We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just plain excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Bumi Hills, Kariba, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“just plain excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A well run operation.Staff delightful and courteous.The lake is magnificent especially at night with all the fishing boats and there lights.Spend the extra money and get luxury lake view room.It is worth it. We drove to Bumi from Harare which was a 10 hour tough 4 wheel drive.I would suggest being picked up by boat at kariba.

Room Tip: room with lake view.worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicholasMilne, Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review and we are very glad you enjoyed your time at the lodge! Having done the drive into the lodge a number of times I know how tough it is and am very glad you made it back safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I grew up in Southern Africa and together my British husband and I have been to dozens of bush lodges in several African countries.Without doubt, we have never encountered friendlier and more accommodating staff than those we had the pleasure of meeting at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge. At the same time their service was professional and faultless. During our 5 day visit we were taken fishing and on several game drives and boat cruises by Madison whose
knowledge of the flora, the animals, and in particular the abundant birdlife around Bumi left us astounded. His passion, expertise and determination in seeking out the animals we particularly wanted to see ensured that every trip into the bush or onto the lake was an exciting adventure. We were not surprised to hear another guest refer to him as "Madison the legend! The lodge is situated in a wonderfully peaceful position overlooking the lake and the rooms are tastefully furnished and have balconies that offer fantastic views of the lake and bush. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicholasMilne, Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on Bumi Hills. We are very glad you enjoyed your time at the lodge and we have to agree with you that Madison is certainly a real gem of a guide! Thanks again and we hope to host you again at Bumi in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've lived in 5 countries in eastern and southern Africa and been on safari in another five countries in the region. I decided on my return from Bumi Hills Safari Lodge today that this place is equal to any of my previous favorite safari destinations. We flew from Harare (with Chris as pilot) and so got a wonderful overview of the approach to Lake Kariba. All the rooms overlook the lake and are very comfortable and pleasant. We did two walking safaris, a game drive and sunset boat safari during our two night stay, plus spent a morning relaxing down at a tree-canopy-level hide by the lake shore. The infinity pool is beautiful and crystal clear. The food is healthy, varied and delicious. The furnishings, design and landscaping are all very pleasing. The view over the lake is superb. The staff are wonderful and all seem happy to be working there. I enjoyed the quiet time between outings for relaxing and sketching.I highly recommend Bumi Hills Safari Lodge.

Doreen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Marketing Director at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you Doreen for your exuberant review and delightful endorsement of Bumi that does us proud. It's amazing how many guests rate Bumi as their favourite lodge of all time...anywhere. I know it's the major WOW factor of that glorious vista, but it's also the people, the vastness of the lake, the culture, the history...and the idyllic relaxation. Glen Byrom. Marketing Director.. glen@bumihills.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Bumi Hills Safari Resort in Zimbabwe ought to be on every tourist's "Must Visit" list. The staff are awesome and the location is stunning. Only a two-hour boat ride from Kariba (or a much shorter plane ride if you prefer) this resort is the perfect escape on Lake Kariba. The Bream fishing was a thrill, the safari rides took us to perfect sunrises and sunsets along with lions, zebras, impalas, crocs, baboons, and much more. Our favorite bird was their "live-in" hornbill Bill. The lodge has been renovated recently and the rooms are romantic, the pool perfect,and the masseuse beyond great! Absolute luxury in every way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Marketing Director at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello to you in California. Thank you for the outstanding endorsement you have placed on Trip Advisor, Such enthusiastic comments from seasoned international guests do us a power of good. I don't think I've ever been with anyone who first walks out onto the pool deck and can contain themselves from spluttering WOW!!!

Many destinations use the tired cliche of the "undiscovered secret." But Lake Kariba truly is a unique gem that truly transcends the ordinary. And Bumi Hills is the sparkling diamond! We're proud of it and happy you will spread the good word. Glen Byrom. Marketing Director. glenbyrom@yoafrica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareeba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked for a family group of 8 - for a week in February which is usually considered off-peak season. We were delighted to be upgraded to the premium rooms which are absolute luxury: tastefully furnished, well appointed, a comfortable king size bed under huge moquito nets and nice touches like freshly ground coffee for the in-room caffetiere and home baked biscuits to have with your morning cuppa!
The weather was warm but not oppressive and the staff went to great lengths to cater for all our needs. Meals served on the deck overlooking the lake shore were relaxed and delicious ; game guides were so friendly and interesting; tiger -fishing was exceptional; the spa was great for those of us wanting a little pampering out of the sun! Although the bush was quite thick following the rains, our guides, Willem and Madison, managed to find plenty of smaller things for us to see and we enjoyed close encounters with elephant and lion. It was very peaceful too, most days we had the lovely swimming pool to ourselves and we enjoyed the company of staff around the bar in the evenings. Definitely going back again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Marketing Director at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you Marion for posting such a wonderful, heartfelt review on your experience at Bumi Hills.I can see that you come from a small town in Queensland, not from the rush and lights of a big city. Therefore the tranquility of the bush would have suited you.

