We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Nature with Le Relax Beach House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relax Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Relax Beach House to your Saves list
Le Relax Beach House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Anse Reunion | Opp. Roman Catholic Church, La Digue Island P.O. Box 4060, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 38 La Digue Island B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Back to Nature with Le Relax Beach House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Me and my husband spent wonderful holidays on La Digue on april 2013. 5 nights that will stay in my memory.
Going to Seychelles and particularly La Digue was always my husband's idea. And this time we came not for the hotel comfort but for new experience of the new destination. Of course there are some nice "real" hotels on La Digue, for the ones ready to pay up to $400-500 per night.
But I found Le Relax Beach House in internet by chance and price was correct, and photos were attractive. We made reservation directly with Mr. Mayur who turned out to be the Beach House manager (that was nice to see him personally after pages of e-mails exchanged during reservation process).
Le Relax Beach House La Digue is the one of several Le Relax properties in Seychelles (in Mahe, on Praslin, and 2 more soon to open on La Digue).
Le Relax we stayed in is A Beach House, with only 4 rooms, common Tv hall with canape, little bar and inside restaurant with wonderful outside ocean view terrace, on which we ate all our breakfasts and dnners! There is little garden with sunbeds and shower and direct access to beach.
Rooms are located upstairs the house and they have all needful comforts - air conditioning, tv, bathroom with spacious shower, basin and toilet. There is shampoo ang gel shower supply, but recommend taking or buying your own reserve as well. There is hair dryer in the room, where I used it as could not find plug in bathroom. Shortly saying - rooms are ok to sleep, to take shower, to prepare for long day, but would not consider them as place to stay during the day.
Each room has a balcony. One room is facing the ocean, two others are facing the garden of opposite house and fourth - overlooking the road.
Rooms are beeing cleaned every morning and nicely decorated with flowers.
Breakfast is served on terrace and is NOT a buffet. You receive little menu with choice of tea/coffee, orange juice, fruit plate, corn flakes with milk, toasts, eggs or omelette, cheese and bacon.
Dinner is a set menu with choice of starters (2 variants) , main course (2 variants), desserts ( 2 variants). Every day we had fish or meet choice.
Le Relax Beach House is located 5 min from boat jetty and just 15 minutes by foot (this is very close) to famouse and beautiful beach Sourse D'Argent. Beach towels are not placed in your room, but always at your disposal on request. Bikes are needful to visit around (highly recommended beaches - Grand Anse, Petite Anse, Anse Coco) and bikes can be also rented at the house upon request ( we paid 100 rupees per day per person).
Well, what I wanted to say - Le Relax Beach house is sure not a luxury hotel. One may be annoyed by its location between two local houses, may be annoyed by noise of cocks singing like crazy every morning at 05:30-06:00. One maybe will not like room overlooking the garden of the local neigbour house, one would complain about the poor food choice or room cleaness or service provided. The ones, who are looking just for hotel comfort, food, drinks and standartized services - would probably never be the house guests.
But we found different quality - we were guests of private villa on beach side with beautiful decor. We had great Team of 3 people who were taking care of us, cooking for us fresh food, serving us, relplying our questions, organizing excursions, bike rentals. Smiling and making jokes.
We were so happy to wake up every morning, to eat our liitle breakfast on terrace, to drink fresh coffee and to see our Dream Team - Mayur (house manager, reservation manager, host, receptionist and just great guy), to see our favorite smiling little Judith, who was serving us breakfast and dinner and later on was cleaning our room with care ans personal flower touch:) . We liked our food and fresh fish, and salad, and deserts that were made by the house cooker ( sorry I just can not remember his name).
This house was the part of our nature life on wonderful and wild La Digue, Le Relax Beach house was representing it no better. How could we ever pay attention to liitle ants in bathroom, or small breakfast? We took all as part of La Digue that accepted us with local hospitality.
Thanks a lot for wonderful time - La Relax beach house - Mayur and Judith and kitchen shef:)
We loved it all!

