We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of paradise........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Digue Island
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Taste of paradise........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our stay in La Digue was part of a special anniversary holiday (in the second 2 weeks of May), so our requirements and expectations were pretty high. We wanted peace and quiet, natural beauty, beaches, and bit of luxury as well.

We were pointed towards L’Orangeraie by the travel agents we used (Seyexclusive) after we’d talked through what we wanted with them.

We were absolutely blown away by pretty well everything about this hotel.

We stayed in a Villa de Charme room suite, which is done in a Balinese style, and is located more or less in the jungle - just beautiful (take a look at the pictures on the hotel website). They are situated on the side of a hill in jungle, and they have a large balcony, from which we could watch the sun setting over the sea through the tropical trees, as fruit bats soared across our field of view - breathtaking (there are some mosquitos though, so you need to use insect repellent - we didn’t expect mossies, so we didn’t bring any, but we were able to buy some at the local chemist).

The bars and restaurants are located in a small complex right on the sea side, about 100m from the rooms (they have electric buggies to take you to and from the room if you don’t fancy walking). We were able to get a table right next to the sea every night, and watch the fish swimming in the lights.

Food was really excellent. We always took the buffet option, which seemed to be the option of choice for most of the other guests. Breakfast was excellent – cook doing fresh omelettes etc - as well as huge range of continental and cooked stuff. Evening meals also really good - big choice of fish and meat, and barbecued stuff every night.

We found all the staff extremely friendly and helpful (for example, setting up an extra table outside next to the sea when all the preset tables were taken).

Even if you don’t stay at L’Orangerie, if you love peace and quiet and natural beauty, La Digue is absolutely stunning. Firstly, there’s virtually no traffic on this tiny island, and bicycles or walking are the normal ways of getting about. There’s a beach about 1 km from the hotel which has the most amazing coral reef – literally hundreds of the most incredibly coloured and shaped fish, and absolutely huge, and really easy to see snorkelling: you don’t have to do sub-aqua. Secondly, even if you’re not a beach bum, the beaches are really unusually beautiful, with the characteristic huge sculpted granite stones (look on google – and they’re even more incredible in reality). And lastly, the island is quite hilly, so the landscape is much more interesting than many very flat beach locations – again, look on google.

L’Orangeraie provide free bikes and snorkelling gear, so it’s really easy to get about and sample snorkelling at the different beaches.

There’s a very nice 25m pool area (infinity pool) if you like that kind of thing (we only used it for exercise) and sunbathing area.

Overall we were extremely satisfied. Literally, the only improvement we could suggest is that some more intense light is provided in the rooms, for when you need it (eg packing).

One other thing to mention is our travel agent, Seyexclusive. We must have been a real pain as customers, because we wanted to explore lots of options, and we ended up with a really complicated itinerary, spending most of our time on La Digue, but also then going to 2 different places on Mahe, so we had hire cars at different times, ferries, etc. But they were absolutely brilliant – unfailingly patient, got us the best deals (I checked myself), and most importantly, they got us fantastic places (including L’Orangeraie) that more than met our requirements. And all the arrangements worked perfectly. Thanks guys!!

Room Tip: Check out the Villas de charme - bit more expensive, but well worth it for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Allan H,

It was our greatest pleasure to welcome you in the frame of your anniversary and make your stay at Le Domaine a special and a memorable one.

Thank you for your kind tripadvisor post, which has already been shared with our team members. We are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Villas de Charme.
Wishing you a nice day and looking forward to welcome you at another time in our property,
Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    179
    77
    36
    16
See reviews for
100
593
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paola, Malta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

During our honeymoon in the Seychelles, we dined at Le Domaine de l'Orangerie. The location is superb - excellent sea views. The service was impeccable and the food tasted wonderful. It was a great way to end the day!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Charlotte M,

Thank you for your post and for sharing your memorable dinner experience at Le Domaine, on La Digue. It is great to hear that you enjoyed both food and service in our outlets, contributing to a perfect end of day.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future,