Mareeba, your town, means "meeting of the waters" in Aboriginal. Bumi (Boo-Mee) translates to "Meaning of Life" in the local Tonga tribe tradition. I'm delighted life was so good for you and your family at Bumi. Glen Byrom. Marketing Director. glenbyrom@yoafrica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

An unforgettable break. We saw lions everyday, including a mom with 3 newborn cubs.
My 3 year old son caught his first fish, and I had great morning catching tiger fish
Our guide Madison was superb and very knowledgeable.
Pool area was a great respite from the midday heat.
Room was comfortable, spacious and had magnificent views of the Lake.
Excellent....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Marketing Director at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello Marcus. Apologies for this late response, but thank you for your generous review of your stay at Bumi. It smacks of great excitement and enjoyment, especially your son's first fish. Send us a photo and let's put it on the Bumi Facebook page for 8,000 followers to see what a champion he is! Glen Byrom. Marketing Director. glenbyrom@yoafrica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bumi Hills, Lake Kariba! Their Spa is excellent. The beers icy cold! Elephants most obliging for photo shoots!! In fact, all the animals were - even the resident Jack Russell!! Staff friendly, obliging, efficient. The New Years Party FANTASTIC - from Cocktails on the beach at Sunset to dancing in the heavily pouring rain at 01h30!! Caught tiger from 10 pounds up to 16 pounds!! Reserve a front room on stilts directly overlooking Lake Kariba - views are AWESOME!!

Room Tip: Choose a front room on stilts overlooking Lake Kariba!! We often say the room is not that important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumiHills S, Public Relations Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hello Vivienne. Our apologies for only responding now to your very generous and enthusiastic review, but somehow it just slipped the system! However, "better late than...." Indeed, for those planning a sensational New Year then Bumi is THE place to be! I know it's late but it would be freat if you would load onto our Trip Advisor page some of your images of what sounds like a fabulous new year...and some of your superb tiger fish! Indeed, if you've got a few spare moments we would welcome it if you loaded a post of your tiger on our Facebook page as we have almost 8,000 followers and you might well encourage others to book 2013 New Year now!!! Hayley Idensohn. marketing@bumihills.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bumi Hills Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

Address: Bumi Hills, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty lodging in Kariba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bumi Hills Safari Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi - just a one-hour dramatic and scenic direct flight away from Victoria Falls - is a famous safari lodge that in recent years has been constantly upgraded to international five-star standards and yet retains its utter beauty and charm that, at its heartbeat, has the most sublime and astonishing 180-degree vista that has no peer in all of southern Africa. Perched on top of a small range of hills Bumi offers guests this panoramic delight, overlooking the massive lake, islands and game-rich shoreline, from the premium rooms, the dining deck, the bar, the fire-pit , the Africology Spa and from the glorious signature pool. Bumi offers 24 rooms - 14 Lake View premium rooms set a little in front of 10 standard rooms, all en-suite and fully equipped with modern amenities. Our local Tongan staff are renowned for their friendliness and delightful service ethic. Gourmet food is created to the highest standard by our dedicated team, headed by our highly interactive executive chef. Our activities are spearheaded by an experienced Zimbabwe professional guide, licensed to walk in the wilds with guests.. Fishing, 4 x 4 game drives, boat safaris, walks and visits to a traditional Tonga village are the most popular activities. Our exclusive wildlife area is home to Lion, Leopard, Elephant, Buffalo, Zebra, Hippo, Crocodiles, Kudu, Waterbuck and much more! More than 400 species of birds have been recorded. Visit villages where the Tonga people have maintained their age old customs and get a truly unique cultural experience. Discover how Bumi Hills work with the communities in the area and how the lodge protects its wildlife area with a committed anti-poaching unit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bumi Hills Safari Hotel Kariba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bumi Hills Safari Lodge to your Saves list