We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure private luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Seychelles, North Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in North Island
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pure private luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A truly unique place where there are 11 villas but you feel like you have the island to yourself. Unfortunately while we were there, we barely had sunshine... but we took advantage of the spa and the peace and quite. This place has no menu... you order and eat & drink whatever you like. But that was a bit of a problem for us. For example they asked us around lunch time what we would like for dinner (so they can obtain the products off-island if necessary). We said we would like lobster, for example. Then they ask... how? with what? what type of sauce or dressing? This just got to be too much for us! We are no chefs and had a hard time coming up with good menus! I would rather have a good restaurant with innovative and tasty menu options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The most amazing location -a secluded island in tropical waters with just 11 villa's -no crowds, empty beaches all to yourself and amazing views and experiences to be had. We ate like absolute kings with fantastic seafood and anything else your heart could desire. The snorkelling and scuba-diving were sublime, with turtles, rays, eels, sharks and more! Snagged a couple of yellowfin tuna whilst fishing on our own personal charter. The villa's are spectacular and really spacious with crazy big showers and a bath to wallow in for hours, not to mention our pool, massive comfy bed and personal mini cinema. All this and then such friendly, helpful and efficient staff make it a stay never to be forgotten -thanks a mill to ALL of you who made the stay so special.

Room Tip: All villa's face the ocean -we stayed in no.10 which was further along the beach and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Forget about the price this is paradise, the staff are exceptional and very accommodating to all your needs......... simply beautiful.....

Room Tip: The villas are equally brilliant and with all the creature comforts, one can only say that the furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Since there are only 11 villas on the island all the staff get to know you much better. Everyone is smiling and willing to accommodate your every need. The food was good, though I feel like they should have a proper menu instead of a set menu for everyday. The wildlife there is amazing, where ever you go you get to meet many tortoises. Whilst there we got to release baby turtles into the wild. The lectures were a good learning experience and its amazing to learn how the island irradiated rats and how they take such great measures to keep them away. The spa is gorgeous overlooking beautiful views of the turquoise blue sea. The villa was beautiful and the beach was in pristine condition (no garbage) just gleaming white sand. Sometimes you could spot the eagle rays leaping out of the water near the shallows, but they are harmless. Overall we had an amazing experience at North Island and hopefully will be back soon!

Room Tip: Travelling in March and April choose a villa 1-6 since they have the biggest beach at the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataluña
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Though rates are high, once there you are in heaven. I think that every minute we spent there was worth the money we d paid. They put themselves out to make your stay perfect, you are spoilt beyond expectations, there s never a NO. Decoration is amazing, every tiny detail has been thought and taken care of in such a tasteful way. Staff are amazingly spontaneus and friendly. An ideal place to nurse your soul and spirit. They always make sure you you meet as few other guests as possible. If you are looking for peace, quiet and privacy, it s the place to go. The only tiny drawback is that the sea is a bit rough.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The place is exeptional and I agree with all the brilliant reviews.

However, the food in the restaurant is average. And, most importantly, my friend had a significant amount of money stolen from the villa. Management was helpful and waived some of the bills.

Just make sure you keep everything in a safe box provided.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We wanted to say a huge THANK YOU to the staff of North Island for one, if not the, most amazing and spectacular time of our lives. Everything was to perfection – the food, service, accommodation, I could continue! ...and of course the proposal from my fiancée did help!!!

The management team were in a lot of dialogue with my fiancée prior to our visit organising for the ring to be in safe hands, and for the evening all to be perfect, and it was! Honestly, everything was more than I could have ever dreamed off...

The accommodation itself is so breath-taking, when I walked in I simply cried as I was so overwhelmed at the beauty of the view and the bungalow itself. You have your own cinema room, three/four bathrooms, your own kitchen, pool, relaxation area around the pool etc. The beach in front of your bungalow is stunning; we did not see one other family/couple at all on the beach during our weeks stay.

Turtles and large tortoises walk the island freely. Make sure you get a tour from the guides that look after the animals, they are so knowledgeable and have named most of the 80 or so tortoises! We were luckily enough to free baby turtles into the ocean during our stay (and it was the morning of the proposal!).

One of the most luxurious parts about North Island is the “no menu” policy. The chef would sit with us most mornings to discuss what we might like for that day. One night we said we would like the type of food served at Nobu and Zuma… he delivered! the food was as if we were at those restaurants in London!! The food served on North is what you would expect from a Michelin star restaurant.
The staff are so so welcoming and friendly and make your stay the best experience you could ever dream of. So amazing, I cried when I arrived and left!!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Island

Also Known As:
North Island Hotel North Island
North Island Hotel
North Island Resort
Address: Seychelles, North Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > North Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in North Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — North Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a turquoise haven of unspoiled oceans filled with sea life, North Island is a spectacular tropical retreat that epitomises barefoot luxury. Miles from the bustle of daily life, you will be coaxed into relaxation and indulgence within this paradise. With only 11 individually handcrafted luxurious villas shaded by lush vegetation and the white sands of the beach but a step away, privacy is at its utmost. A lounge, dining room and library, scenically located health spa and gym, and rim-flow pool are all set on a gigantic outcrop with fabulous views over the clear, warm waters. A sunset bar and restaurant are tucked away on the western side of the island. This rare sanctuary where natural habitats are being rehabilitated will inspire and touch you. Did you know?Since our inception we have been rehabilitating the natural habitat of the island and reintroducing critically endangered Seychelles fauna and flora – known as 'the Noah's Ark Project'.Cradled between three gigantic outcrops, North Island comprises 210 hectares of lush tropical vegetation, coconut palms and takamaka trees surrounded by pristine beaches.Activities include scuba diving, snorkelling, fishing, boating, walking, and biking. On the ocean floor, hard and soft corals are circled by an endless array of colourful fish, such as spotted eagle rays, parrotfish, round ribbontail rays and white-tip reef sharks. Green and hawksbill turtles emerge to nest on our beaches in growing numbers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added North Island to your Saves list