We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top pension in La Digue- no doubt about it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Hibiscus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Digue Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Hibiscus
Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in La Digue Island
international
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Top pension in La Digue- no doubt about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

La Digue is a wonderful, charming little island where you need to experience local life...staying at a Pension and getting around by bike rather than staying at a top end hotel is the way to do it. Jennita's guesthouse provides all you really need. A comfy bed , clean room, peaceful surroundings, a good breakfast and lots of helpful advice. We took a half-day snorkel trip with her brother Daniel's boat and it saw a sea turtle laying eggs and lovely colorful fish. When it was too hot to do much, we visited Source D'argent, a 10 min bike ride away, or had lunch at the Digue Island lodge where they let us swim in the pool. Jennita's pension is close to the supermarket and the ATM so it is well situated. If you have a problem with anything, she knows everyone and how to fix any kind of travel problem. We recommend this pension without reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
82
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flic En Flac
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

very nice place. good price compare to others, but still very expensive to the value... the location in la digue is not so important, becouse it is a small place and with bikes you can go fast to every where...
janneta is very nice woman and help a lot!
la digue is beutifull!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hibiscus for 2 nights and the other days at a different guest house. If we hadnt stayed at the other guest house to make a comparison then we probably would have liked it more. The good point of the guest house is that it is in a good location - especially close to the supermarket if you need supplies for self-catering, and it's a quick bike ride from the main town and restaurants. The rooms are very clean to a high standard and feels more like a hotel - tv, aircon etc. The breakfast was included in the room rate, and was satisfactory. Jennita and her staff were very helpful and friendly.
We felt what let this guest house down was the lack of space - the grounds are small and the rooms are packed into a small area at the expense of privacy - there are two guesthouses facing each other separated by a thin plant partition. Each guest house has 3 rooms, only separated by waist-height partition. The grounds weren't particularly picturesque, not having a garden - so if we had stayed for more days, I think we'd have found it claustrophobic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a fabulous place to stay.Jennita is a marvel and should be used by the Seychelles tourist baord to train all other owners of rental properties and B and B's how to treat guests and run a superb Business.The rooms are immaculate ,cleaned every day thoroughly and fresh flowers placed insude daily.All excursions,bikes taxis etc are available from Jennita and her BBQ is amazing.We had it two nights of the four we stayed and it was super.The attention to detail in everythiong ennits doers is amazing.My wife does not like fish and I had ov=ctopus elsewhere that was not very good so when Jennita heard this she put 2 chicken dishes on the BBQ menu and also mad a fantastic Octopus salad.Little touches like this just show how she cares for her clients.Definitely recopmmend this establishment to anyone and when I return in a coupl of years will not stay anywhere else.Outstanding...Thank you Jennita and all your staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very good accommodation in Praslin.
The owner (Jennita) could help you in any problem or question that you have. She could help you with excursions, bike rental, transfer to/from jetty and any other point.
Close to the guesthouse you can find the biggest supermarket of the Island.
Beach is 4 minutes walking from the guesthouse.
You could reach source d’argent is 5 minutes by bicycle.
The only problem in all the guesthouses of the Island are the cockerels, there are several of the on the Island and every day at 07am you can listen them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spend 7 nights in one of the self catering rooms and would easily spend another 7! Comfortable bed, ceiling fan and (good and quiet) air-conditioning. Clean bathroom with a good shower. Spacious fully equipped kitchen and nice veranda overlooking a small garden. The location is very good, a few minutes walk / bike from some small shops, takeaway, restaurants and beaches. Room is being cleaned every day by friendly and helpful staff. Beach towels available and friendly hostess Jennita is happy to help with anything you need: information, reservations, bike rental or trips to surrounding Islands (a must!). We would definitely visit Hibiscus Pension again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We chose the room and breakfast option. The room was nice and GREAT air conditioner. The kitchen had everything you could need if you wanted to cook. Breakfast every morning on the veranda was great (Coffee, fruit, Fresh Bread and Eggs)
Jennita was a fabulous host-she made it so special. I was celebrating a significant birthday and she had a cake made and her nieces and other guests sang me Happy Birthday. A day I will never forget!
Jennita also saved us; we were scheduled to leave on the first jetty from LaDigue to Pralin for a flight to Mahe and then on to Zanzibar. When the cab arrived they told her the Jetty company had canceled the morning ferry. She immediately called the jetty owner and was able to negotiate with him to have a family member ferry us over to Pralin to make our flight and the Jetty Company paid him.
THANK YOU JENNITA!!!!

Note: For anyone using the Jetty on a Sunday beware!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
Suites, Charmin...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie
#3 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Best Value, On...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#4 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Restauran...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Chateau St Cloud
Chateau St Cloud
#5 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
B&Bs, Independe...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Cocotier du Rocher
Cocotier du Rocher
#3 of 36 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hibiscus

Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in La Digue Island
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, relaxing boutique guesthouse with spotless rooms, complete kitchens, and an experienced and friendly owner. Pension Hibiscus provides the comforts of home while on La Digue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Hibiscus Hotel La Digue Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Hibiscus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pension Hibiscus to your Saves list