We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sahara Douz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sahara Douz to your Saves list
Hotel Sahara Douz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone touristique, Douz 4260 , Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Douz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice little stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for a single night while visiting the Sahara as part of our tour. On arrival our rooms was ready and clean. The hotel seems to be well kept and the staff was nice. I recall having a little bit of sand... but well... Location suggests that'll happen so I am not sure if it was me or just how it is! And totally acceptable. Most likely it was from being out and about in the Sahara. The rooms are simple with plenty of room to stash your bags for the night. It gave me a very rustic feeling with earthy colors and decorations. I honestly felt like I could have found the like in an Indian Casino in the states.

The indoor natural pool was pleasantly warm, though it is natural. So don't expect it to be filtered! It will smell like sulfur and not look really clean. But if people are to be believed, it is good for you skin. So hop in and have a nice time :)

The food was nothing to go crazy about. Pretty normal buffet style. No complaints and no commendations. I would warn some that there are belly dancers. Be afraid.

Overall a nice place out in the middle of nowhere. Good for a stop as you travel by the Sahara!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    95
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
82
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here during the last weekend of october for one night as a stopover during our two day excursion. we were very tired when we arrived but the rooms were ready straight away and were very clean and tidy. Both pools were still avaliable to use and we only had to wait half an hour before dinner so we were happy. the food was lovely and the staff very polite. some of the staff seemed a little stressed but i think this was because they had a lot of people staying for just the one night so it was a tight turnaround for them. but we would definitely stay here again. drinks were cheap as well and seemed to be of good quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Although tis is considered a three star hotel, it´s a five star in my opinion... It´s a very beautiful and new hotel in the middle of the Sahara desert. There are many beautifully decorated areas from the lobby to the outside pool area, lovely indeed!
There is a big Buffet Restaurant inside, with a large variety of delicious food. The service was also good. The bedrooms are not very large, but not too small either, they are equiped with a private bathtube bathroom. I recommend this place, so different and so beautiful!!!!

Room Tip: Any room ... The hotel is in the middle of the desert, therefore it´s nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed intents 4* hotel as part of the Sahara beach experience and although there are lovely rooms they are no bigger than a 3* with no balcony on some! the only pool available to us was an indoor pool even though the outdoor was available all night, food was rather dire! Dirty, sharing tables, costly drinks, rude staff, queue hopping, little choice, funny tasting food. Would not choose this hotel as a main holiday destination

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here during our Desert safari - after a long day travelling from Sousse via various attractions (such as the colosseum in El Djem and the viewing point of the Sahara at Matmata) we were absolutely shattered by the time we arrived. The rooms were modern, clean and nice with a little private balcony. No bottled water unfortunately so we had to buy from the bar. The bathroom was large although the water was really salty (make sure you close your eyes and mouth). Dinner was a buffet with a variety of different things to try. We were quite cautious after having been too adventurous elsewhere so we didn't sample a lot of what was on offer. The berber harissa was delicious though- a particular favourite of mine.
Unfortunately we were so tired that we pretty much went straight to sleep after dinner so didn't get to explore the pool and grounds although they looked lovely on our way in! (which is why there are no photos)
We had to leave very early and the hotel provided a 4am wake up service and breakfast at 4.30. Breakfast was a buffet, a variety of eggs, croissants, breads, yoghurts etc if you have the stomach to eat so early! Felt a little harassed upon departure however that was purely because our group was leaving.
The staff were friendly and helpful. There is smoking permitted inside, in the bar which took some getting used to. Staff don't speak a lot of english although they do try

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It seemed like everyone at this hotel was on a 2-day Sahara trip. It was clean & traditionally decorated. The staff processed the coach loads arriving quickly.

After trekking across the Sahara on a camel, the pool was a welcome sight! Getting back to our room was tricky - it was like a mazeof tunnels & the signs were a tad confusing.

Food was ok, puddings were amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent !
Polite and helpful staff, lovely food very well set out buffet lots of choice . beautiful decor and excellent pools one being indoor that closed at 11pm the outdoor staying open all night .
Would happily stay again ..l

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sahara Douz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sahara Douz

Address: Zone touristique, Douz 4260 , Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Douz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Douz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sahara Douz 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sahara Douz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sahara Douz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.