We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, relaxing atmosphere and great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Hibiscus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Pension Hibiscus to your Saves list
Pension Hibiscus
Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in La Digue Island
Delden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxing atmosphere and great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spend 7 nights in one of the self catering rooms and would easily spend another 7! Comfortable bed, ceiling fan and (good and quiet) air-conditioning. Clean bathroom with a good shower. Spacious fully equipped kitchen and nice veranda overlooking a small garden. The location is very good, a few minutes walk / bike from some small shops, takeaway, restaurants and beaches. Room is being cleaned every day by friendly and helpful staff. Beach towels available and friendly hostess Jennita is happy to help with anything you need: information, reservations, bike rental or trips to surrounding Islands (a must!). We would definitely visit Hibiscus Pension again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    35
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
92
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We chose the room and breakfast option. The room was nice and GREAT air conditioner. The kitchen had everything you could need if you wanted to cook. Breakfast every morning on the veranda was great (Coffee, fruit, Fresh Bread and Eggs)
Jennita was a fabulous host-she made it so special. I was celebrating a significant birthday and she had a cake made and her nieces and other guests sang me Happy Birthday. A day I will never forget!
Jennita also saved us; we were scheduled to leave on the first jetty from LaDigue to Pralin for a flight to Mahe and then on to Zanzibar. When the cab arrived they told her the Jetty company had canceled the morning ferry. She immediately called the jetty owner and was able to negotiate with him to have a family member ferry us over to Pralin to make our flight and the Jetty Company paid him.
THANK YOU JENNITA!!!!

Note: For anyone using the Jetty on a Sunday beware!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Pension Hibiscus is a well located and clean selfcatering guesthouse on Island La Digue. The bed- (with AC and fan) and bathroom was good and very clean. In the room there's a big fridge and a water boiler. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was very friendly. Jennita was a really nice host. We urgently needed an accommodation for our last night on the island and she was very flexible.

Unfortunately, there was not much privacy on the small terrace because the rooms were right next to each other. Even then, the value for money is excellent!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

La Digue is the most beautiful island in Seychelles, if you want to sleep in a nice place managed by Jeannita, aways very kind and problem solving oriented, this is the place to go. rooms also have kitchen and you can have breakfast in the patio. Hope to be back soon.

Ciao Jeannita

Michele

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Waking to the sound of singing and laughter from the staff is the perfect start to each day. This is such a friendly place and Jennita is kind, gentle and very helpful.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. A lovely and varied breakfast is served on the private terrace each morning from 8am.
Hibiscus is ideally situated, just a short walk from everything you could need, supermarket and bank within 100m, beach a further 50m and town centre 500m.
Life is easier with a bicycle on La Digue so just ask Jennita and she will have them delivered. Cost around 100 rupees a day.
This was without doubt the most friendly and welcoming of the 4 hotels we stayed in Seychelles and will definitely stay there again on our next visit in 2012.

Thankyou Jennita!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

What you long for at all the other places you finally get here in abundance: big, bright island smiles. Jennita is a star! Her little (but expanding) place is a good value for money. The rooms are functional and comfortable and spotless; what more do you need when you're spending most of your waking hours tooling around from beach to beach? Hibiscus has everything you need for self-catering (our room had the best-equipped kitchen we came across in our three weeks around the Seychelles), but if you catch word there's any kind of barbecue going on, pack up your beach towels and get back as soon as you can. It was a feast! Take advantage of the breakfast option at the very least. Les mwan goute!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This pension is a great deal and a very clean and lovely place to stay on La Digue. Since tourism infrastructure is not very well developed on this paradise island (and that is a good thing), I decided to spend three nights there on the honeymoon as an opposite to luxury hotel resorts. And it was definitely the right decision.

Pension Hibiscus is conveniently located, about 150 m from the waterfront an nearby a supermarket and an ATM. The owner, Jeanita, is super friendly and helpful and supported us to organize rental cars (a must on La Digue) as well as a very nice snorkeling trip to the neighboring islands Ile Coco and Ile Felicité.

The kitchen (even though we only used the fridge) was very well equipped and clean. The room was nicely arranged every day. And since we were in the tropics, hygiene is usually the biggest issue – but not here. Compared to a few five star resorts that we stayed during our trip, this place was always clean. If you plan on going to La Digue, I can only recommend to stay at Pension Hibiscus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hibiscus

Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, relaxing boutique guesthouse with spotless rooms, complete kitchens, and an experienced and friendly owner. Pension Hibiscus provides the comforts of home while on La Digue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hibiscus Hotel La Digue Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Hibiscus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.