We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Break in the Sahara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sahara Douz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sahara Douz to your Saves list
Hotel Sahara Douz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone touristique, Douz 4260 , Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Douz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southend On Sea
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“A Welcome Break in the Sahara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After a very tiring and long journey by coach and an hour on the camel, we were really looking forward to spend the night in this hotel in the village of Douz. (as part of our two day Sahara Explorer package.) The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and they sent us to our room in no time. This is a beautiful hotel with authentic Tunisian flavour, in the heart of the Sahara desert. It is decorated in rustic warm colours to keep up with the colours of the desert.
The rooms are a bit on the small size compared to other 4* hotels, but it is all right for two people for one night. The en suite bathroom was of fair size, but the glasses in the bathroom were very dirty as if they had not been washed for a long time. The lounge, the bar area and the lobby have relaxing atmosphere where one can rest, relax and unwind with a few drinks from the bar. All areas including the rooms are kept very clean. The indoor Thermal spa pool is quite large and the best place to soak the tired body and relax the mind. It is too cold to swim in the outdoor pool in winter months.
The dinner buffet had a lot of selection and the food was lovely and hot. The breakfast buffet was not as good though. The cakes did not have any taste. They had too much salt and no sugar. Bread and rolls were ok.

Room Tip: The rooms with the swimming pool view are better than other rooms without any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    93
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
39
82
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was probably my favourite hotel on my Tunisia tour. It has lots of character and large rooms.
A pleasant bar with good prices.

The buffet dinner was good quality though the range of choice was more limited than most.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour. The hotel has an amazing lovely large foyer with carved decorative pillars. Room not enormous but sufficient size for two. Our room had a super big bathroom with bath and in bath shower. Tiled floors. No fridge. TV (not tried, looks fairly ancient). Dinner buffet, not a vast choice but food well cooked and hot. Indoor swimming pool which tour guide said was really nice. Outdoor pool for warmer weather with big seating area. Staff in dining room very efficient. Room and bathroom pretty clean. Couple of small maintenance issues but not of significance. Public toilets enormous and well provisioned. Dual heating/air conditioning unit. No info book, no glasses in the room, just china tooth mugs which don't appeal as a drinking vessel. Breakfast buffet small but good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here overnight on The Sahara Explorer Two Day Trip. After a long day on a coach and an hour on a Camel we were tired and achey! We were impressed with the reception area and our room. After a nice hot shower we went down for a meal which was included in our trip then onto the bar for drinks which we had to pay for. The bar area is lovely and low lit so its the perfect place to unwind. If you want to get away from everything this hotel is perfect plus The Sahara desert is just a stones throw away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here on our 2 day excursion with Thomas Cook. We had been up since 5 the morning before so was incredibly tired by the time we reached the hotel. Once we got to the hotel a group of us were able to sit by the pool and had our drinks brought to us which was very nice aswel as a swim in the outdoor pool at midnight. It was a lovely relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff who were always on hand to help. The food was the only let down but then again alot of the local food that we attempted to eat was not the nicest. Would defiantly recommend it to anyone of any age.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been to Douz for a Short stay (2 nights) with two of my friends. We've booked a "triple room" (I am not sure wether "triple" means three equal beds or double + extra bed, it seems to be an abused word). I have had a previous bad souvenir the year before with another Hotel in the region (please see my reviews). We've done a booking via a travel agency, well reputed in Tunisia and I can say that this case was a big deception. It was a load period for the region since their was the International Sahara Festival. So we have booked earlier enough in advance. For a 4* Hotel, we've expected a minimum of comfort. All has started with the reception man which assigned us (I don't know wheter with good intent or not) a small room, with a shower (not bathroom) and with no balcony. In my mind, All the classified Hotels should have oubviously at minimum a balcony where a rest can be taken, a cigarette can be smoken, and some fresh air can breathed. To my big deception, the room was too small for three persons, similar to a cell, one of the beds was smaller, no balcony, only a shower. I came back to reception and asked for change, the man told me "this is all we have and I can't change, otherwise I can look for another Hotel". This behavious made me angry, I asked for the Hotel manager, he tried to find a solution for me, he tried to convince me that the quality of rooms are acceptable and did not like my comparison with other Hotels. The housing manager came then and tried to solve the problem of the third bed. We wre given another room with a bathroom (quite good). But still with no balcony. Thanks to her efforts, we could manage some space in the room, but not get the required confort.
The hot swimming pool was not fully covered, the water was yellow-coloured (due to sulfur content) but was not big issue. Food in the restaurant was quite varied, but still below my expectations from a four star Hotel. In general, I think that the classification should be reviewed. This Hotel is not worth four star. More customer care should be granted.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which does not have a balcony. Ask a room with balcony when you book. Should be specifie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Like most people I only stayed here one night as part of the THomas Cook Sahara Explorer trip. Therefore I can give only a limited review but here goes...
-- Room was clean and comfortable. We were in a room next to the stairwell though which I would avoid as the door to the stairs squeaks, a lot!!
- Good meal in the restaurant and tasty breakfast. Limited choice for veggies (seems to be a countrywide thing).
- Thermal pool nice addition.
-Perfect base for Sahara trip.

Room Tip: Not the one next to the restaurant stairwell!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sahara Douz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sahara Douz

Address: Zone touristique, Douz 4260 , Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Douz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Douz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sahara Douz 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sahara Douz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sahara Douz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.