Best regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were sailing in Seychelles, had stop over in La Digue for 2 nights, spent a day in this beautiful resort just for a dose of pampering and luxury, before heading back to the sea, and what a great decision. We had booked the couple room for their tailored made signature massage. Such a unique experience... and forget about the massage ( that was excellent as well), the setting, the setting, the setting.......absolutely breath taking, very high on the cliff over looking the pictureous Indian ocean with green coastal area and the white sandy beaches, was the massage room with no wall in front, open to the heaven. You were receiving massage and all you would hear was the singing of the birds in the surrounding jungles and waves on the beach while the breeze from the ocean was blowing softly against your skin.
It really was an wholesome experience...and on the way out we received a gift package; massage oil and dried herbal mix bath, Price was reasonable,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Mamory,

We thank you for your contribution on tripadvisor and for sharing your good comments, highlighting the Eden Rock spa, a haven of peace and serenity at Le Domaine.
We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon and to make you discover a range of brand new treatments, which will soon be co-branded by “Germaine de Capuccini” beauty and wellness products.

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE Resident Manager, on behalf of
Stephane BURKHALTER General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were on honeymoon and the place were not prepared to give us the dream experience. A misunderstanding by the booking agent were handled very in a very uprofessionel Way. We stayed in a the second to Best villa Called villa charme de elegance which was very Nice but also expensive and with no ocean view as expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We thank you for your message and for your contribution, despite your stay at Le Domaine apparently did not fully meet your expectations.

We would be glad to be in touch with you again by phone or e-mail to collect more details in regards to the issue encountered, which seems to be an isolated case. Our contact details can be found on our official hotel webpage, please feel free to contact us.

On another hand, please let us precise that villas at Le Domaine are proposed with a view on tropical surroundings only. Some villas, a bit higher on the hill, benefit from part view on the ocean, however no supplement will be asked for villas high on hilltop. The hotel will refrain confirming specific villa numbers as well as seaviews in advance, as these depend on availability. Villas can be confirmed according to their category only.

We do hope that you could enjoy the rest of your stay in Seychelles, as well as the beauty and the authenticity of La Digue island in general.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you at another time,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE Resident Manager, on behalf of
Stephane BURKHALTER General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon in the hotel in June, we had a villa de charme. I had read a number of reviews in advance, and I was curious to see how my impressions would match what I had read.
It's hands down one of the most beautiful places I've stayed in. The spacious villa de charme with its outdoor shower/bath facilities was very beautiful, and I recommend anyone to get a villa further high up on the incline, because you're literally in the jungle. The golf cart service to take you to and from the (very beautiful and well-kept) main area is very efficient and we used it all the time.The food's great. The buffet was part of our package, and even though I am not at all a friend of buffets, this was one I really really liked: big variety, extremely tasty, very clean. The wine list was surprisingly good and not too expensive. We also had a romantic tete-a-tete dinner in the small pavillon situated next to the pool, which is an absolute must. Note to the hotel: why don't you advertise this more. The spa is phenomenal, the view alone is worth the (reasonable) bill. Finally, the staff. To both of us, the staff, notably Joy, made all the difference. Any special wishes we had were accomodated. We even had a small medical (dental) emergency, which was sorted out in no time.

Unlike a number of bigger, more developed islands, La Digue is little more than a village and a half with a local touch to it that you will simply not find on Mahé or even Praslin. It's a wild island with lots of untouched nature and phenomenal beaches to discover. So if you're going to La Digue, you're going local. And that's pretty much the case for the hotel as well. It is situated amidst this small community (everybody literally knows everybody), while providing an extremely high level of comfort and quality given the infrastructure around you. That comes with a few little concessions, such as Wifi quality not being brilliant (not that I really need much connectivity on my honeymoon...). But that's not the hotel's fault, that's just La Digue. A small note here to the hotel: it seems that Apple devices such as the Iphone and the Ipad have particular issues with the Wifi login - something to look into. I personally don't really care about my bicycle looking brand new or used. And there's a good reason for returning it by 18.30: it's dark at 19.00 in the Seychelles, so unless you want to do night cycling, I'm not sure why you would use a bike after 7pm anyway.

If you're looking for a Four Seasons-type experience, then don't even think about going to La Digue. If you're looking for a high quality hotel in a beautiful setting that's mostly unspoilt by mass tourism, I strongly recommend this hotel.

One advice to the hotel: I know revenue management is a tough business. Still, try to not go down the road of lower cost packages via big travel companies. Not that I saw much of "that type" of tourist, but I could somewhat sense it happening here and there.

