We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and simple little hotel with terrific views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel L'Ocean to your Saves list
Hotel L'Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Patate, La Digue Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in La Digue Island
Bruxelles, Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Nice and simple little hotel with terrific views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This hotel is pretty small and is very simple. No frills, no luxury. Quite basic at times. Yet, the rooms are very nice (especially the 2 upstairs: ask for one of them!) and all have a sea view. Inside, they have very romantic decoration. The restaurant has also a terrifc view over the sea and it is nice to breath the seabreeze. The food is OK. The place is clean. Personnel is generally nice. We only found very rude and incomprehensibly aggressive the cook (which is also responsible for renting bycicles). rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    6
    8
    12
See reviews for
11
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We’re an Italian Family composed by 2 adults and one 10 years old girl. We spent in August 5 nights in Hotel L’Ocean and we reported a very good experience.
The hotel is just in front of the ocean on a Hill on a quite location. All rooms are in front of the sea and they are spacious and clean with a creole style furniture very nice.
Breakfast was very strong, with a very good choice of food, also restaurant was very good both for buffet menu and à la carte.
The only problem, but not really related to hotel itself was water, due to lack of raining in the last months.

Emanuela, Stefano, Isabella Samia

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in L’Ocean for three nights in April/May from where we explored the island by bike. The main reason for choosing the hotel were the reviews posted on tripadvisor which were generally very positive.
We had a slightly different experience. The staff appeared to be very cold and disinterested and this was noticed straight at our arrival. During our stay, we made an effort to be polite and engage in the conversations about the island and local food which help the staff become warmer and friendly, even greeting us with an occasional smile.
The room was nice, but totally OTT decorated. The shower room needs improvement, but was perfectly adequate. There was an abundance of toiletries.
The room had a balcony with a nice sea view, but the view was not as amazing as some of the reviews suggested as the roof of the dining room in front slightly obscured it.
We had DBB and on the first night decided to have a couple of drinks first and eat at about 8.30pm only to be told by the waitress and the chef, shouting from the kitchen, that we had to eat by 8.00pm. We thought this was unusual since the restaurant was meant to be open till 10.00pm. As soon as we finished our dinner, the staff locked up the kitchen and the bar, leaving the dishes on the tables and went home.
L’Ocean is a perfectly nice hotel but we will not be going back. Instead, we would highly recommend Domaine de L'Orangerie with excellent décor, facilities, very friendly staff and delicious food. But probably pricier.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

- staff- is realy very kind, helpful, gives you any kind of information you would need, but regarding the meals it just was not real information.They also welcome you
with welcome drink and smile and kind of information meeting, which was great.
- rooms- first we got a room number 6 with air condition out of order and very very poor bathroom, Went to the reception and got a room number 4 which was a bit better. Bathrooms are in general very poor. Rooms are very nicely decorated and at a first glance look like 5 star room, but closer look leads you to cheap renovation. Terraces of the rooms are devided only by a small fance so you could visit another room from your terrace. 2 rooms upstairs are just the same, less humid we would recon, but balcony is realy small.
- the view which everybody is describing as amazing- it is just a view to the ocean, nothing realy special about that view, nice feeling though.
- breakfast and dinner- we read and were told upon arrival that food is in a buffet form. At dinner we found out that it is a menu, only one actualy with dishes I do not eat at all. I asked for ordinary chicken curry instead and got lost of bones with curry. Explanation for the menu was - due to unsufficient number of clients, could not do it. O.k., we would understand and accept ed it if we were told at the beginning that dinner was not always buffet. But we booked it especialy because we were looking for buffet form in order to try several typical dishes at the same time. For the next evening we cancelled dinner, of course, and went for a super buffet dinner to the hotel next door-about 50m further -with nobel atmosphere, service, plenty of typical and international dishes and beside everything- locals had a show singing and dancing. Dinner was much cheaper than in our hotel, in buffet, with show and very cosy atsmophere.
- location- you can walk about 15 minutes a bit up from the village and you cannot walk in the dark. So you have to be back to the hotel before dark by bycicle or on foot. Except for neighboured Patatran Village- in our opinion much bette r hotel, there is absolutely nothing around, so stock yourself with water orwhatever you might need from the village.
- in general- hotel is much overpriced for what it is offering. If you do not mind location, better choice would be Patatran Village. If you want a perfect location with resort style and on the beach and even cheaper price, choose Island Village which we also went to check.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

The hotel is in the quiet northern end of the island, on top of a hill before the road bends. We stayed in room 1, the view from the balcony wasn't too bad as we still had the full view of the sunrise and a bit of sunset. I think this was the best room if you couldn't get the ones upstairs. The room was nicely decorated with shells, sand etc that gave you the beach feelings. The bathroom is clean, no tub though. The only thing that I would complain was the seal of the shower door should be fixed, as the water was leaking from the door and made the floor wet. There was no tv, but we didn't need one here.

We paid for the dinner plan and it really was a good idea as there weren't any restaurants nearby. The dinner was buffet style and the food was excellent! The dishes were different everyday and it was great to try out different things. The tables in the restaurant all had a glass covered box and you could see the shells, sand, and other decorations inside. Breakfast were the typical stuffs, not buffet style.

We rented the bicycles from the hotel and went to different beaches. There was a beach close by if you don't want to bike. A lot of the beaches were deserted, especially those in the northeast (turn right from the hotel). The island in general was quiet compare to Praslin and Mahe.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Perched on the hill at the northern tip of La Digue, the hotel location is great.
Jude was always helpful, with arranging transfers and a wonderful 1/2 day snorkel trip to Coco and Felicitie islands that was great value.
The rooms are not spacious, and every wall is covered in decorations made from shells, corals or palm barks. Its a bit OTT.
The bathroom is dated, with lots of wasted space. Although the hotel looks like its going through a refit one room at a time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We got the top floor rooms at L'Ocean which most travelers will agree are the best. The view from the rooms is picture perfect. L'Ocean makes you smile right from the word go when Jude gives you a low down on the Hotel and its facilities. There are possibly more luxurious options in La Digue but L'Ocean is warm and inviting and totally non pretentious. The service is a little laid back but they are very accommodating - from a pile of beach towels to take along with you on your way to the beach to a packed breakfast in case you're doing some excursions, L'Ocean goes out of its way to make you feel special. The food is terrific - I'd say opt for Full Board unless you were planning the day long snorkeling excursions (which you must!) - the breakfasts and the set dinners are great. They accommodate vegetarians very well, all it takes for a great meal is a friendly mention at breakfast. It's close enough to the Jetty to hang around there till dusk and find your way back with a flashlight. You can rent a cycle right outside the hotel.
We met a lot of frequent Seychelles visitors who were staying at more expensive hotels simple because L'Ocean didn't have rooms available. So book in advance, and enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Ocean

Address: Anse Patate, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel L'Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.