We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hwange Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hwange Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Hwange Safari Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Dete Vlei, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A local review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Folks, please remember when you plan a trip to Zimbabwe what the country has gone through. What it is still going through. The lodges, hotels etc are bound to be very run down. Run down but not dirty. I love this country and am willing to turn a blind eye to the grubby bath tub that is so in need of being changed or the tile grout that is not so white and the food that may not be up there with the best. Most of the people here are wonderful the game is amazing and the staff try their best. Hwange Safari Lodge is in need of a do over but so in the whole country. I know the upgrade has started on Hwange Safari Lodge and keeping fingers crossed it keeps going. I hope all the beautiful places in this country get a chance to shine once again but it will take stability and time. LB

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    34
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We made a last minute booking for one night for US$150 incl breakfast. Check-in was very quick. There were some issues with the room.... the phone wasn’t working, the toilet didn’t flush very well but the game that we saw at the water hole made it all worth it. All the rooms face the bush which is great because you can see all sorts of things during the day and night. The room was reasonably sized and generally clean. The bathroom was quite worn, especially the bathtub but we were only here for one night so I wasn’t too fussed.

At night, we spent about 3 hours watching the water hole. We saw about 50 elephants and also baboons, monkeys, impalas. The elephants come really close to the fence, so much so I had to run away because they were staring at me intently! We saw elephants chasing zebras, elephants fighting... This is why I’ve given the hotel 4 stars because of the game we got to see.

We had dinner and breakfast here. Dinner was fine, reasonably priced and quite tasty. They were happy to accommodate us by serving dinner outside, even though it was very cold, so that we could watch the animals. There was a fire at night. Breakfast was great as well with a good variety of options. We booked the morning game drive through the hotel and that cost $35 pp. We saw some animals, not as much as I hoped for, but you can’t force these things. It’s just your luck on the day!

Room Tip: Try to get a room closest to the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

OK, the place wouldn't get 5 stars for luxury but this is Zim, look at what has been happening there! The rooms are ok, bathroom a little tired but if your in Hwange you are there for the game, which is where this place excels. The food is ok, nothing special but you wont starve. Game viewing is wonderful, the game drives are very reasonable and are great with a very knowledgeable guide, if you are there for a few days it is interesting to see where things move to. We saw cheetah tracks one day, saw the cat itself the next, magical. OK, the place has power cuts, just about everywhere in Zim does, even Harare and this is in the middle of nowhere. They have a gennie for lights though. If you are driving here, watch out for elephants on the road. I liked it here and can't wait to return, just remember, it's Zim, not SA!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed as a group after having stayed at Hwange safari lodge five years ago .l was shocked by how both the hotel and the service has changed. The staff were very friendly, food was fresh and the staff was willing to help.Even though the rooms have seen their time and are in need of a refurb they were very clean. The hotel still pumps water ito the water hole and we had an oppotunity to see most of the animals from the pool side.The lounge and the bar are now tilled giving them frseh air unlike before when they had an old carpet.What was more facinating was seeing a herd of elephants while having breakfast in the lounge. The game drive was superb it is a must for all visitors. i will definately be back Mrs EDWARDS

Room Tip: Ask for tilled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The only saving grace is the water pan in front of the Hotel. The food is absolutely abominable. If you have no other choice of accommodation, take your own food! No power frquently affects this Hotel and often no water as a result. Tired rooms and poor service. Sorry, Management, travellers have choices and this place, considering the charges, is best avoided altogether.

Room Tip: Not at this Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hwange National Park hotels

Porto Azzurro, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Having taken my family for the first time to africa, we had booked at the Hwange Safari Lodge for 2 nights and to our disappointment the hotel was run down.There is a lack of staff education and competency some of them tried their best.The only best thing that is there is the view to the waterhole .The rooms are dirty , old furniture and the bathroom's all need to be re-done.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed with friends here for 2 nights recently, and whilst the location is fantastic, the water hole is great, the staff are generally very friendly, the rooms itself are not great. They were not clean, as in not hoovered everyday, as bugs were on the floor, and were still there 2 days later. The bathroom was also not cleaned very well either. The patio door outside did not lock, the air conditioning did not work, when other people's did, friends in a different room had no hot water the whole time, and the rooms are in a good need of a make over.

The food is not great either, most of it was cold, or not how it should have been, for example, scrambled eggs in the morning, are pre-done, and watery, we had soup that had not a bit of flavour in it at all, and the plates were not clean that the food was served up on.

having said that, this was not the most awful hotel I have ever stayed in, it has a lot going for it in respect of location, and has a pool for the kids if you have any. They were also very helpful when a member of our group lost of phone, and kept it for a few days for us. The staff is very helpful, and will do their best to make you feel welcome, and if you are looking for somewhere comfortable to stay in a great location, then this place would be ideal. If you are looking for somewhere luxurious, then not the place to go.

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the waterhole, so any room is good, but if you have an upstairs room, keep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hwange Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hwange Safari Lodge

Address: Dete Vlei, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hwange Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hwange Safari Lodge is an oasis of luxury in the heart of the African savannah. Surrounded by untouched wilderness our guests have access to all the modern amenities required to make their stay truly comfortable. The hotel has two restaurants one which is located outside with views of the watering hole. The swimming pool is a popular oasis for cooling down each day and the bar is the ideal place to relax after a safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hwange Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hwange Safari Hotel Harare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hwange Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.