Room Tip: Only one room has ocean view, try to get this one:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were there July 2012, it was our honeymoon trip and everything was great, the weather, the island, The Le Relax Hotel and staff. Mr.Mayur was more than helpful & professional.
View of our room was like dreams with view of Praslin Island and nice wooden room design .
I hope that i can travel again and sure i will stay again With Le Relax.
Simply was Great and we are highly recommend this great place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights from 17 until 22nd of April 2013 in Le Relax Beach House in La Digue. Initially, we requested prior arrival the room facing the indian ocean (room number 1) as far it is only 4 rooms in this hotel. Unfortunately, we could not get it and received the room number 3 instead, on the church side. The room is fully equiped with most recent furnitures, as TV, DVD player, telephone, air conditionning, great bathroom, air dryer and even everything to make your own tea/coffee, but bring it by yourself ! The ceiling is very high, but it can be noisy in case of night tropical heavy rain, it happened to us once, we woke up due to the noise... About noise, please be aware that on both side of the hotel, there are some cocks, making cocorico every morning and always early ! So, be ready for shorter nights as expected ;-).
We reached this incredible cute and awesome small beach house by taxi from La Digue jetty, where all transfer boats are arriving. Cost of the taxi was 150 Roupies (10 euros), which make it the most expensive taxi I ever took in my life, for less than 1 km ! The location of Le Relax is one of the best on the island ! It is on the west coast, meaning that you will see all sunsets and at less than 1 km by foot from Anse Source d'Argent, the most beautiful and romantic beach I've ever seen, which was actually the reason why we came in Seychelles, to celebrate my 44th birthday in Anse Source d'Argent, which we did successfully.
There are only 4 staff members working there, but so friendly, nice, funny and helpful. I would like to give my special thanks to M. Mayur, the indian hotel Manager and to Judith, our waitress and room cleaner from Madagascar. Both were really great partners during our stay and they made it even better than it could have ever been, thank you !
About food, we had breakfast and evening dinner. There is no buffet at all, you order on a small menu card for your breakfast (mainly coffee, cut fresh fruits and fruit juice, toast, omelet, bacon, cheese and cereals with milk) and in the evening, there is daily menu with soup, main dish and dessert that is changing on a daily basis. Be ready that there will not be too much food in the morning, but for us it was absolutely ok. You can easily book excursions via Mr. Mayur, we had for example a 9 meters boat for full day, making deep sea fishing, barbecue on Félicité island and Coco Island, one more awesome island and beach you must see once in your life.

So, to resume our experience in this incredibly nice and welcoming beach house ;

Positive points :
--------------------
1) Privacy is great, on my birthday, we were the only clients in the hotel ! Only 4 rooms !
2) Very close to Anse Source d'Argent (1 km)
3) Rooms are just perfect, nothing more you need.
4) Excursion and bike rentals possible via Mr Mayur.
5) Beautiful view on Praslin and sunset as located on the beach.
6) Located just next to a small supermarket and to La Digue Island Lodge Hotel.

Points to be aware of :
----------------------------
1) Cocks singing early in the morning !
2) Mini-bar inside the room, but empty !
3) Small ants can be found, specially in bathroom
4) No duvet to sleep, so don't put air conditionning to low or you will freeze...
5) Only 3 or 4 staff members, depending on who is OFF or not.
6) Limited food quantity on breakfast (for big eater !).

Well, that's it. I will soon add some photos HD on this review and don't hesitate to have a look to my www.youtube.com channel, subject being : otterboris, I will also soon add a video of Le Relax Beach House La Digue, for you to clearly understand what I'm talking about.

We will befinitively come back to La Digue and most probably to this hotel, as we had only positive impressions and experiences.

P.S. Note that it was built in 2011, and the owner is a Mauritius man working in real estate, so he really knows the business and made of this Beach House a great small hotel !

Room Tip: Ask for room number 1 if you want to have the ocean view, as it is the only room facing ocean and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ornskoldsvik, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Le Relax Beach House is a lovely little hotel, located 0,6 km from the ferry port. There are only 4 rooms - 1 overlooking the sea, 2 on the side and 1 facing the road. We had the side room against the port, so had a partly view of the beach and the nabour facility. The bathroom is really nice, but just one part of the shower was working, but it was OK. There is a TV with digital channels, hairdryer and beach towels. A tea/coffee machine is in the room, along with cups but no tea or coffee. Everything was nice and tidy.

The only things that disturbed our sleep was 1) the very hard bed and 2) the roosters on both sides of the hotel, that started to marh their territory really early every morning.

Breakfast and dinner is served on the terrace so you'll have a really nice view during your meals. The sunset, viewed from the hotel is fabolous!

We had half-board, so we ate our meals at the hotel, e g the very good breakfast and a four coarse dinner in the evening. Soup, salad, main coarse (fish or meat) and desert ( two different to choose with). Decent prices on wine and beer (atleast for a Swede)

The hotel is a short walk to the famous beach Source D’Argent. We hired bikes next door, with a llittle help from the hotel manager (100 SR/day), and cycled around the island every day. Our favourite beaches is Grand Anse and Petit Anse, because of the great waves and the lack of coral reefs near the beach. Recommended!

