We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of guests seems to be a problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi

Save Saved
You added El Mouradi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Mouradi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P 155, Douz 4260, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Douz
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lack of guests seems to be a problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

El Mouradi is a very nice hotet, although a lack of guests made the place feel strange, The rooms were very big, and the beds were comfortable. The whole place could do with being a bit cleaner, but i do feel that this is also due to a lack of guests (a problem everywhere i went in Tunisia). Breakfast was OK. The location just 100m from the dunes of the Sahara desert is fantastic, if sand is your thing!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    59
    38
    15
    7
See reviews for
24
57
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North of Sydney
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

An average hotel, we only stayed here one night. Seems most of the organised tours use this for a night stopover so it can get busy as the hoards feed.
I was suprised with the quality of the evening buffet service.A good selection of food, well presented and tasty. Service was averag ethroughout the hotel.
We woke in the middle of the night because the A/C had been turned off and the room was stuffy. Opened the window and that move let the mossies in. The beds and bedding were OK but the A/C ( or lack of it) ruined the nights sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C is operating for the full night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Struggle to find anything good to say about this hotel, guests seemed to be an inconvenience to the staff, - serious retraining and better management urgently needed. Rooms and public areas very tired and not very clean. Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After travelling for many hours on an organised tour, we arrived at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel lobby is palatial and the suite we were given was equally beautiful. The pool is enormous and the surroundings peaceful and comfortable. We enjoyed drinks at the pool bar prior to dinner, where we were treated to a vast array of different types of food, all of good quality and beautiful presentation. An early start the next morning meant that I couldn't face breakfast, however my travelling companions enjoyed another delicious meal. I would recommend this hotel to travellers who are visiting south Tunisia, however I can't imagine there would be much to do here for more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

after traveling some 14 hours touring south tunisia on an organised trip,bus weary we entered the lobby of el mouradi douz, wow palacial yes but it ended right there.we were shown to our room tired and ready for a refreshing shower my partner looking forward to soaking in the bath.fat chance. there was no plug for the bath the shower head would not stay up on the rail,disappointed we asked for another room,a few moments later hotel staff showed us to another room i asked him to check the bath room you.ve guessed it.in fact this was worse no plug for the bath and the shower literally fell off the wall.pissed off by now i got onto the staff member who in turn got on to reception,in the meantime being a maintenance man i precede to have a go at fixing the shower which i did but the valve didnt work so only half the water came out of the shower head gone nine pm and having been travelling since 0500hrs i made do, i better not tell you what bev used for a plug. this hotel is used by company,s for its two day excursions and it seems that the comfort of its guests does not really matter as they are only stopping over one night.never again

Room Tip: take a multi tool with you and be prepared to do repairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Douz is referred to as the "gateway to the Sahara". And the El Mouradi at Douz lies at the edge of town, an "oasis" literally facing the desert. The lobby is impressive, done in the Arabic style architecture. The pool is large, with a serious bar service, and as with all other Mouradi hotels, lies at the center of things. This particular hotel, like its counterpart in Tozeur caters to the safari crowd. These people come in and go out for just one night or at the most two and they leave very early in the morning. This probably explains why the rooms don't have a fridge. But it's "graying at the temples" a bit and the style of furniture, fabrics, color, etc. looks a bit dated. Room numbering seems problematic with the three Mouradis I've stayed in - in one hotel, 5XX is in the first floor, in another hotel, 2XX is in the first floor, and in another 3XX and 9XX are on the same floors. Quite confusing. If you get the junior suite, you get a large antechamber, plus a separate toilet room from the shower-wash basin-bidet room. The TV is old fashioned CRT - does anyone still carry those in their hotel chains? - and tough luck if you don't speak French - 80% of the channels are in French, plus a smattering of Spanish and German channels. You have to pay for wifi, at exorbitant rates. Does anyone else do this in Tunisia? The food buffet - they provide breakfast and dinner buffet - is acceptable. Nothing fancy, good variety, and you won't starve. The headwaiters though look like bouncers - not sure if it's a deliberate hotel policy. Service is uneven. It's probably rated correctly - 4th of 11.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundbyberg, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed one night at El Mouradi in Douz when taking a 2 days tour to Sahara from Sousse.
The lobby area is really nice. The room was big and comfortable and the bathroom with separate toilet had a good standard.

The pool was big and open 24 hours. A welcome relief after sitting in a bus since 07 in the morning.

Buffet dinner and breakfast was good and far better than the hotel I stayed at in Sousse.

If ever in this remote place again, I will gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Mouradi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi

Also Known As:
El Mouradi Hotel
El Mouradi Douz
El Mouradi Hotel Douz
Address: B.P 155, Douz 4260, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Douz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Douz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your El Mouradi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.