From my initial contact with Flo who went out of her way to ensure that Goliath opened slightly earlier this season to accommodate our travelling needs, to the few days we had there - it was all just the most superb experience. The camp, right on the banks of the Zambezi offers 5 star quality and service. Stretch's passion, knowledge and humble demeanour made this a journey to remember - the long walks through the bush, the wild dogs only metres away, the elephants who open their ears and hearts to his gentle conversations, canoeing the Zambezi mindful that this is the territory of huge families of hippo, not to mention the wonderful birding - Lillian's Lovebird, the rufous bellied heron and a rare sighting of an African Harrier Hawk digging 2 days in a row in a dried up inlet. The lions were elusive this trip - but more than enough reason to return one day and for longer next time. A week's sojourn would do this wonderful area justice and would do wonders for your spirit too! We did this trip by road - which is long, dusty and corrugated - but well worth the bone rattling couple of hours. Check out their website - it is all you see there but just better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goliath Safaris Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goliath Safaris Tented Camp

Address: Mana Pools National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland Central Province > Mana Pools National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mana Pools National Park
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goliath Safaris Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.