We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, run by an amazing team.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge
Save
You added Bumi Hills Safari Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Bumi Hills, Kariba, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location, run by an amazing team.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We drove to Kariba from Harare and took the boat transfer.

Our two night, three day trip could not have been better. Service was attentive without being intrusive. The premises were clean and showed signs of recent refurbishment.

The food was surprisingly good, and all thoughts of weight control were abandoned within 2 hours of arrival. i say surprising because there are logistical challenges to obtaining fresh ingredients in this remote spot.

Our party comprised both Zimbabwean residents and visitors from the USA and ranged from pre-teens to a grandmother. We all felt the same way about Bumi: fantastic. The opening ceremony of the UK Olympics was screened live on satellite television (DSTV) for those who wanted to watch.

Our fishing, game viewing and village tours were conducted by knowledgeable, competent guides.

One has not lived until one has seen a Kariba sunset, and there is no better location to watch it from than the deck at Bumi hills Safari Lodge.

Do yourself a favour and do it soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for your positive review of Bumi Hills Safari Lodge. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are encouraging others to come and experience this special place as well! We hope that you will return again soon!
Our very best wishes from
Team Bumi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kamuela, Hawaii USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A few weeks ago my family and i visited your wonderful lodge with the "Hawaii Connection" We all had such a wonderful time both at the Lodge and on the lake. We truly loved our trip to Mola and to experience how the wonderful people cope with their difficults lives. Everyone was so friendly and we loved the children. Our grand children even got to kick the football with the kids at school, they loved it!
May I make one suggestion? Please install handrails and more lighting. The steps are difficult to maneuver especially at night.
Thank you also to Nick and his Assistant for taking such good care of my husband after his fall. He did have 5 fractured ribs and is healing now.
Our grand children also loved the little snake hunting dog!
We had a wonderful time and took great memories back with us. Aloha from Hawaii!

Room Tip: Rooms on "the cliff" have fabulous views and the elephants come right up to them at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hi Kathrin

We are so glad that you came all the way from Hawaai and fitted in a visit to Bumi Hills! It was such a pleasure hosting the two of you and the rest of the group. We are very grateful for your advice about the lighting, which is something we must look in to improving.

Sending you our very warmest wishes from
Team Bumi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We flew in to Bumi from Vic Falls with another couple. We all had a great time. The designers of the public areas, gardens and rooms have done a great job. Great to see mob of buffalo, elephants and impala at the watering hole below the platform in front of the dining room, and there was always game on or beside the road up to the Lodge.

Room Tip: The front rooms closest to the Lake are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thanks for your great review of Bumi Hills! We are so happy that your stay was a truly special one. Please come back and visit again soon!!
Our best wishes from the
Bumi Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is right on the shores of beautiful Lake Kariba. This place is amazing! 3 meals a day included, small but varied and absolutely delicious; caters well to vegetarian; soups glorious (hubby wants the recipes!!)... compliments to the chef. Bar prices reasonable. Book a room overlooking the waterhole & lake - well worth it. Great king bed, decor is gorgeous, clean room with the extra touches. Elephants at the watering hole, even early morning visits just under our balcony. Loved the drum call to dinner! Staff are super friendly, special thanks to Never & Member for making our stay so special - so considerate, warm & entertaining. Went on the early morning hike with Dean - I can now identify poo from 10 metres!! Fun & enlightening experience. Rogers is the fisherman to beat all fishermen - he knows all the spots, the tricks and those "wiggly worms" worked a treat. Thank you Rogers, our family loved our special time on your boat. And Sam - thank you for being so gracious & friendly. Sammy took us to the local village, the school and a wonderful scenic tour of the area. Two activities per day are included in the price, the rest are add-ons. Great concept & works well - you just have to pay national park costs which was very fair. The sunset cruise is a must-do, as the sunsets on Lake Kariba are just magical, moments that left us speechless, even with wine in hand!! Massage & pamper packages are available and overlook the park and lake. Yummmy! Overall, this was an incredible experience for us. We saw eles, hippos, crocs, abundant bird life (there is an observation deck for the serious bird watchers), impala, baboons and of course fishing. We learnt much, as all the staff are thrilled to share their knowledge.
We stayed 3 nights, though we were seriously looking for ways to move in permanently!!! Bumi Hills is a MUST DO on the bucket list.
PS: Nick, the Nyaminyami stick is now pride of honour in our lounge room! Big Thank you for finding us a very healthy (!) and perfectly beautiful piece of 'history' and art. Regards Janie & Steve McLean (Australia)

