We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge
Save
You added Bumi Hills Safari Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Bumi Hills, Kariba, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
perth, western australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

For my first week in Zimbabwe, we travelled to Bumi Hills and stayed at the Bumi Hills Safari Lodge.

Everything was absolutely amazing, the staff were always happy to oblige. The views from the lodge itself were stunning!!

The rooms were brilliant, clean, comfortable! The food and service also impeccable, couldn't fault anything at all!!

An amazing trip made all the better by the safari lodge!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Bumi Hills..I stayed with a girlfriend and we had a super time. The management team are so nice ,professional and really human. The staff are all very friendly with good sense of humour. The food was beautifully presented and cooked. The rooms were spacious and luxuary. I cannot find a fault with this place, the surroundings are so relaxing. The game isplentiful, if you are a fisherman the lake is ideal and with 200 species of bird( feathered ) good for twittchers. I didnt want to leave and already saving up to go back again. The team of Luke..Suzanne..Nick..Nina put us at ease with reagrd to the political situation and I wish more people would take the journey to the magical place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

We recently stayed at Bumi for 3 nights and every single minute of it was wonderful. This really is a magical place in a stunning setting. The staff, food, activities just amazing, not forgetting the beautiful setting of the spa - you must have a treatment here. The rooms were super and the bed ultra comfortable (the best of our holiday by far). We can't really say a bad word about this place and would return in a heartbeat. Spotting 4 lions on our river cruise on the last day was the icing on the cake and we felt so lucky to have seen them.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

What a pleasure it was checking into this very special lodge. We were offered a complimentary upgrade to a premium suite which had every luxury you would expect fom a city hotel. The view from the beautiful 4 poster bed could not be beaten, gazing into the bush with various wildlife passing by. Elephants almost close enough to touch!
Whilst there we went on game drives, fishing, and the pinnacle was the sun set drinks organised around the woodfire down on the lake shore, what a treat!
Unfortunatly we could not make it to the spa this but will definatly treat ourselves on our next visit.
The food was delicious, the staff were brilliant, friendly and could never do enough for you. We cant wait to return for our up coming wedding there! Thank you

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bumi Hills Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

Address: Bumi Hills, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bumi Hills Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi - just a one-hour dramatic and scenic direct flight away from Victoria Falls - is a famous safari lodge that in recent years has been constantly upgraded to international five-star standards and yet retains its utter beauty and charm that, at its heartbeat, has the most sublime and astonishing 180-degree vista that has no peer in all of southern Africa. Perched on top of a small range of hills Bumi offers guests this panoramic delight, overlooking the massive lake, islands and game-rich shoreline, from the premium rooms, the dining deck, the bar, the fire-pit , the Africology Spa and from the glorious signature pool. Bumi offers 24 rooms - 14 Lake View premium rooms set a little in front of 10 standard rooms, all en-suite and fully equipped with modern amenities. Our local Tongan staff are renowned for their friendliness and delightful service ethic. Gourmet food is created to the highest standard by our dedicated team, headed by our highly interactive executive chef. Our activities are spearheaded by an experienced Zimbabwe professional guide, licensed to walk in the wilds with guests.. Fishing, 4 x 4 game drives, boat safaris, walks and visits to a traditional Tonga village are the most popular activities. Our exclusive wildlife area is home to Lion, Leopard, Elephant, Buffalo, Zebra, Hippo, Crocodiles, Kudu, Waterbuck and much more! More than 400 species of birds have been recorded. Visit villages where the Tonga people have maintained their age old customs and get a truly unique cultural experience. Discover how Bumi Hills work with the communities in the area and how the lodge protects its wildlife area with a committed anti-poaching unit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bumi Hills Safari Hotel Kariba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.