Room Tip: Take at least a Villa de Charme, the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Cleger,

Thank you for your detailed and positive comment on Le Domaine.
Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest service standards.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Philippe CORNAILLE Resident Manager, on behalf of
Stephane BURKHALTER General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Villa de charme, in the forest was fantastic! We had exquisite views from our deck! Birdwatching was excellent! The outside bathroom was just the best idea ever! The buggy service was very prompt though a bit scary at times chasing down the hill! I also agree that the villas are a bit dark inside although the many light options exist, it remains very dark! The hotel dining areas are absolutely wonderful on the sea as well as the pool area, you cannot find better than this! Food was a bit disappointing though! Buffet breakfast, lacking in really good, fresh fruit! Restaurant as well, extremely expensive for sub standard food! The hotel gives bicycles but they are not maintained well, which is a pity since it is the only real way to get around and explore the island. The staff were really not friendly at all except around the pool and bar area! Reception were quite sour most of the time, making you feel as if they are doing you a favor! The location here is everything, and that is not a small thing! Management should step up with the service and friendliness though, comparing it to other hotels on the other islands! La Digue is such a stunning little island and there is a lot to explore on the bicycle with also beautiful beaches!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Coco,

We thank you for your contribution and good comments on Le Domaine, we appreciate the opportunity offered to us to welcome you in our hotel de charme.
Your overall good comments were passed on to our staff, taking into consideration your suggestions of improvement. We thank you again for that.
With this message, please let us also inform you that a batch of new bikes is now available at Le Domaine, to improve our actual fleet. Bikes remain the most pleasant way to discover the authenticity of La Digue island, the little village as well as the neighboring beaches.
In regards to your culinary experience, our chefs prepare food with the freshest ingredients only. We acknowledge some exotic fruits are not available all year round, as some do depend on the season. Trust you could also enjoy our other outlets, being the Alambic Bar, our Pool Bar as well as our a la carte restaurant – Le Combava.

We hope to see you soon again on La Digue,

Philippe CORNAILLE Resident Manager, on behalf of
Stephane BURKHALTER General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed there in May-June 2012 in both villa de charme and garden villa with small kid and liked it a lot. Favourite things in the hotel:
- very good location, best place to see sunset on the island
- breakfast is very good (although not many fruits which is strange)
- buggy is available for hotel territory transfers and can even drive you to/from the restaurant
- villa de charme are perfect for privacy, ideal for honeymooners and romantic couples. Garden villa are recommended for family with kids (equipped with kitchen which is very useful).

Minuses:
-bikes are given till 18.30 in the evening so you have to be back before the sunset. not all bikes are in good condition and if you like biking a lot (as we were) would recommend men bikes even for women (men are much-much better)
- sevice can take long time, in case you need laundry would recomment you to go to the receiption and ask (I asked for laundry bag 3 times and got it after 3 days).
- check in can take long time when there are many tourists arriving at one time, be prepared to wait for 40-50 min (annoying if you are with kids as there are nothing to entartain them)
- villa de charme are perfect for privacy but would not recommend for families with kids as there are huge holes in the balcony and near bathtub, child could simply fall down
- did not like bad curtains design in villa de charme as mosquitos are getting inside and you do not have enough fresh air to breathe
- pool is open for external visitors but we were always asked about our room number which was rather annoying
-restaurant is very good but pricy
- have seen cockroachs in garden villa, so do not leave any food in the villa

Room Tip: Would recommend villa de charme at the top of the mountain (numbers 225, 226). These give most priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Nadezhda,

Thank you for taking some time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate the opportunity to welcome you here and to receive your good comments on our property, on the villa de charme in particular.

We have also well taken note and consideration of the above personal remarks, especially in regards to the hotel check-in. Kindly note that our normal check in time is 12h00, we will do our best efforts to get your villa ready as soon as possible. In the meantime that the villa gets ready, hotel guests can use our complimentary services in our lounge area with tea/coffee, free internet as well as a library and a shower room to refresh. Each client has access to a bicycle free of charge in order that they can access the closest beach or go for an island tour. Our seafront facility with bars, restaurant and swimming pool are also available.

With this message we also wish to inform you that our garden villas, ideal category for families, will see an interior refurbishment only. Note that as from November this year, this villa category will no longer feature a kitchenette.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcome you once again in the near future for a new resort experience here on La Digue,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie

Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.