We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saharien Paradise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Saharien Paradise to your Saves list
Le Saharien Paradise
Douz Gharbi, Douz 4260, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Douz
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great one night experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We´ve stayed here here only for a single night in the middle of two-day Sahara trip si I understand that my optimism about this place can be a little irrevelant, but for the purpose it´has served us, it was excellent. I´ve seen just a little from the main building but the bungalow hidden in the beautiful exotic and well maintained garden we´ve slept in was just amazing. Of course there was some shower problem (maybe no pressure of water? I forgot already..:)), bur as I´ve said, for one night it was a paradise. As an evening game, try to find and try all the little swimming pools in the garden ;)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed as drop ins and thoroughly loved this hotel. We did not want the pretentiousness of the 5 star hotels and did not get any. The staff was very helpful, the rooms clean and beds comfortable. We got a king size bed (not 2 twins put together) and a delicious dinner. For being off season, we did not expect much, but were pleasantly surprised by the service and attention to our needs. I will be bringing friends here next year and will not have any reservations doing so.
Paul DeCanuck

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

This is my favorite hotel, surrounded and constructed in a style you never will find again, the founder integrated the palmtrees in the hotel as natural element, as a reverence to the nature of this region. you will wake up with the twittering of marvellous birds and you will sleep with the soft rumour of the palmtrees , a hotel with an human and a natural touch at the same moment , a jewel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed here on a two day safari trip. The service was pretty grim and they seemed to charge whatever they wanted for drinks. Sometimes you got a glass as well!! We were up very early the following morning and not particularly hungry which was good because the food was covered in flies and so just went for the boiled eggs. Accommodation was circa 1940s. Bedrooms were large and clean but very dark. Wooden beds were creaky and so not a great nights sleep. Had some air conditioning in the room which was welcome. Pools were cracked and did not look overly clean. I did not see a filter system and they were kept topped up with hose. An experience to say the least!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service and food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

This hotel was the one used by our tour operator for our overnight stop on the 2-day Saharan Tour... but as we were staying at a very cheap hotel in Sousse, this was actually a step up in quality!

Setting really did look like paradise with palm trees and gorgeous little pool, which I didn't have time to try out. Rooms were in simple 1-storey "huts" but clean and quite charming and air conditioning worked.

Food was OK.. nothing special (apart from being served at 4am in time for our pre-dawn departure across salts flats!)

  • Liked — The palm trees and calm atmosphere
  • Disliked — rooms fairly basic
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Saharien Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saharien Paradise

Address: Douz Gharbi, Douz 4260, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Douz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Douz
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Le Saharien Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saharien Paradise Douz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saharien Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.