Room Tip: Lake view room are perfect. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonyaZim, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We are so grateful for the time you've taken to review your stay at Bumi Hills. Your words of thanks are very well received by the whole team! It is particularly special and encouraging for us to receive such warm compliments from guests that have come from afar to visit our beautiful country, Zimbabwe! We look forward to your return again one day soon!
Our very best wishes from the
whole BUMI team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimbabwe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our recent visit to Bumi Hills was a great reviver. The venue on the shores of Lake Kariba is stunning and the views are spectacular. Having a premium room with a great view of the lake and waterhole ensured sightings of loads of birds and other wildlife. It was tempting not to leave the room at all. We went on game drives, pampered ourselves with massages and generally relaxed. The food is wonderful and the staff very attentive but not intrusive. It is not the easiest venue to visit, boat rides across the lake can be choppy, but well worth the effort. Fly in if you can. We had a great four days there with a large party of friends and Bumi management and staff made it a complete success, loads of fun and yet very relaxing.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a Premium room, the view is just fabulous and it has a wonderful vibe, like you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonyaZim, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Erica
Many thanks indeed for your kind review of Bumi Hills! We really do appreciate your comments greatly and we are thrilled that your stay was a good one. We certainly hope you will return again soon!
Our best wishes from
team Bumi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Lake Kariba is an incredible place made all the more special by the unbelievable hospitality and dedication of all the staff at Bumi.
We filled the lodge with our family and friends from Zim and the UK to celebrate our wedding and it proved to be everything we hoped for. We wanted a relaxed yet romantic wedding on the floodplains of the lake and Bumi provided everything and more. We could not have enjoyed our day more thanks to the dedication of Nick, Denise, Justine and all the other staff. The fantastic wildlife entertained everybody on numerous drives with particular highlights being Dean's guided walks!
There are very few places where one can get married on the shore of a lake in wonderful weather as hippos wallow, elephant wander and baboons play. My uncles (from the UK) said to his daughters that they were not going to be able to top our wedding when they got married! This sums up the simply incredible time we all had. Many guests have phoned to say that they experienced the best holiday of their lives and it is very unlikely to be beaten!
Thanks to Bumi for helping us to have the most romantic yet relaxed wedding we could have hoped for. It feels like it was a dream and we both look forward to returning on our anniversary!
Thanks are not enough for the dedication of all at Bumi from Luke and Suzanne in Head office to the all the waiters and house keepers at the lodge. Nick and Denise provided everything we wanted and more.
Bumi is a must for everyone wanting a luxury holiday in southern Africa, let alone Zimbabwe.

Room Tip: Chose a premium room and you can watch elephant playing on the beach while having morning coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonyaZim, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Matty,
Thank you so much for your great review of Bumi on Trip Advisor. It was a real pleasure for the whole team to look after you, Carolynn and all your wedding guests. We are so thrilled that you had such a good and memorable wedding with us and we wish you both eternal happiness together!
We hope to see you up at Bumi again sometime soon!
Our very best wishes
The Bumi Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The newly renovated Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is a great place to base yourself to experience both lake and land based activities at Kariba. The hotel has been recently renovated. The rooms are very contemporary and have spectacular views of the lake. The common areas are also lovely with beautiful landscaping and a wet-edge pool. The staff are very friendly and really helped us out when our flight was cancelled by BA. The food was also great with a very varied menu.
We spent alot of time fishing and Madison, our guide knows all of the great fishing spots. He also helped us track down the resident pride of lions.
All in all, we had a great trip.

Room Tip: Premium rooms get the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonyaZim, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of Bumi Hills. We are very grateful for all your positive comments and reviews. We are thrilled that you had a great trip and we hope that you will come back and visit us again soon!
Warm regards from the
Bumi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bumi Hills Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

Address: Bumi Hills, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bumi Hills Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi - just a one-hour dramatic and scenic direct flight away from Victoria Falls - is a famous safari lodge that in recent years has been constantly upgraded to international five-star standards and yet retains its utter beauty and charm that, at its heartbeat, has the most sublime and astonishing 180-degree vista that has no peer in all of southern Africa. Perched on top of a small range of hills Bumi offers guests this panoramic delight, overlooking the massive lake, islands and game-rich shoreline, from the premium rooms, the dining deck, the bar, the fire-pit , the Africology Spa and from the glorious signature pool. Bumi offers 24 rooms - 14 Lake View premium rooms set a little in front of 10 standard rooms, all en-suite and fully equipped with modern amenities. Our local Tongan staff are renowned for their friendliness and delightful service ethic. Gourmet food is created to the highest standard by our dedicated team, headed by our highly interactive executive chef. Our activities are spearheaded by an experienced Zimbabwe professional guide, licensed to walk in the wilds with guests.. Fishing, 4 x 4 game drives, boat safaris, walks and visits to a traditional Tonga village are the most popular activities. Our exclusive wildlife area is home to Lion, Leopard, Elephant, Buffalo, Zebra, Hippo, Crocodiles, Kudu, Waterbuck and much more! More than 400 species of birds have been recorded. Visit villages where the Tonga people have maintained their age old customs and get a truly unique cultural experience. Discover how Bumi Hills work with the communities in the area and how the lodge protects its wildlife area with a committed anti-poaching unit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bumi Hills Safari Hotel Kariba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.