Room Tip: Choose, if possible, the room against the ocean, for it's view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This review is based in 2 parts – our experience in travelling to la Digue Island and then the actual hotel itself
We booked 5 nights here at the beginning of November. The features of the island which attracted us were the beaches and it seemed a small and quiet island, just right to chill out. We knew it would be a journey to get to and we were prepared for it. We had an overnight flight to Mahe island with Emirates arriving at 7am and our plan was an Air Seychelles short flight to Praslin island at 8.30 am and then one of the regular short ferries to La Digue. Reading reviews and the Air Seychelles website catching their planes seemed really straightforward and if your flight was missed it appeared really easy to catch another. “It is just like getting a train or a bus” one reviewer said. So when our Emirates flight was an hour and 10 mins uncharacteristically late into Mahe and we just missed checking in for our 8.30 flight by 4 mins we were not initially concerned and we paid our 20 euros admin fee and were put on standby. And we waited and waited. 9.30 flight full, 10.15 flight full, 10.30 flight full 11.15 flight full. By now the restaurant in the airport had closed so no where to get anything to eat and drink. We were also totally shattered so sitting in the small domestic terminal for what was starting to look like the whole day was not an ideal situation. . We asked for a flight that definitely had vacancies on so we were guaranteed seats and were told 5.45pm. This was not convenient as the last ferry to La Digue from Praslin is 5pm. We made the decision to take a taxi to the ferry port in Victoria and get the last ferry from Mahe to to La Digue at 4pm. A long wait but at least we knew we could get there. We arrived at La Digue at 6pm just as it was getting dark – very tired, hot, hungry. So please do not assume that these flights are really easy to just jump on. We made that mistake. (good news though, just heard from Air Seychelles that they are refunding our flight costs after we wrote to them when we got home – many thanks)

Le Relax Beach House is about a 10 mins walk from the ferry port. Walk down the main road and follow the road around, pass Barclays Bank and turn right at the junction. A short distance to the next junction and the hotel is in front of you on the left. It is small with only 4 rooms. But the rooms are large and very comfortable and the Manager arranged for some sandwiches for us when they heard of our journey. Too tired to really appreciate, we took in our surroundings the next day. There are only 4 rooms - 1 overlooking the sea, 2 on the side and 1 facing the road. You may want to ask for a view preference when booking. We had a side room so had a view of the beach and the road with the church in the distance. The bathroom is lovely with a fantastic shower. There is a TV with digital channels, hairdryer and bathrobes. Everything was new and clean. A tea/coffee machine is provided along with cups but no tea or coffee. You may need to bring your own or buy in the supermarket.. Breakfast is on the terrace so you can see the beach and the sea
We did have a slight problem in that we had booked for 5 nights and the hotel only had us staying for 4, with another hotel booked for the 5th night elsewhere on the island. Apparently Mason Travel, who is a local agency, had arranged this as the hotel did not have rooms for a 5 night stay, but did not let us know. I felt a bit sorry for the hotel manager as he assumed we knew and at first we kept arguing with him that he had mixed us up with someone else. After meeting with a Masons advisor, we had no choice really and whilst it did get sorted it was not what we planned. So we only ended up staying for 4 nights and not 5 – it was a shame we really liked Le Relax and la Digue.
The hotel is a short walk to the park Source D’Argent where there are some fantastic beaches and you can feed the giant tortoises. We hired bikes and cycled here and also around the island which did not take long. There are also some lovely restaurants in the town
In summary really liked La Digue, This is the place for a chill out and relax – so enjoy. Just make sure you are prepared for an interesting journey to get here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relax Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relax Beach House

Address: Anse Reunion | Opp. Roman Catholic Church, La Digue Island P.O. Box 4060, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relax Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Relax Beach House, opened in February 2010, has four comfortable double bedrooms aesthetically decorated with an integrated restaurant at ground level with sea front view.The hotel is located on the white sandy beach of Anse Reunion on the Western Coast of La Digue.Daily excursions, bicycle hire and transfer from Jetty to the hotel can all be arranged on request with all facilities you will need to make your stay on La Digue a memorable holiday experience. The hotel was built as follow up on quality and comfort from its sister hotels on Mahe (Le Relax Hotel & Restaurant) and Praslin (Le Relax Beach Resort)Le Relax Hotels over the years has been more than capable to stand on its own in providing comfortable quality accommodation for your stay on the Seychelles islands.Welcome to Le Relax, La Digue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Le Relax Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relax Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.