We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocotier du Rocher

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cocotier du Rocher to your Saves list
Cocotier du Rocher
La Digue Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just perfect!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have spent 5 days in Cocotier du Rocher in October 2012, and it has been a real pleasure!!! The bungalows are so lovely, clean & gorgeous! Private terrace is in front of a beautiful tropical garden. The breakfast and the dinners you can have on your private terrace are fantastic! Verena is a great cook! We really recommend having breakfast & dinner there, that's the best place to eat in La Digue. And the best place to stay as well :-) !!!! We definitely recommend this place and the lovely hosts Verena and Stephane!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice people that build the houses themselves (Vera's sons are architect and constructor), they are placed in a nice garden. We stayed with two couples in two differen villa's (labour and Tann) they were both great. Enough space, great bathroom and nice kitchen. Each two villa's are attached but they are all very private.
Stefan is a nice guy and wants to help you out with everything. Booked a good snorkling trip. He also has good bikes, you really need those here, everyone is on the bike! Basically you can't go wrong here, book and hope that they have room. I did see some other places but these looked much better.

Only downside I can think of is that you need to ride the bike a bit to go to the beach. But that has little to do with du rocher and counts for most places on Digue. We often went to d'argent, grand & petit anse, which are all in nice distance. D'argent is closest and one of the best 2,5km I think but some brilliant but you need to pass through the park gate and pay entrance each time. But it's all more than worth it with the great island feeling and beautiful beaches

La digue is really the best of the three islands and this was our lovely place to stay. La digue is where you really get the island feeling, and I would surely book this again,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We LOVED it here!
We stayed in Coco Sec which was a large spacious room with a little kitchenette. We were able to buy food supplies from around the corner and eat our breakfast on the terrace. The lodge is semi-detached so we shared the terrace with our neighbours, but it is screened off to seperate and any noise was barely noticeable.
The gardens are like a tiny bit of paradise and it was a real treat to be able to enjoy them so easily. Added to this, the owners are extremely friendly and made it a more enjoyable experience.
You are able to hire bikes from here to cycle round the island.
This place is just perfect as it is and hopefully one day we will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in La Digue for 9 nights, 7 of them at Cocotier du Rocher, 2 at another guest house on the island. We can definitely say that Cocotier du Rocher is by far the best guest house we stayed in and probably the best in the whole island.

The guest house is run by a mother and son (Verena and Stefan) heading a small team who all are extremely welcoming, and friendly and ensured that our stay was really enjoyable and we felt like at home. When I badly sunburnt myself and had to spend a few days recovering in the chalet, every day Verena and Stefan came personally to see how I was doing and lifted my spirits. They even arrange the words "get well soon" in flower petals on the bed which was a really touching gesture. While I was resting at the chalet, I didn't mind since it was so relaxing and peaceful enjoying looking at the garden views and creatures.

The rooms are very spacious - the chalets have huge verandah where you can enjoy watching the birds, wildlife and the views of the incredible garden. It's particular pleasant to wake up to the sounds of birds singing and watching the hummingbirds right outside the verandah. The 3 semi-detached chalets are spread out around the garden and the plants are carefully planted in order to create privacy around the each of the chalets so you don't see other guests. I think this is particularly unique about this guest house compared to all the others, you don't feel that you are in a guest house but more like your own verandah in your own garden.



The large garden is very well looked after with lots of unusual and beautiful plants, flowers, banana, papaya and mango trees. Some of the chalets also have their own private hammocks.

We would like to say a special thank you to Verena and Stefan and their team for all they did to ensure our stay was a pleasant and enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: Although Coco Sec chalet has smaller rooms then the others - it has the nicest garden view out of al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful room, bathroom and garden
Breakfast and dinner are served on your private terrace, excellent cooker
You can rent bicycles there, do not pick bicycles when arriving at the port, they are more expensive
Verena organizes excursions on demand for you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5 days at la digue this february.
Past the disappointment of not having any seaview, and the adjustment to the heat, we did enjoy our kafoul coco bungalow.
Verena and her son Stephane were great hosts!
We were not so lucky with our bicycle rental so best to go down to the jetty to chose your own!
All in all, we do recommend!
Prices vary between eur85-95 just for the bungalows.

Yep, Seychelles is quite an expensive place, especially considering it is still Africa!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We intended to stay 5 days - we finally made it 10 and never regretted a single day. The houses, furniture and equippment are carefully selected and like new, everything functions and is well kept.
Verena and her team made us feel very welcome. The breakfast with its unique choice of fruits is incredible and the creole dishes at dinner are just delightful. The setting is charming and quiet, the garden is a jewel. And all of it at a reasonable price which you can't get at a larger place (€ 113 per night including breakfast for two).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocotier du Rocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotier du Rocher

Address: La Digue Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cocotier du Rocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocotier du Rocher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.